Kukla's Korner Hockey
by Paul on 05/18/14 at 03:43 PM ET
via tweets from Kerry Fraser,
The instant Toews continued into Quick (no effort to avoid)hoped a ref was waving goal off. Right call eventually made either ref conference
Or you be the judge as to how it was arrived at? Must have been through conference!
Remember folks; interference on the goalkeeper is not reviewable by video!
added 4:56pm, via the Situation Blog at NHL.com, explanation is below...
At 3:22 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/Chicago Blackhawks game, the referee consulted video review to see if Jonathan Toews' initial shot entered the Los Angeles net. It was determined Toews' initial shot did not enter the net. The referee's original call on the ice was "good goal" but a discussion between the on-ice officials resulted in a "no goal" decision because Toews made incidental contact with Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick before the puck crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the decision on the ice stands - no goal and no penalty.
Add a Comment
Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.
Most Recent Blog Posts
About Kukla's Korner Hockey
Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.
From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.
Email Paul anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org