Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

NHL Notes Before Game 2 SCF

The below information was provided by the NHL PR department...

* Teams winning Game 2 of the Final have gone on to win the Stanley Cup in 55 of 73 years since the best-of-seven format began in 1939 (75.3%), including eight of the past 10 seasons.
* The all-time record of home clubs sweeping Games 1 and 2 of the Stanley Cup Final is 32-3 (.914), but two of those losses have come in the last four years: Detroit won the first two games at home in 2009 before eventually losing to Pittsburgh in seven games, while Vancouver won the first two games at home in 2011 before eventually falling to Boston in seven games. The only other time the home team won the first two games of the Final but did not ultimately win the Stanley Cup was in 1971, when Chicago won the opening set before losing to Montreal in seven games.

* There hasn’t been a split in the first two games of the Stanley Cup Final since 2004, when Calgary won the first game on the road and Tampa Bay came back to win Game 2. The Lightning eventually won that series in seven games.
* If Game 2 extends to overtime, it would mark the second consecutive year both Games 1 and 2 of the Stanley Cup Final have been decided in extra time. Prior to 2012, it had been 61 years since the first two games of the Final required overtime. In the epic 1951 Stanley Cup Final, all five games between the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens went to extra time. The Maple Leafs won four of the five games to capture the Stanley Cup.
* The Bruins have killed off 19 consecutive penalties dating to May 25 (Game 5 of the Eastern Conference Semifinals vs. NY Rangers). Overall, they rank fifth among playoff teams with an 87.3% penalty-kill rate (48-for-55), including an 88.0% mark on the road (22-for-25).
* Despite yielding power-play goals in each of their last two games, the Blackhawks still lead the League with a 93.4% penalty-kill rate (57-for-61), including a 90.9% mark at home (30-for-33). They have allowed two power-play goals in their last four times shorthanded; Chicago had given up two such goals in its first 57 shorthanded situations this postseason.
Starting goaltenders Corey Crawford (1,182:07; 528 SA) and Tuukka Rask (1,143:30; 590 SA) both have yielded 34 goals during the postseason. Crawford leads the League with a 1.73 goals-against average and ranks second with a .936 save percentage. Rask paces all netminders with a .942 save percentage and ranks second with a 1.78 goals-against average.
Boston forward Patrice Bergeron has 3-2—5 in his last four games . . . Chicago forward Bryan Bickell has 5-4—9 in his last nine games . . . Chicago forward Marian Hossa has 3-5—8 in his last nine games . . . Boston forward Milan Lucic has 2-4—6 in his last five games.
* The Blackhawks have won eight of their last nine games (3-0 in overtime during that span), including six straight at home. They have a League-high 10 victories at home this postseason and have outscored opponents, 37-20, at United Center, including a 20-11 margin during their six-game home winning streak.
* The Bruins have not suffered a regulation defeat since Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals versus the Maple Leafs. They are 9-2 since then and have outscored opponents, 36-20, in that span.
* The Blackhawks and Bruins both have posted a 2-1 record in Games 2s this postseason.
* The referees for tonight’s game are Wes McCauley (#4) and Dan O’Halloran (#13). The linesmen are Jay Sharrers (#57) and Pierre Racicot (#65).
The winners of the Calder Memorial Trophy, Hart Memorial Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Vezina Trophy will be announced tonight during a pre-game show on NBC Sports Network and CBC (7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT). Select award winners will then be made available for a conference call at 7:45 p.m. ET/6:45 p.m. CT and for in-person interviews during the first intermission of Game 2.
Yesterday, the NHL announced the winners of eight of its awards:
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Josh Harding (MIN)
Frank J. Selke Trophy: Jonathan Toews (CHI)
Jack Adams Award: Paul MacLean (OTT)
King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Patrice Bergeron (BOS)
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Martin St. Louis (TB)
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone: Daniel Alfredsson (OTT)
NHL Foundation Player Award: Henrik Zetterberg (DET)
NHL General Manager of the Year Award: Ray Shero (PIT)

Filed in: NHL Teams, Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks, | KK Hockey | Permalink


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com