The Malik Report
by George Malik on 03/26/14 at 04:06 AM ET
I have to admire what Niklas Kronwall and Mike Babcock had to say to MLive's Ansar Khan about the absolutely bizarre and--as it turns out--non-reviewable goal "scored" by Cam Atkinson en route to Columbus's 4-2 victory over the Red Wings on Tuesday night, complicating the East's Wild Card race significantly...
“I don’t think any of us knew that was the rule; we can’t blame the refs either,” Red Wings defenseman Niklas Kronwall said. “They went to Toronto and they made the call. I guess that’s the rule. We got to live with it.”
Said Red Wings coach Mike Babcock: “It doesn’t matter what I think. They made a decision. I thought when the net was off the goal didn’t count, but they evidently think our guy pushed their guy in and so it’s a goal. There’s no sense disputing that. We had to get one more goal.”
But I do adore what Jimmy Howard had to say to the AP's Rusty Miller about the kerfuffle:
"I guess it's something to remember here and keep in the back of our minds -- if you knock the net off, just throw (the puck) in there," he said. "It should count."
During my 23 years as a hockey fan, I've seen goals waved off because the "plane of the goal" was dislodged, I've seen endless goals tossed for "incidental contact" that didn't occur (see: Johan Franzen exiting the crease on Saturday), I've seen goals count where players literally shovel the puck into goalies and then shove goaltenders over the goal line (see: Eric Lindros's highlight reel) and I've seen every conceivable interpretation of whether a player was "in the crease" or impeding a goalie's ability to make a save during Tomas Holmstrom's career, but I've never even heard of the rule the NHL's Situation Room employed on Tuesday:
At 6:58 of the third period in the Detroit Red Wings/Columbus Blue Jackets game, the NHL Situation Room initiated a review because the puck crossed the Red Wings goal line. The referee determined that the puck crossed the goal line and that Red Wings defenseman Brendan Smith pushed Blue Jackets forward Cam Atkinson into the net causing the goal post to be dislodged.
According to rule 63.6 "In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, prior to the puck crossing the normal positions of the goal posts, the referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal." This is not a reviewable call. Good goal Columbus.
Given the grabbing, groping, cross-checking, helmet-removing and literal pinning of players to the boards as they attempted to pursue pucks that was let go on both sides on Tuesday--and has been allowed since the Olympic break--A. Issac of Guyism noted that Mickey Redmond was baffled when David Legwand was called for barely tapping Mark Letestu's hands later in the 3rd period:
Add a Comment
Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.
Most Recent Blog Posts
About The Malik Report
The Malik Report is a destination for all things Red Wings-related. I offer biased, perhaps unprofessional-at-times and verbose coverage of my favorite team, their prospects and developmental affiliates. I've joined the Kukla's Korner family with five years of blogging under my belt, and I hope you'll find almost everything you need to follow your Red Wings at a place where all opinions are created equal and we're all friends, talking about hockey and the team we love to follow.