Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Putin On Russia’s ‘Lost’ Goal

from RSport,

Russian President Vladimir Putin on Monday chimed in on the national debate surrounding his country's disallowed goal against the United States in the Sochi Olympic hockey tournament, saying it was a mistake by the referee.

With five minutes to go before the final buzzer Sunday at the Bolshoy Ice Dome and the score at 2-2, Russian defenseman Fedor Tyutin thumped a slapshot from near the boards that flew into the net.

However, the officials ruled it out because the goal had been moved off its moorings by around one centimeter in a previous attack....

"Even referees sometimes makes mistakes, here I wouldn't tar anybody with any brush, but I thought that we would win by a big margin," Putin said.

"You and I shouldn't forget that sport isn't only about skill but also about the athletes' courage, and even a good slice of luck."

read on

Filed in: Non-NHL Hockey, International Hockey, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: sochi+olympics, team+russia

Comments

WolfKeeper's avatar

Hey Putin, did you see the size of the goal pegs? For fifty billion rubles, maybe you could have bought some thicker than toothpicks…

Posted by WolfKeeper on 02/17/14 at 06:33 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

Quick’s skate dislodged the net well before the shot. The call was within the rule, but Russia still got jobbed.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 02/18/14 at 12:54 AM ET

Avatar

Russia still got jobbed.

Nope.

Posted by Garth on 02/18/14 at 01:18 PM ET

Avatar

Even referees sometimes makes mistakes

Certainly, but no mistake was made on this call.  It was 100% the correct call.

The only possible issue is that it could have been caught earlier and the play been blown dead before the puck went into the net.

Posted by Garth on 02/18/14 at 01:24 PM ET

SK77's avatar

Yeah, as wonky of an ending as that was, the only mistake there was play should have been stopped earlier when the net was first dislodged. Unfortunately no one (other than probably Quick) picked up on it.

If you watch the highlight video from the in-net camera, you can see Quick dislodges it but it was on a hockey play where he was going post to post to stop a potential shot.

If the net had pegs like traditional NHL nets do it never would have been knocked off and Russia would have been up 3-2 with 4 minutes to go and likely won.

http://www.nbcolympics.com/news/russian-players-claim-quick-dislodged-his-own-goal-disallowed-goal-late-third-period

Posted by SK77 on 02/18/14 at 01:52 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image