Kukla's Korner

The Malik Report

Grand Rapids Griffins Release Their Regular Season Schedule

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – The Grand Rapids Griffins on Wednesday released their schedule for the 2014-15 season. It will mark their 19th campaign overall, 14th as members of the American Hockey League and 13th as the primary affiliate of the Detroit Red Wings.

The Griffins will begin their 76-game slate at home on Friday, Oct. 10 when the Lake Erie Monsters pay a 7 p.m. visit to Van Andel Arena. Coupled with the regular season finale at home on April 18, this will mark the first season since 2005-06 that Grand Rapids both opens and closes its regular season schedule on home ice.

Highlights of the 2014-15 schedule include::

•    Twenty-six prime home dates (14 Fridays and 12 Saturdays) out of 38 games;

•    The Griffins’ 18th annual New Year’s Eve celebration versus the Rockford IceHogs on Wed., Dec. 31;

•    Grand Rapids’ 14th annual Matinee Game against the Chicago Wolves on Wed., Nov. 5 at 11 a.m.;

•    The first-ever visits to Van Andel Arena by the Utica Comets (Fri., Jan. 23) and Adirondack Phantoms (Sun., March 22);

•    Nov. 14 and 15 clashes between the Griffins and Texas Stars -- the last two Calder Cup champions -- in Grand Rapids.

Most Griffins home games will begin at 7 p.m., with the exception of Wed., Nov. 5 (11 a.m.), Wed., Dec. 31 (6 p.m.), Sat., March 14 (8 p.m.) and Sun., March 22 (4 p.m.).

Fans can secure their full-season, select-season or group ticket packages now by calling (616) 774-4585 ext. 2. Single-game tickets will go on sale on Friday, Sept. 12.

Griffins 2014-15 schedule options:  PDF   Graphic   Outlook
 

Grand Rapids Griffins 2014-15 Schedule

Date

Opponent

Time

Fri., Oct. 10

LAKE ERIE MONSTERS

7 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 11

@ Lake Erie Monsters

7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 17

@ Charlotte Checkers

7 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 18

@ Charlotte Checkers

7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 24

LAKE ERIE MONSTERS

7 p.m.

Wed., Oct. 29

ROCKFORD ICEHOGS

7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 31

CHICAGO WOLVES

7 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 5

CHICAGO WOLVES

11 a.m.

Fri., Nov. 7

@ Milwaukee Admirals

8 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 8

@ Rockford IceHogs

8 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 12

LAKE ERIE MONSTERS

7 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 14

TEXAS STARS

7 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 15

TEXAS STARS

7 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 21 

@ Lake Erie Monsters

7:30 p.m. 

Sat., Nov. 22 

LAKE ERIE MONSTERS

7 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 26 

@ Rochester Americans

7:05 p.m. 

Fri., Nov. 28 

@ Rochester Americans 

7:05 p.m. 

Sat., Nov. 29 

@ Adirondack Flames 

7 p.m. 

Tue., Dec. 2 

@ Toronto Marlies 

7 p.m. 

Fri., Dec. 5 

OKLAHOMA CITY BARONS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Dec. 6 

@ Rockford IceHogs 

8 p.m. 

Sun., Dec. 7 

@ Milwaukee Admirals 

4 p.m. 

Wed., Dec. 10 

LAKE ERIE MONSTERS 

7 p.m. 

Fri., Dec. 12

@ Oklahoma City Barons 

8 p.m. 

Sat., Dec. 13 

@ Oklahoma City Barons 

8 p.m. 

Fri., Dec. 19 

TORONTO MARLIES 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Dec. 20 

@ Lake Erie Monsters 

7 p.m. 

Mon., Dec. 22 

@ Chicago Wolves 

8 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 27 

IOWA WILD 

7 p.m. 

Tue., Dec. 30 

@ Chicago Wolves 

8 p.m. 

Wed., Dec. 31 

ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 

6 p.m. 

Fri., Jan. 2 

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 

7 p.m. 

Wed., Jan. 7

CHARLOTTE CHECKERS 

7 p.m. 

Fri., Jan. 9 

CHARLOTTE CHECKERS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Jan. 10 

CHICAGO WOLVES 

7 p.m. 

Wed., Jan. 14

@ Utica Comets

7 p.m. 

Fri., Jan. 16 

@ Hamilton Bulldogs 

7:30 p.m. 

Sat., Jan. 17 

@ Hamilton Bulldogs 

7 p.m. 

Wed., Jan. 21 

CHICAGO WOLVES 

7 p.m. 

Fri., Jan. 23 

UTICA COMETS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Jan. 24 

IOWA WILD 

7 p.m.

