Kukla's Korner Hockey

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your NHL Broadcast Team For NBC Sports

01/11/2021 at 10:25am EST

added 10:30am, Press release is below.

STAMFORD, Conn. – Jan. 11, 2021 – NBC Sports has announced its team of more than 20 game and studio commentators for its coverage of the 2020-21 NHL regular season, which begins Wednesday on NBCSN with a tripleheader headlined by the defending Stanley Cup Champion Tampa Bay Lightning against the Chicago Blackhawks. As a result of approximately 100 regular-season games in four months combined with COVID protocols, NBC Sports will use a deep roster of game and studio commentators in a variety of different combinations, with some occasionally calling games from remote locations.


NBC Sports will utilize nearly 15 play-by-play commentators and analysts throughout the 2020-21 season. Kenny Albert, Brendan Burke and John Forslund will headline the group of play-by-play commentators. Eddie Olczyk, Brian Boucher, Pierre McGuire and AJ Mleczko will lead NBC Sports’ game analyst team, all appearing on the season’s opening night Wednesday Night Hockey tripleheader. U.S. Olympic gold medalist Kendall Coyne Schofield, who has appeared numerous times on NBC Sports’ NHL coverage, will take on a recurring role as a game analyst this season.

In addition, many analysts, such as Olczyk, Anson Carter and Keith Jones, will contribute to both game and studio coverage during the year. In some instances, game commentary will originate from remote locations, including NBC Sports’ International Broadcast Center in Stamford, Conn.

Kenny Albert Eddie Olczyk
John Forslund Brian Boucher
Brendan Burke Pierre McGuire
Mike Tirico AJ Mleczko
Gord Miller Kendall Coyne Schofield
John Walton Keith Jones
Randy Hahn Anson Carter

*These are not paired commentary teams.


The 2020-21 NHL season begins on NBC Sports’ Wednesday Night Hockey tripleheader on Jan. 13 on NBCSN. Broadcast information is below:

DateCoverageCommentatorsTime (ET)
Wed., January 13NHL Live Kathryn Tappen, Keith Jones, Patrick Sharp, Bob McKenzie 5:15 p.m.
Pittsburgh at PhiladelphiaKenny Albert, Pierre McGuire5:30 p.m.
Chicago at Tampa BayJohn Forslund, Eddie Olczyk, Brian Boucher8 p.m.
St. Louis at ColoradoBrendan Burke, AJ Mleczko10:30 p.m.
NHL Overtime Kathryn Tappen, Keith Jones, Patrick Sharp 1 a.m.*

*Immediately following game coverage


Kathryn Tappen and Liam McHugh return as the hosts for NBC Sports’ NHL studio coverage alongside analysts Jones, Carter and three-time Stanley Cup champion Patrick Sharp. In addition, Stanley Cup-winning head coach Mike Babcock and 13-year NHL veterans Ryan Callahan and Dominic Moore will contribute to studio coverage during the season.

NHL insiders Bob McKenzie and Darren Dreger also reprise their roles for the 2020-21 season, appearing during studio coverage on Wednesday Night Hockey.

Kathryn Tappen Keith Jones Bob McKenzie
Liam McHugh Anson Carter Darren Dreger
Patrick Sharp
Mike Babcock
Ryan Callahan
Dominic Moore

Create an Account

In order to leave a comment, please create an account.

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at [email protected]

Most Recent Posts

Most Recent Comments

Comment by HippyDave in Kukla's Korner Hockey from the entry Bo Horvat Headed To The New York Islanders - 11 seconds ago