Canucks and Beyond

Canucks Receive President's Trophy

04/08/2011 at 1:08am EDT

Updated 8:52pm PT: New video below includes entire proceedings.

For the complete video of the proceedings tonight—including team awards by members of the 1982 Canucks and Manny Malhotra’s appearance—video below documents the entirety:

- video courtesy of Roger’s Sportsnet broadcast, April 7, 2011.

Update 10:00pm PT: From the Canucks PR Dept—

VANCOUVER, B.C., — The Vancouver Canucks announced today the winners of their annual player awards for the 2010.11 season. Daniel Sedin earned the Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Canucks MVP, as selected by the fans, for the first time in his career. Daniel has set career highs in all offensive categories this NHL season with 100 points (41-59-100) and leads the NHL in scoring through April 6, 2011. In addition to being named Canucks MVP, Daniel also won the Cyrus H. McLean Trophy as the team’s highest scorer.

Roberto Luongo is the recipient of the Molson Cup Trophy as the player with the most Three Stars nominations throughout the season as chosen by broadcasters. Luongo is tied for first in the NHL in wins (37), tied for second in goals-against average (2.14) and is third in save percentage (.927).

Ryan Kesler is the recipient of the Most Exciting Player award as voted by fans this season. It is the first season in which Kesler has been named the team’s Most Exciting Player. This season Kesler has set career highs in goals (37) and power play goals (13). Kesler is second in the NHL in faceoffs won (841) and leads the Canucks in shorthanded goals this season (3).

Christian Ehrhoff is the recipient of the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy (voted by the fans) for being the Most Outstanding Defenceman for the second consecutive year. Ehrhoff is having a career year in assists (36) and points (49) and is one goal away from matching last season’s career high in goals. Ehrhoff also leads all Canucks defencemen in power play goals (6) and all Canucks in TOI (1,845:59).

Jannik Hansen is the recipient of the Fred J. Hume Award for being the Canucks “Unsung Hero” as chosen by the Canucks Booster Club. This is Hansen’s first team award. Hansen has set career highs in assists (18) and points (27) and is one goal from setting a new career high in goals in his fourth season in Vancouver.

Summary of 2010.11 Vancouver Canucks Awards:

—Cyclone Taylor - “Most Valuable Player”: Daniel Sedin
—Walter (Babe) Pratt - “Best Defenceman”: Christian Ehrhoff
—Most Exciting Player: Ryan Kesler
—Fred J. Hume - “Unsung Hero “: Jannik Hansen
—Molson Cup Trophy: Roberto Luongo
—Most Molson Cup Selections”
—Cyrus H. McLean - “Leading Scorer “: Daniel Sedin

Create an Account

In order to leave a comment, please create an account.

About Canucks and Beyond

Most Recent Posts

Most Recent Comments

Comment by Cubanpuckstoppr in Kukla's Korner Hockey from the entry Video- Bad Goal Of The Night - Carter Hart - 2 minutes ago
Comment by MZ2215 in Abel to Yzerman from the entry Tyler Bertuzzi Placed On IR - 1 hour ago
Comment by Paul in Kukla's Korner Hockey from the entry NHL Short Notes - 4 hours ago