Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Hockey Day In Canada Is This Saturday

February 11, 2021 – Ask Canadians about the strengths of our nation and you will get many different answers, but there are two that often stand out: diversity and hockey. This Saturday, Sportsnet celebrates them both with the 21st annual Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada – Canada’s biggest single-day hockey celebration.

Hosted live from Toronto, Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada features three must-see all-Canadian matchups throughout the day. The action starts with the Ottawa Senators taking on the Winnipeg Jets at 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT, followed by an Original Six showdown between the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT, and culminating with the Calgary Flames and Vancouver Canucks facing off at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT, all on SportsnetSN NOWNHL LIVE, and CBC.

 

The marathon broadcast begins at 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and SN NOW with Scotiabank’s Hockey 24: A film by Canada, a first-of-its-kind documentary highlighting the diversity of the sport and those that play and love the game. The day continues with powerful stories of athletes who have sought, and continue to fight, for inclusion through Canada’s favourite pastime. These special features include:

 

  • Students and supporters of the Regent Park School of Music perform Every Little Voice, written by Canadian Hawksley Workman, as Willie O'ReeAngela JamesMatt DumbaRick HansenHarrison Browne, and other prominent personalities offer perspective on the path to a brighter, more inclusive future for all.
  • David Amber features Trevor Daley, retired NHLer and current hockey operations advisor for the Pittsburgh Penguins, discussing his role in founding The Hockey Diversity Alliance, which aims to eradicate racism and intolerance in the sport.
  • Tara Slone profiles Jermaine Loewen, a Vegas Golden Knights prospect and the first Jamaican-born player chosen in the NHL Draft. Loewen recently co-authored Ari's Awful Day/Mainer's Move, an illustrated children's hockey book that deals with race, diversity and inclusion while underscoring the value of kindness.
  • Christine Simpson profiles Scotiabank’s partnership with the Professional Women’s Hockey Players Association (PWHPA) and explores exciting new programs launching later this year aimed at making hockey a safe and fun experience for young girls.
  • Cassie Campbell-PascallJennifer BotterillAnthony StewartRon MacLean, and David Amber participate in panel discussions that dig deeper into ongoing issues of inclusion and diversity in hockey.

 

Ron MacLean hosts the day-long celebration aimed at uniting Canadians from coast-to-coast-to-coast, along with the NHL on Sportsnet broadcast crew and special guest appearances from Scotiabank Teammates Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Auston Matthews, Lanny McDonaldP.K. Subban, and Darcy Tucker. Fans can visit sportsnet.ca/hockeyday and use the hashtag #HockeyDay on social media to join the conversation and celebrate the game we all love with other fans across the country.

 

Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada Broadcast Schedule

*All games available on NHL LIVE and SN NOW

 

Saturday, Feb. 13

  • 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT – Scotiabank’s Hockey 24: A film by Canada (Sportsnet)
    Filmed all in one day, Scotiabank’s Hockey 24: A film by Canada, is a first-of-its-kind documentary highlighting the diversity of the sport and those that play and love the game. On Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019, Scotiabank asked Canadians to join award-winning filmmakers in capturing their day in community hockey in Canada, both on and off the ice. This is that day.
  • 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada: Celebrating the Game (Sportsnet and CBC)
    Host: Ron MacLean; Studio Host: David Amber; Studio Analysts: Anthony Stewart, Jennifer Botteril
  • 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT -  Ottawa Senators @ Winnipeg Jets (Sportsnet and CBC)
    Play-by-Play: Harnarayan Singh; Analyst: Jason York; Host: Scott Oake
  • 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada: Celebrating the Game (Sportsnet)
    Host: Ron MacLean
  • 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT – Hockey Central Saturday (Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360, Citytv, and CBC)
    Host: Ron MacLean; Studio Hosts: David Amber, Tara Slone; Studio Analysts: Elliotte Friedman, Kelly Hrudey, Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Kevin Bieksa
  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Toronto Maple Leafs @ Montreal Canadiens (Sportsnet, Sportsnet360, Citytv, and CBC)
    Play-by-Play: Chris Cuthbert; Analyst: Craig Simpson; Host: Kyle Bukauskus
    Hockey Night in Canada: Punjabi Edition (OMNI)
    Studio Host: Randip Janda; Studio Analysts: Gurpreet Sian, Taqdeer Thindal; Play-by-Play: Mantar Bhandal; Analyst: Harpreet Pandher; Host: Amrit Gill  
  • 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT – Calgary Flames @ Vancouver Canucks (Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360, and CBC)
    Play-by-Play: Jim Hughson; Analyst: Louie DeBrusk; Host: Dan Murphy
    Hockey Night in Canada: Punjabi Edition (OMNI)
    Studio Host: Randip Janda; Studio Analysts: Gurpreet Sian, Taqdeer Thindal; Play-by-Play: Mantar Bhandal; Analyst: Harpreet Pandher; Host: Amrit Gill  

 

*Note: Schedule and commentator assignment is subject to change.

Filed in: NHL Media, Hockey Broadcasting, CBC HNIC, d, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com