Kukla's Korner Hockey

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your James Norris Memorial Trophy Winner

06/22/2016 at 8:07pm EDT

Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings has won the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the defenseman demonstrating “the greatest all-around ability in the position,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Doughty was named on 147 of 150 ballots and received 93 first-place votes for 1,254 voting points, enough to edge defending Norris Trophy winner Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators (1,020 points) and Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks (619). Doughty captured his first Norris Trophy in his third appearance as a finalist. He becomes the second player in franchise history to win the Norris, joining Kings VP/Assistant GM Rob Blake (1998).

Doughty appeared in all 82 games for the second consecutive season and was third in the League in average ice time (28:01), helping the Kings to a third consecutive top-five finish in team defense (third, 2.34 GA/GP). He registered his highest goals and points totals since 2009-10 (14-37--51), posted a career-best +24 rating and topped the NHL in several enhanced statistics categories, including the team puck possession metric SAT (shot attempts differential) – the Kings recorded 537 more shot attempts than they allowed with him on the ice at 5-on-5.

2015-2016 Norris Trophy Voting

Pts. 1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th
1. Drew Doughty, LAK 1254 (93-37-10-4-3)
2. Erik Karlsson, OTT 1020 (46-54-27-14-5)
3. Brent Burns, SJS 619 (3-26-54-43-8)
4. Kris Letang, PIT 587 (8-24-40-40-19)
5. Roman Josi, NSH 120 (0-1-6-17-32)
6. John Klingberg, DAL 63 (0-2-2-6-21)
7. Victor Hedman, TBL 62 (0-2-3-6-15)
8. Ryan Suter, MIN 53 (0-1-3-7-10)
9. Oliver Ekman-Larsson, ARI 30 (0-0-2-2-14)
10. Shea Weber, NSH 27 (0-1-1-4-3)
11. Duncan Keith, CHI 21 (0-1-1-1-6)
12. Dustin Byfuglien, WPG 8 (0-0-0-1-5)
13. Mark Giordano, CGY 7 (0-1-0-0-0)
14. P.K. Subban, MTL 6 (0-0-0-2-0)
15. Ryan McDonagh, NYR 5 (0-0-1-0-0)
16. Aaron Ekblad, FLA 4 (0-0-0-0-4)
17. Brian Campbell, FLA 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
Shayne Gostisbehere, PHI 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
Hampus Lindholm, ANA 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
20. Francois Beauchemin, COL 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Jake Muzzin, LAK 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Brent Seabrook, CHI 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Anton Stralman, TBL 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Marc-Edouard Vlasic, SJS 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Norris Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up
2016 Drew Doughty, L.A. Erik Karlsson, Ott.
2015 Erik Karlsson, Ott. Drew Doughty, L.A.
2014 Duncan Keith, Chi. Zdeno Chara, Bos.
2013 P.K. Subban, Mtl. Ryan Suter, Min.
2012 Erik Karlsson, Ott. Shea Weber, Nsh.
2011 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Shea Weber, Nsh.
2010 Duncan Keith, Chi. Mike Green, Wsh.
2009 Zdeno Chara, Bos. Mike Green, Wsh.
2008 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Dion Phaneuf, Cgy.
2007 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Scott Niedermayer, Ana.
2006 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Scott Niedermayer, Ana.
2004 S. Niedermayer, N.J. Zdeno Chara, Ott.
2003 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Al MacInnis, St.L
2002 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Chris Chelios, Det.
2001 Nicklas Lidstrom, Det. Ray Bourque, Col.
2000 Chris Pronger, St.L Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
1999 Al MacInnis, St.L Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
1998 Rob Blake, L.A Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
1997 Brian Leetch, NYR Vlad. Konstantinov, Det.
1996 Chris Chelios, Chi. Ray Bourque, Bos.
1995 Paul Coffey, Det. Chris Chelios, Chi.
1994 Ray Bourque, Bos. Scott Stevens, N.J.
1993 Chris Chelios, Chi. Ray Bourque, Bos.
1992 Brian Leetch, NYR Ray Bourque, Bos.
1991 Ray Bourque, Bos. Al MacInnis, Cgy.
1990 Ray Bourque, Bos. Al MacInnis, Cgy.

Create an Account

In order to leave a comment, please create an account.

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at [email protected]

Most Recent Posts

Most Recent Comments

Comment by Paul in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Videos- The Talk After The Morning Skate - 2 hours ago
Comment by evileye in Kukla's Korner Hockey from the entry Roope Hintz Signs An Eight-Year Extension With The Dallas Stars - 5 hours ago
Comment by MurrayChadwick in Abel to Yzerman from the entry David Perron Looking Forward To Playing With Tyler Bertuzzi - 7 hours ago
Comment by Paul in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Ned's Net Tonight - 8 hours ago