gebze evden eve nakliyat
Kukla's Korner Hockey - Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Honor The Hockey Host

from John Shannon of Sportsnet,

For the past few decades, the Hockey Hall of Fame has recognized the work of great broadcasters through the Foster Hewitt Award. Many quality broadcasters have been recipients including Danny Gallivan, Rene Lecavalier, Bob Cole, Mike Emrick, John Davidson, Sam Rosen and this year’s winner, Joe Bowen. Many others are deserving of this recognition. However, under the award’s current criteria, Hodge and MacLean are not eligible to win the award. Through some rather illogical decision, the award can only go to broadcasters who have been in the broadcast booth. Play-by-play people or colour analysts. No hosts.

But something should change because the business has changed. The complexity of the hockey broadcasting business has changed, and people like Hodge and MacLean should be recognized for their contributions to the business. There are others, like Don Cherry and Howie Meeker, who under the current rules, cannot win the Hewitt Award. That really is a shame. And again, something has to change.


Filed in: NHL Media, Hockey Broadcasting, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: dave+hodge, ron+maclean


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at