Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your General Manager Of The Year Award Finalists

NEW YORK (May 18, 2016) – Brian MacLellan of the Washington Capitals, Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars and Jim Rutherford of the Pittsburgh Penguins are the three finalists for the 2015-16 NHL General Manager of the Year Award, the National Hockey League announced today. Each is a finalist for the first time since the award was introduced in 2009-10.

Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 club general managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 22, during the 2016 NHL Awards – hosted by actor Will Arnett – at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

Following are the finalists for the NHL General Manager of the Year Award, in alphabetical order:

Brian MacLellan, Washington Capitals

MacLellan assembled a roster that was a runaway winner of the 2015-16 Presidents’ Trophy as the NHL’s top regular-season club (56-18-8, 120 points). The Capitals’ 56 victories set a franchise record and made them just the 10th team in League history to collect as many wins in one season – and the first to do so since the 2005-06 Detroit Red Wings (58). Their 120 points fell one shy of the team high set in 2009-10 (121). After signing free-agent defensemen Matt Niskanen and Brooks Orpik in 2014, MacLellan acquired a pair of key forwards last summer, signing Justin Williams and trading for T.J. Oshie. The Capitals ranked second in both team offense (3.02 goals/GP) and defense (2.33 GA/GP) in 2015-16.

Jim Nill, Dallas Stars

The Stars qualified for the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the second time in Nill’s three seasons at the helm after missing the postseason for five consecutive years prior to his arrival in April 2013. Strengthened by offseason acquisitions including forward Patrick Sharp, defenseman Johnny Oduya and goaltender Antti Niemi and guided behind the bench by early Nill hire Lindy Ruff, the Stars (50-23-9, 109 points) posted their best season in years. They won their first Western Conference title since 2002-03, first division crown since 2005-06, reached the 50-win milestone for just the fourth time in franchise history and first time since 2006-07, and won their first playoff series since 2007-08.

Jim Rutherford, Pittsburgh Penguins

Rutherford’s retooled roster and midseason coaching change spurred the Penguins (48-26-8, 104 points) to a sizzling regular-season finish and a playoff run that has carried them to the Eastern Conference Final. In his second season in charge, Rutherford used the trade and free-agent markets to add veteran forwards Nick BoninoMatt CullenEric Fehr and Phil Kessel over the summer plus forward Carl Hagelin and defenseman Trevor Daley during the campaign. The club surged when he hired Mike Sullivan, who went 33-16-5 after taking over as head coach on Dec. 12, highlighted by a 14-2-0 record in Pittsburgh’s final 16 games of the regular season.

2016 NHL Awards Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Pascal Dupuis, Pittsburgh Penguins
Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers
Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers

Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
Shayne Gostisbehere, Philadelphia Flyers
Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks

Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team)
Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Jack Adams Award (top head coach)
Gerard Gallant, Florida Panthers
Lindy Ruff, Dallas Stars
Barry Trotz, Washington Capitals

James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers
Loui Eriksson, Boston Bruins
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
John Tavares, New York Islanders
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)
Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames
Matt Martin, New York Islanders
P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens

NHL General Manager of the Year Award
Brian MacLellan, Washington Capitals
Jim Nill, Dallas Stars
Jim Rutherford, Pittsburgh Penguins

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)
Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars
Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning
Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

The winners of the NHL’s regular-season statistic-based awards also will be recognized in Las Vegas. Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane captured his first career Art Ross Trophy as the League’s scoring champion, Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin claimed his sixth career Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the League’s goal-scoring leader, and the Anaheim Ducks tandem ofFrederik Andersen and John Gibson earned the William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders who play at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals.

A full lineup of presenters and entertainment for the 2016 NHL Awards – as well as information on broadcasting, tickets, and hospitality and travel packages through PrimeSport – will be announced at a future date. In addition, fans can tweet about the event using the official hashtag #NHLAwards

Filed in: NHL Teams, | KK Hockey | Permalink


Hootinani's avatar

What, no Holland?  This is rigged.

Posted by Hootinani from the parade following Babs out of town on 05/18/16 at 08:05 PM ET

PuckStopsHere's avatar

Why was there an 11 day wait between these finalists announced and the last award finalists announcement?

Posted by PuckStopsHere on 05/18/16 at 10:05 PM ET

awould's avatar

10 seemed too fast but 12 was too many.

Posted by awould on 05/19/16 at 12:08 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com