The Malik Report
by George Malik on 06/13/13 at 02:03 PM ET
The gents in the comments section pointed out that what I saw in limited replays as a hit from behind from one Richard Panik to Grand Rapids Griffins defenseman Adam Almquist, during Game 3 of the Griffins-Crunch Calder Cup Final, was in fact nearly head-on as Almquist was turning toward play (I thought it was a check from behind, and got it wrong)...But Almquist is likely out for Game 4, and this hit resulted in Panik scoring the game's first goal while Almquist lay on the ice.
I didn't like the hit, but it does beg several questions:
1. Was it a "charge" or "boarding," or simply predatory? Does the fact that Almquist made what is a rare move today in turning toward play instead of away from the play and toward the boards (which would yield a hit "in the numbers") absolve Panik from guilt here?
2. And is the rule that teams whose players suffer injuries must regain possession and control of the puck before a whistle is blown still really fair?
Add a Comment
Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.
Most Recent Blog Posts
About The Malik Report
The Malik Report is a destination for all things Red Wings-related. I offer biased, perhaps unprofessional-at-times and verbose coverage of my favorite team, their prospects and developmental affiliates. I've joined the Kukla's Korner family with five years of blogging under my belt, and I hope you'll find almost everything you need to follow your Red Wings at a place where all opinions are created equal and we're all friends, talking about hockey and the team we love to follow.