Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Jack Adams Award Finalists

NEW YORK (May 17, 2013) -- Bruce Boudreau of the Anaheim Ducks, Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators and Joel Quenneville of the Chicago Blackhawks are the three finalists for the 2012-13 Jack Adams Award, presented to the head coach who has "contributed the most to his team's success," the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association submitted ballots for the Jack Adams Award at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final, with more detail on format to be released at a later date.

Following are the finalists for the Jack Adams Award, in alphabetical order:

Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks

Boudreau, in his first full season behind the Anaheim bench, led the club to its finest regular season in franchise history, capturing the Pacific Division title and No. 2 seed in the Western Conference with a club-record points percentage (.688, 30-12-6). The Ducks made dramatic gains over 2011-12 in several categories, climbing from 25th to third in the overall NHL standings; from 23rd to eighth in average goals-per-game (2.45 to 2.79); from 19th to 11th in average goals-against (2.73 to 2.40); and from 21st to fourth in power-play percentage (16.6% to 21.5%). Boudreau is vying for his second career Jack Adams Award, having captured the trophy in 2007-08 with Washington in his first appearance as a finalist.

Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

MacLean guided the Senators (25-17-6) to a berth in the Stanley Cup Playoffs despite the extended absence of several key players due to injury. Defenseman Erik Karlsson, the reigning Norris Trophy winner, was limited to 17 games; defenseman Jared Cowen, the ninth overall pick in the 2009 NHL Draft, was sidelined for all but seven games; top forwards Jason Spezza and Milan Michalek played in just five and 23 contests, respectively; and starting goaltender Craig Anderson appeared in just 24 games. MacLean led a youthful Senators lineup, which included a League-high 14 rookies making at least one appearance, to the top defensive record in the Eastern Conference (2.08 goals-against per game). He earned his second consecutive berth as a Jack Adams finalist, finishing third as a rookie NHL head coach in 2012.

Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks

Quenneville's Blackhawks posted a record start to the season by earning a point in each of their first 24 games (21-0-3), smashing the NHL's longest previous season-opening streak of 16 games set by the Anaheim Ducks in 2006-07. The club went on to capture the Presidents' Trophy as the League's top regular-season club with a 36-7-5 record for 77 points. The Blackhawks ranked first overall in team defense (2.02 goals-against per game), second in offense (3.10 goals per game) and third in penalty killing (87.2%); posted a 26-2-1 mark when scoring first; and were 26-1-2 when leading after two periods. Quenneville captured the Jack Adams Award in 1999-2000 with St. Louis in his previous appearance as a finalist.


The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in 1974 in honor of the late Jack Adams, longtime coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings.

Filed in: NHL Teams, | KK Hockey | Permalink


Chris in Hockey Hell's avatar


Posted by Chris in Hockey Hell from Ann Arbor, MI but LIVING in Columbia, TN on 05/17/13 at 09:26 AM ET

calquake's avatar

So Queenville is nominated because his team is a powerhouse loaded with talent but Babcock was not given a nod in the past because his teams’ were powerhouses loaded with talent.  Now I get it. rolleyes

Posted by calquake from a.k.a. Uniquake, workin' on my manifesto on 05/17/13 at 11:11 AM ET

SYF's avatar

So Queenville is nominated because his team is a powerhouse loaded with talent but Babcock was not given a nod in the past because his teams’ were powerhouses loaded with talent.  Now I get it.

Posted by calquake on 05/17/13 at 12:11 PM ET

This.  One hundred million times 10 to the infinite power this.  Been harping on this for the longest time.  Uncle Mike will not even get any kind of credit for trying to keep this team together with an unexpected youth movement, second in the league man-games losses to injury (second to PHI), and a change in his coaching staff (departure of Balls Hill, addition of Renney).


Posted by SYF from Twerkin' with Anastasia Ashley on 05/17/13 at 11:18 AM ET


No way Q-Stache should win for the exact reason Babcock never won when his stacked team did well.  If you look at what Boudreau did for the Ducks compared to last year it looks good, but it’s only a little better than where the Ducks were two years ago with all the same big names of Getzlaf, Perry, Ryan, Selanne, and Koivu.  Boudreau wins because the Ducks ridiculously underperformed last year?  Plus, in what world should Boudreau have two career Jack Adams to Babbles zero?

Finally, Quenville and Boudreau had very minimal injuries to deal with all year.  If MacLean doesn’t win for the injuries he had to deal with alone, it will be the biggest joke associated with the NHL since…..uh…..well….yeah, I don’t feel like investing the lifetime it would take to compare all the ridiculous things associated with the NHL.  Needless to say, it has to be MacLean.

Posted by Valek from Chicago on 05/17/13 at 12:09 PM ET

MOWingsfan19's avatar

Q is as worthy of this as $0.20 is for the Lady Byng.

Posted by MOWingsfan19 from I really like our team on 05/17/13 at 12:29 PM ET

bezukov's avatar

So Queenville is nominated because his team is a powerhouse loaded with talent but Babcock was not given a nod in the past because his teams’ were powerhouses loaded with talent.  Now I get it.

Posted by calquake on 05/17/13 at 12:11 PM ET

Took the words right out of my mouth.  Since 2009 the Wings have lost more man-games to injuries than any other team, and every year Babcock has kept them in it.  The Wings have overachieved under his leadership (especially this year) and he gets no recognition.  I call bullshit.

Posted by bezukov from the kids are alright. on 05/17/13 at 02:21 PM ET

John W.'s avatar

Agree on the Q thing.  But it doesn’t matter, this is MacLean’s award in a landslide.  They lost, for significant time, their top 2 forwards (Spezza, Michalek), top D-man (Karlsson) and #1 goalie (Anderson) and still got the 7 seed.  Amazing.

Posted by John W. from a bubble wrap cocoon on 05/17/13 at 02:39 PM ET

w2j2's avatar

Babcock is the best coach in the NHL by a mile.

He may not win the Adams’ trophy, as chosen by the broadcasters.

However, he has won every major championship in hockey, and will be chosen a 2nd time to coach the Canadian Olympic Team.

To be chosen not the first time, but the SECOND time, by the brightest minds in the hockey world to fill their most important role, speaks for itself.
cool cheese

Posted by w2j2 on 05/19/13 at 06:52 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


Recommended Sportsbook