Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Additions To Team USA Roster

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey announced today the addition of forwards Johnny Gaudreau (Salem, N.J./Calgary Flames/Boston College) and Derek Ryan (Spokane, Wash./Calgary Flames), as well as defenseman Noah Hanifin (Norwood, Mass./Calgary Flames/Boston College) to the roster of the U.S. Men's National Team that will compete in the 2019 International Ice Hockey Federation Men's World Championship, May 10-26, in Kosice and Bratislava, Slovakia.

Each of the three have contributed to medal-winning teams for the U.S. on the international stage previously, with Gaudreau and Ryan part of the bronze medal-winning 2018 U.S. Men's National Team; Hanifin helping the U.S. to the gold medal at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship and Gaudreau a member of the gold medal-winning 2013 U.S. National Junior Team.

The U.S. has medaled in three of the last six IIHF Men's World Championships (bronze in 2013, 2015, 2018), its best medal stretch since the 1950s.

Team USA's roster now includes 20 players, with three goaltenders, five defensemen and 12 forwards. The IIHF allows each federation to have up to 25 players (22 skaters, 3 goaltenders).



  • Averages: Height: 6-1, Weight: 195
  • 12 first-round NHL Draft picks
  • 44 total medals won in world championship play, including 17 golds
  • 6,946 NHL regular-season games played over parts of 111 NHL seasons
  • 13 players (12 full-time) have been part of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program, including Cory SchneiderThatcher DemkoQuinn HughesBrady SkjeiRyan SuterJack EichelPatrick KaneClayton Keller, Dylan LarkinJames van RiemsdykColin WhiteFrank VatranoNoah Hanifin
  • Ryan Suter has represented the U.S. on the international stage 11 previous times, the most of any player, while James van Riemsdyk has appeared in eight previous events and Patrick Kane seven
  • All but Luke Glendening have played on international stage for U.S. previously
  • 9 players return from last year's bronze medal-winning U.S. Men's National Team including Alex DeBrincatQuinn HughesPatrick KaneChris Kreider, Dylan LarkinAlec MartinezColin White, Johnny Gaudreau, and Derek Ryan. A total of 16 players have previously played in the IIHF Men's World Championship
  • The 17 players come from nine different states with Massachusetts (6), Michigan (4) and New Jersey (3) leading the way
  • A total of 17 players have competed in college hockey in the U.S., led by six players from Boston College, three from the University of Michigan and two from Boston University


Team USA Schedule
2019 IIHF Men's World Championship


Date Opponent Round Location Time (Local/ET)
May 7 Germany (ex.) Pre-Tournament Mannheim, Germany 7:00 p.m./1:00 p.m.
May 10 Slovakia Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 8:15 p.m./2:15 p.m.
May 12 France Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 12:15 p.m./6:15 a.m.
May 13 Finland Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 4:15 p.m./10:15 a.m.
May 15 Great Britain Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 4:15 p.m./10:15 a.m.
May 18 Denmark Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 12:15 p.m./6:15 a.m.
May 19 Germany Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 4:15 p.m./10:15 a.m.
May 21 Canada Preliminary Kosice, Slovakia 8:15 p.m./2:15 p.m.
May 23 TBD Quarterfinals TBD TBD
May 25 TBD Semifinals Bratislava, Slovakia 3:15 p.m./9:15 a.m.
7:15 p.m./1:15 p.m.
May 26 TBD Bronze-Medal Game Bratislava, Slovakia 3:45 p.m./9:45 a.m.
May 26 TBD Gold-Medal Game Bratislava, Slovakia 8:15 p.m./2:15 p.m.

NOTES: Patrick Kane will serve as captain of the 2019 U.S. Men's National Team. Kane also was the captain of the bronze medal-winning 2018 U.S. Men's National Team ... NHL Network is the exclusive U.S. television home of the IIHF Men's World Championship and all U.S. games will be available live ... The staff and players of the 2019 U.S. Men's National Team are selected by Chris Drury (New York Rangers), general manager of the 2019 U.S. Men's National Team, along with members of the U.S. Men's National Team Advisory Group including David Poile (Nashville Predators), Don Waddell (Carolina Hurricanes), Ray Shero (New Jersey Devils), Stan Bowman (Chicago Blackhawks), Dale Tallon (Florida Panthers),  Jeff Gorton (New York Rangers) and Paul Fenton (Minnesota Wild). John Vanbiesbrouck, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey, leads the U.S. Men's National Team Advisory Group ... For complete coverage of the U.S. Men’s National Team, visit teamusa.usahockey.com/2019mensworlds … The official IIHF home of the 2019 IIHF Men’s World Championship is 2019.IIHFWorlds.com … USA Hockey's international council, chaired by Gavin Regan (Potsdam, N.Y.), has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams.

Filed in: Non-NHL Hockey, International Hockey, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: team+usa


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com