Thu., Jan. 29 

@ Iowa Wild

8 p.m. 

Fri., Jan. 30 

@ Milwaukee Admirals 

8 p.m. 

Sat., Jan. 31 

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 

7 p.m. 

Wed., Feb. 4 

@ Toronto Marlies 

11 a.m.

Fri., Feb. 6 

ROCHESTER AMERICANS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Feb. 7 

ROCHESTER AMERICANS 

7 p.m. 

Fri., Feb. 13 

SAN ANTONIO RAMPAGE 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Feb. 14 

SAN ANTONIO RAMPAGE 

7 p.m. 

Sun., Feb. 15 

@ Chicago Wolves 

5 p.m. 

Wed., Feb. 18 

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 

7 p.m. 

Fri., Feb. 20 

HAMILTON BULLDOGS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., Feb. 21 

HAMILTON BULLDOGS

7 p.m. 

Tue., Feb. 24 

@ Iowa Wild 

8 p.m. 

Fri., Feb. 27 

@ Milwaukee Admirals 

8 p.m. 

Sat., Feb. 28 

@ Chicago Wolves 

8 p.m. 

Wed., March 4 

OKLAHOMA CITY BARONS 

7 p.m. 

Fri., March 6 

@ Milwaukee Admirals 

8 p.m. 

Sat., March 7 

@ Rockford IceHogs 

8 p.m. 

Tue., March 10 

@ Charlotte Checkers 

7 p.m. 

Thu., March 12 

@ Charlotte Checkers 

7 p.m. 

Sat., March 14 

ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 

8 p.m.

Fri., March 20 

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., March 21 

@ Lake Erie Monsters 

7 p.m. 

Sun., March 22 

ADIRONDACK FLAMES 

4 p.m. 

Fri., March 27 

@ Texas Stars 

8:30 p.m. 

Sat., March 28 

@ Texas Stars 

8 p.m.

Wed., April 1

ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 

7 p.m.

Fri., April 3 

@ Rockford IceHogs 

8 p.m. 

Sat., April 4 

TORONTO MARLIES 

7 p.m. 

Wed., April 8 

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 

7 p.m. 

Fri., April 10 

@ San Antonio Rampage 

8:30 p.m. 

Sat., April 11 

@ San Antonio Rampage 

8 p.m. 

Thu., April 16 

@ Lake Erie Monsters 

7 p.m. 

Fri., April 17 

CHARLOTTE CHECKERS 

7 p.m. 

Sat., April 18 

CHARLOTTE CHECKERS 

7 p.m.

All Times Eastern
Dates, Opponents and Times Subject to Change
Games Broadcast on WOOD 106.9 FM/1300 AM

Grand Rapids Griffins
2014-15 Schedule Breakdown

Season/Home Opener: Fri., Oct. 10 vs. Lake Erie Monsters
Season/Home Finale: Sat., April 18 vs. Charlotte Checkers

By Conference
Western – 76 (38 home, 38 road), Eastern – 0

By Division
Midwest – 36 (18 home, 18 road), West – 24 (12 home, 12 road), North – 16 (8 home, 8 road), Atlantic – 0, East – 0, Northeast – 0

By Opponent
Lake Erie and Milwaukee – 10 games (5 home, 5 road)
Charlotte, Chicago and Rockford – 8 games (4 home, 4 road)
Hamilton, Iowa, Oklahoma City, Rochester, San Antonio, Texas and Toronto – 4 games (2 home, 2 road)
Adirondack and Utica – 2 games (1 home, 1 road)

By Day (Home)
Friday - 14, Saturday - 12, Wednesday - 11, Sunday - 1

By Day (Road)
Saturday - 13, Friday - 12, Tuesday - 4, Wednesday and Thursday - 3, Sunday - 2, Monday - 1

By Month (Home)
January - 8, February - 7, November, December and April - 5, October and March - 4

By Month (Road)
December - 8, March - 7, November - 6, January and February - 5, April - 4, October - 3

Longest Homestand
5 games: Dec. 31-Jan. 10 

Longest Road Trip
4 games: Nov. 26-Dec. 2 and March 6-12

Three Games in Three Nights
5 times: Dec. 5-7, Jan. 29-31, Feb. 13-15, March 20-22, April 16-18

Filed in: | The Malik Report | Permalink
 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Malik Report

The Malik Report is a destination for all things Red Wings-related. I offer biased, perhaps unprofessional-at-times and verbose coverage of my favorite team, their prospects and developmental affiliates. I've joined the Kukla's Korner family with five years of blogging under my belt, and I hope you'll find almost everything you need to follow your Red Wings at a place where all opinions are created equal and we're all friends, talking about hockey and the team we love to follow.