Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Shea Weber Named Captain Of The Montreal Canadiens

MONTREAL - The Montreal Canadiens announced on Monday that defenseman Shea Weber has been appointed the 30th captain in franchise history. The decision was made by the club's hockey management. Weber is preparing for his 14th NHL season in 2018-19, his third with the Canadiens. He was an alternate captain in his first two seasons with Montreal.

The native of Sicamous, British Columbia, is the 25th Canadian-born player to captain the Canadiens, and the first since Vincent Damphousse (1996 - 1999). Weber is also the first defenseman since Chris Chelios (co-captain with Guy Carbonneau in 1989-90) to assume the team's captaincy, the 11th in team history.

Since making his debut in the NHL in 2005-06 with the Nashville Predators, Weber has recorded 189 goals in 867 games. He enjoyed three 20-plus goal seasons, including a personal-high 23 goals in 2008-09 and 2013-14. He twice led all NHL defensemen in goals in 2011-12 and 2013-14. An alternate captain with the Predators in 2009-10, he was named captain of the team in 2010-11, and served until 2015-16. As far as individual honours are concerned, he was the 2016 recipient of the Mark Messier Leadership Award presented by the NHL to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team on and off the ice during the regular season. He has participated in six NHL All-Star Games and twice was named to the NHL's First and Second All-Star Teams. A product of the WHL's Kelowna Rockets, Weber helped his team take part in three consecutive Memorial Cup championships (2003 to 2005; alternate captain in 2005), winning the coveted trophy in 2004.

Weber, 33, also represented his country on the international stage, namely the 2010 and 2014 Olympic Winter Games (in Vancouver and Sochi respectively; alternate captain at the latter), earning gold on both occasions. He also wore Canada's colors at the World Championship in 2007 (gold medal) and 2009 (silver medal; alternate captain), at the World Junior Hockey Championship (2005, gold medal), as well as at the World Cup of Hockey in 2016 (gold medal; alternate captain).

29th Max Pacioretty 2015 - 2018   15th Doug Harvey 1960 - 1961
28th Brian Gionta 2010 - 2014   14th Maurice Richard 1956 - 1960
27th Saku Koivu 1999 - 2009   13th Émile Bouchard 1948 - 1956
26th Vince Damphousse 1996 - 1999   12th Bill Durnan 1948
25th Pierre Turgeon 1995 - 1996   11th Toe Blake 1940 - 1948
24th Mike Keane -1995   10th Walter Buswell 1939 - 1940
23rd Kirk Muller 1994 - 1995   9th Albert Siebert 1936 - 1939
22nd Guy Carbonneau 1989 - 1994   8th Sylvio Mantha 1933 - 1936; 1926 - 1932
21st Chris Chelios 1989 - 1990   7th George Hainsworth 1932 - 1933
20th Bob Gainey 1981 - 1989   6th Bill Coutu 1925 - 1926
19th Serge Savard 1979 - 1981   5th Sprague Cleghorn 1922 - 1925
18th Yvan Cournoyer 1975 - 1979   4th Newsy Lalonde 1916 - 1922; 1912 - 1913; 1910 - 1911
17th Henri Richard 1971 - 1975   3rd Howard McNamara 1915 - 1916
16th Jean Béliveau 1961 - 1971   2nd Jimmy Gardner 1913 - 1915
      1st Jack Laviolette 1909 - 1910; 1911 - 1912

Filed in: NHL Teams, Montreal Canadiens, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: shea+weber


Down River Dan's avatar

Prepare for the Francophone backlash….

Posted by Down River Dan on 10/01/18 at 11:44 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


haberistanbul evden eve nakliyat affenspiele.net mimispiele.comgebze evden eve nakliyat solitaire oyna
paper.io paper.io unblocked paperio sozyaz.com turkce.yurtdisi-fx.com agario.surf agario paper.io