Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your Hart Memorial Trophy Winner

Right wing Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks has won the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Kane received 121 first-place votes and appeared on each of the 150 ballots cast for 1,395 points. Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, named on 145 ballots including 11 first-place tallies, finished second in voting with 800 points, followed by Dallas Stars left wing Jamie Benn (637).

Kane posted career highs in goals (46), assists (60) and points (106) to capture the Art Ross Trophy and power the Blackhawks to their eighth straight playoff appearance. The Buffalo, N.Y., native notched at least one point in 64 of his 82 contests (78.0%), highlighted by a 26-game streak Oct. 17 – Dec. 13 (16-24—40) – a franchise record, the longest by a U.S.-born player in NHL history and the longest by any player since 1992-93 (Mats Sundin: 30). Kane, who became the first U.S.-born player in League history to win the scoring title, is Chicago’s first Hart Trophy winner since 1967-68 (Stan Mikita).

2015-2016 Hart Trophy Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Patrick Kane, CHI 1395 (121-22-5-2-0)
2. Sidney Crosby, PIT 800 (11-64-31-24-15)
3. Jamie Benn, DAL 637 (8-34-40-34-17)
4. Braden Holtby, WSH 292 (5-13-19-13-17)
5. Joe Thornton, SJS 267 (0-8-19-31-23)
6. Alex Ovechkin, WSH 212 (2-6-18-13-21)
7. Jaromir Jagr, FLA 60 (1-1-5-4-6)
8. Anze Kopitar, LAK 53 (1-0-2-8-9)
9. Erik Karlsson, OTT 44 (0-1-4-2-11)
10. Ben Bishop, TBL 42 (1-1-1-4-8)
11. Drew Doughty, LAK 29 (0-0-2-5-4)
12. Vladimir Tarasenko, STL 13 (0-0-1-1-5)
13. John Tavares, NYI 10 (0-0-0-2-4)
14. Joe Pavelski, SJS 8 (0-0-0-2-2)
15. Roberto Luongo, FLA 8 (0-0-0-1-5)
16. Claude Giroux, PHI 6 (0-0-1-0-1)
17. Henrik Lundqvist, NYR 5 (0-0-1-0-0)
Cory Schneider, NJD 5 (0-0-1-0-0)
19. Evgeny Kuznetsov, WSH 4 (0-0-0-1-1)
20. Brent Burns, SJS 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
Ryan Getzlaf, ANA 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
Ryan Kesler, ANA 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
23. Kris Letang, PIT 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Hart Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up
2016 Patrick Kane, Chi. Sidney Crosby, Pit.
2015 Carey Price, Mtl. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.
2014 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Ryan Getzlaf, Ana.
2013 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Sidney Crosby, Pit.
2012 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Steven Stamkos, T.B.
2011 Corey Perry, Ana. Daniel Sedin, Van.
2010 Henrik Sedin, Van. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.
2009 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit.
2008 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit.
2007 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Roberto Luongo, Van.
2006 Joe Thornton, S.J. Jaromir Jagr, NYR
2004 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Jarome Iginla, Cgy.
2003 Peter Forsberg, Col. Markus Naslund, Van.
2002 Jose Theodore, Mtl. Jarome Iginla, Cgy.
2001 Joe Sakic, Col. Mario Lemieux, Pit.
2000 Chris Pronger, St.L Jaromir Jagr, Pit.
1999 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Alexei Yashin, Ott.
1998 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Jaromir Jagr, Pit.
1997 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Paul Kariya, Ana.
1996 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Mark Messier, NYR
1995 Eric Lindros, Phi. Jaromir Jagr, Pit.
1994 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Dominik Hasek, Buf.
1993 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Doug Gilmour, Tor.
1992 Mark Messier, NYR Patrick Roy, Mtl.
1991 Brett Hull, St.L Wayne Gretzky, L.A.
1990 Mark Messier, Edm. Ray Bourque, Bos.

Filed in: NHL Teams, Chicago Blackhawks, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: patrick+kane


d ca's avatar

Kaner no care about Hart Trophy. Kaner no care about ballots.

Kaner care about Las Vegas and showgirls and team paying him stipend for Vegas more than once a year starting in 2017. Kaner already mailing save the date cards to people in Wisc, Buffalo, and Birmingham (but not Ann Arbor b/c Kaner no make any friends there).

Posted by d ca on 06/22/16 at 11:54 PM ET

ilovehomers's avatar


Posted by d ca on 06/22/16 at 11:54 PM ET

Kane is actually staying in Chicago this summer to workout, per reports.

Posted by ilovehomers on 06/23/16 at 11:26 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


haberistanbul evden eve nakliyat affenspiele.net mimispiele.comgebze evden eve nakliyat solitaire oyna
turkce.yurtdisi-fx.com agario.surf agario paper.io