Abel to Yzerman

Abel to Yzerman

Your Training Camp Roster

12/30/2020 at 3:12pm EST

via Ansar Khan of Mlive,

The team released its training camp roster today:

Forwards (23): Riley Barber, Tyler Bertuzzi, Mathias Brome, Kyle Criscuolo, Adam Erne, Turner Elson, Robby Fabbri, Valtteri Filppula, Sam Gagner, Luke Glendening, Darren Helm, Taro Hirose, Dylan Larkin, Anthony Mantha, Vladislav Namestnikov, Frans Nielsen, Chase Pearson, Michael Rasmussen, Bobby Ryan, Givani Smith, Evgeny Svechnikov, Dominic Turgeon, Filip Zadina.

Defensemen (12): Alex Biega, Dennis Cholowski, Danny DeKeyser, Joe Hicketts, Filip Hronek, Brian Lashoff, Gustav Lindstrom, Jon Merrill, Dylan McIlrath, Patrik Nemeth, Marc Staal, Troy Stecher.

Goaltenders (5): Jonathan Bernier, Kevin Boyle, Kaden Fulcher, Thomas Griess, Pat Nagle.

added 4:54pm,

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – Fourteen members of last season’s Grand Rapids Griffins squad will be among 23 of the team’s alumni who will take to the ice this Friday, Jan. 1 for 11 days of Detroit Red Wings training camp at the BELFOR Training Center inside Little Caesars Arena.

The core of the 2019-20 Griffins will be together for the first time since March 11, when a 4-1 win over Iowa marked Grand Rapids’ last game before the American Hockey League's season was suspended. The Griffins had climbed up to third in the Central Division and were in position to extend their franchise record with an eighth consecutive berth in the Calder Cup Playoffs.

In all, 40 players will participate in daily on-ice practices, with Red & White scrimmages taking place on Tuesday, Jan. 5, Friday, Jan. 8 and Sunday, Jan. 10. Live streams of practices and scrimmages will be available on detroitredwings.com, where the camp’s roster and schedule can also be found.

The 14 members of the 2019-20 Griffins who are are slated to participate include forwards Turner Elson, Taro Hirose, Chase Pearson, Michael Rasmussen, Givani Smith, Evgeny Svechnikov, Dominic Turgeon and Filip Zadina; defensemen Dennis Cholowski, Joe Hicketts, Brian Lashoff, Gustav Lindstrom and Dylan McIlrath; and goaltender Pat Nagle.

Also present at camp will be nine others with previous Griffins playing experience – Tyler Bertuzzi, Kyle Criscuolo, Danny DeKeyser, Valtteri Filppula, Luke Glendening, Darren Helm, Filip Hronek, Dylan Larkin and Anthony Mantha – and a handful of players who could make their Grand Rapids debuts this season.

Griffins third-year head coach Ben Simon will assist the Red Wings’ coaching staff, headed by former Grand Rapids bench boss Jeff Blashill, during the camp.

This afternoon, the AHL Board of Governors approved the structural framework for an AHL season that will begin on Feb. 5. Details are being worked out and will be made public when available.

Create an Account

In order to leave a comment, please create an account.

About Abel to Yzerman

Welcome to Abel to Yzerman, a Red Wing blog since 1977. No other site on the internet has better-researched, fact-laden and better prepared discussions than A2Y. Re-phrase: we do little research, find facts and stats highly overrated and claim little to no preparation. There are 19 readers of A2Y. No more, no less. All of them, except maybe one, are juvenile in nature. Reminding them of that in the comment section will only encourage them to prove that.

Most Recent Posts

Most Recent Comments

Comment by Cigar-Nurse in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Take Nothing For Granted - 8 seconds ago
Comment by Calquake in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Take Nothing For Granted - 1 minute ago
Comment by Calquake in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Take Nothing For Granted - 4 minutes ago
Comment by Royal Grand Exalted PooBah in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Take Nothing For Granted - 11 minutes ago
Comment by rwbill in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Take Nothing For Granted - 12 minutes ago