Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your New HHOF Chairman Of The Board

TORONTO (March 25, 2015) – Jim Gregory, Vice-Chair of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that one of hockey’s most renowned team leaders, Lanny McDonald, will become the next Chair of the Board effective July 1, 2015.  This appointment to fill the vacancy left by the untimely passing of Pat Quinn on November 23, 2014, was confirmed at the Board of Directors meeting held this morning in Toronto with the effective date to occur following McDonald’s final meeting as a member of the Selection Committee in June.

 Drafted fourth overall in 1973, McDonald enjoyed sixteen prolific seasons with the Toronto Maple Leafs, Colorado Rockies and Calgary Flames, retiring as a champion on the heels of the Flames’ Stanley Cup victory in 1989.  He remained with the Flames in a management capacity for several years and he also became involved with Hockey Canada contributing to Team Canada’s 2001 World Championship entry and the 2002 gold medal-winning Olympic squad.  Together with family business ventures in craft brewing and real estate development, McDonald has proudly supported many charities, in particular, through his long-time association with Special Olympics beginning in his NHL rookie season.

“As a perennial supporter since his induction in 1992 and a member of the Selection Committee for the past nine years, Lanny is familiar with the affairs of the Hockey Hall of Fame just as the hockey world remembers his achievements during his outstanding playing career,” said Gregory.  “While Lanny is highly recognized as an exceptional hockey player, he is also a dedicated family man, community benefactor, philanthropist and successful businessman whose leadership qualities will be a valuable asset to the Hall and its continued growth and development.”

“I am thrilled and honoured for this opportunity to contribute at the Board level in support of the best sports hall of fame and museum in the world,” said McDonald.  “The Hockey Hall of Fame is a very special place to me, as it is to hockey fans of all ages, and having served on the Selection Committee under the stewardship of Jim Gregory, Bill Hay, Pat Quinn and John Davidson, I appreciate the tremendous effort that goes into this institution celebrated for honouring excellence in the game of hockey.”

In other matters, Mr. Gregory confirmed that:

·         Scotty Bowman, David Branch, Brian Burke, Marc de Foy, Mike Gartner and Anders Hedberg were re-appointed each to a further term on the Selection Committee for the 2015, 2016 and 2017 selection proceedings;

·         the annual elections meeting of the Selection Committee will be held in Toronto on June 28 & 29, 2015 (with the announcement of the 2015 inductees on June 29th);

·         the Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 9, 2015; and

·         the general voting Members ratified new By-law Nos. 25 and 26 which, among other amendments, provide for improved voting procedures applicable to all categories of Honoured Membership (visit HHOF.com for full transcripts).

Filed in: Hockey Related Stories, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: lanny+mcdonald


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


haberistanbul evden eve nakliyat affenspiele.net mimispiele.com solitaire oyna
turkce.yurtdisi-fx.com agario.surf agario paper.io