Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

King Clancy Memorial Trophy Winner

Vancouver Canucks center Henrik Sedin is this year’s recipient of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and who has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to his community.”

Henrik Sedin leads the franchise in games played (1,166), assists (748) and points (970), but his indelible mark in the Canucks’ record book only tells a portion of his impact on the club.

Sedin generously donates his time and funds to children in his adopted province of British Columbia. He is the face of the Jeans Day provincial fundraiser; makes frequent hospital visits to brighten the lives of children dealing with serious illnesses; and opened Sedin Corner, a 14-person suite at Rogers Arena donated exclusively to charity groups for each home game. One of his most notable contributions was a joint $1.5-million donation, alongside his wife, brother and sister-in-law, given in 2010 to build a brand new children’s hospital.

In addition to the work Sedin does with the Canucks, he also has established a charitable foundation – along with his brother – to reach more people in the community. This season, their Sedin Family Foundation created Clubhouse 36, which provides a safe, structured out-of-school program for children ages 6-12 to learn, build confidence and have fun.

Having served as captain since 2010-11, Sedin was thrust into a new position this season as a response to the increased integration of youth as nine Canucks players made their NHL debuts. It was a role in which he prospered, acting as a role model for both younger and veteran teammates.
King Clancy Memorial Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Team
2016 Henrik Sedin Vancouver
2015 Henrik Zetterberg Detroit
2014 Andrew Ference Edmonton
2013 Patrice Bergeron Boston
2012 Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa
2011 Doug Weight NY Islanders
2010 Shane Doan Phoenix
2009 Ethan Moreau Edmonton
2008 Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay
2007 Saku Koivu Montreal
2006 Olaf Kolzig Washington
2004 Jarome Iginla Calgary
2003 Brendan Shanahan Detroit
2002 Ron Francis Carolina
2001 Shjon Podein Colorado
2000 Curtis Joseph Toronto
1999 Rob Ray Buffalo
1998 Kelly Chase St. Louis
1997 Trevor Linden Vancouver
1996 Kris King Winnipeg
1995 Joe Nieuwendyk Calgary
1994 Adam Graves NY Rangers
1993 Dave Poulin Boston
1992 Ray Bourque Boston
1991 Dave Taylor Los Angeles
1990 Kevin Lowe Edmonton



Filed in: NHL Teams, Vancouver Canucks, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: henrik+sedin


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com