The Los Angeles Kings and San Jose Sharks are going to seven games in no small part due to Chris Lee's decision to allow Justin Williams to pitchfork Alex Stalock into the net, puck betwixt his toes:
Per CBS Sports' Chris Peters:
After Lee briefly spoke with the league's Situation Room in Toronto, he informed the crowd it was not a reviewable play and the goal counted. The Sharks bench was incensed, naturally.
The intent to blow rule is murky. Goals can be disallowed “when the referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle” (Rule 78.5, subsection xii). At that point, it was up to Lee to deem the play stopped. He didn't and therefore it's a goal.
Create an Account
In order to leave a comment, please create an account.