Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your Frank Selke Trophy Winner

Los Angeles Kings center Anze Kopitar has won the Frank J. Selke Trophy in recognition of “the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Kopitar, who finished second in Selke voting in 2014 and third in 2015, becomes the first Kings player in franchise history to capture the award.

Kopitar garnered 1,145 voting points, including 77 first-place votes, to edge second-place Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins (996 voting points), who had claimed the Selke Trophy in three of the past four seasons. Ryan Kesler of the Anaheim Ducks, the 2011 Selke winner, finished third with 424 points.

Kopitar led all NHL forwards in total ice time (1,690:12), an average of 20:52 per game, on the club that ranked third in the NHL in team defense, allowing an average of 2.34 goals a contest. He ranked fifth and seventh League-wide in total faceoffs and faceoff wins with 1,776 and 950, respectively, setting career highs in both categories. He placed second in the NHL in plus-minus (+34) and was the League’s third-ranked forward in the team puck possession metric SAT (shot attempts differential), as the Kings registered 332 more shot attempts than they allowed when Kopitar was on the ice while each team had five skaters per side.
2015-2016 Frank Selke Trophy Voting, Top 20 Finishers

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Anze Kopitar, LAK 1145 (77-36-20-7-2)
2. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 996 (46-52-27-11-4)
3. Ryan Kesler, ANA 424 (9-20-24-17-23)
4. Jonathan Toews, CHI 409 (5-16-28-29-20)
5. Joe Thornton, SJS 166 (3-3-12-17-4)
6. Aleksander Barkov, FLA 115 (2-5-4-10-10)
7. Sidney Crosby, PIT 73 (2-2-5-4-2)
8. Sean Couturier, PHI 62 (0-1-2-10-15)
9. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 55 (0-3-2-5-9)
10. Filip Forsberg, NSH 51 (2-3-1-1-2)
11. Joe Pavelski, SJS 46 (0-2-4-3-3)
12. Nicklas Backstrom, WSH 42 (0-2-4-2-2)
13. Jordan Staal, CAR 32 (0-1-3-2-4)
14. David Backes, STL 32 (0-0-3-4-5)
15. Alexander Steen, STL 27 (0-0-0-7-6)
16. Jean-Gabriel Pageau, OTT 25 (1-0-2-1-2)
17. Frans Nielsen, NYI 24 (2-0-0-1-1)
18. Mark Stone, OTT 22 (1-0-0-3-3)
19. Adam Henrique, NJD 13 (0-1-0-1-3)
20. Ryan Getzlaf, ANA 13 (0-0-1-2-2)
Frank Selke Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up
2016 Anze Kopitar, L.A. Patrice Bergeron, Bos.
2015 Patrice Bergeron, Bos. Jonathan Toews, Chi.
2014 Patrice Bergeron, Bos. Anze Kopitar, L.A.
2013 Jonathan Toews, Chi. Patrice Bergeron, Bos.
2012 Patrice Bergeron, Bos. David Backes, St.L
2011 Ryan Kesler, Van. Jonathan Toews, Chi.
2010 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Ryan Kesler, Van.
2009 Pavel Datsyuk, Det Mike Richards, Phi.
2008 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. John Madden, N.J.
2007 Rod Brind’Amour, Car. Samuel Pahlsson, Ana.
2006 Rod Brind’Amour, Car. Jere Lehtinen, Dal.
2004 Kris Draper, Det. John Madden, N.J.
2003 Jere Lehtinen, Dal. John Madden, N.J.
2002 Michael Peca, NYI Craig Conroy, Cgy.
2001 John Madden, N.J. Joe Sakic, Col.
2000 Steve Yzerman, Det. Michal Handzus St.L
1999 Jere Lehtinen, Dal. Magnus Arvedson, Ott.
1998 Jere Lehtinen, Dal. Michael Peca, Buf.
1997 Michael Peca, Buf. Peter Forsberg, Col.
1996 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Ron Francis, Pit.
1995 Ron Francis, Pit. Esa Tikkanen, St.L
1994 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Doug Gilmour, Tor.
1993 Doug Gilmour, Tor. Dave Poulin, Bos.
1992 Guy Carbonneau, Mtl. Sergei Fedorov, Det.
1991 Dirk Graham, Chi. Esa Tikkanen, Edm.
1990 Rick Meagher, St.L Guy Carbonneau, Mtl.



Filed in: NHL Teams, Los Angeles Kings, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: anze+kopitar


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com