Kukla's Korner

The Malik Report

Grand Rapids Griffins release 2013-2014 schedule

From the Grand Rapids Griffins:

The Grand Rapids Griffins on Thursday released their schedule for the 2013-14 season. It will mark their 18th campaign overall, 13th as members of the American Hockey League and 12th as the primary affiliate of the Detroit Red Wings.

The 2013 Calder Cup champions will begin defense of their title on Fri. Oct. 4 in Rochester, the first of three straight road games to start the season. The Griffins will then raise their championship banner prior to hosting the Milwaukee Admirals on Fri., Oct. 18 at 7 p.m. at Van Andel Arena.

Highlights of the 76-game schedule include:

•    Twenty-six prime home dates (16 Fridays and 10 Saturdays) out of 38 games;

•    The Griffins’ first-ever outdoor game on Mon., Dec. 30 versus the Toronto Marlies at 5 p.m. The AHL clubs will battle at Comerica Park as part of the Hockeytown Winter Festival, a series of college, junior and NHL alumni games leading up to the 2014 NHL Winter Classic between the Detroit Red Wings and Toronto Maple Leafs at Michigan Stadium on Jan. 1. Information on tickets to both historic games is available by calling (616) 774-4585 ext. 2;

•    The Griffins’ 17th annual New Year’s Eve celebration versus Toronto on Tue., Dec. 31;

•    A season-high seven-game homestand from Nov. 29-Dec. 14;

•    Grand Rapids’ 13th annual Matinee Game against the Rockford IceHogs on Wed., Nov. 6 at 11 a.m.;

•    A road contest against Rochester on Sat., Feb. 8 that will be held at the First Niagara Center, home to the Americans' parent club, the Buffalo Sabres.

Most Griffins home games will begin at 7 p.m., with the exception of Wed., Nov. 6 (11 a.m.), Sat., Dec. 7 (8 p.m.), Mon., Dec. 30 at Comerica Park (5 p.m.), Tue., Dec. 31 (6 p.m.) and Sun., Feb. 23 (5 p.m.).

Fans can secure their full-season, partial-season or group ticket packages now by calling (616) 774-4585 ext. 2. Single-game tickets will go on sale on Friday, Sept. 20.

Grand Rapids Griffins 2013-14 Schedule

Date Opponent Time

Fri., Oct. 4 @ Rochester Americans 7:05 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 5 @ Toronto Marlies 3 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 12 @ Hamilton Bulldogs 7 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 18 MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 7 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 19 @ Rockford IceHogs 8 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 25 CHARLOTTE CHECKERS 7 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 26 @ Chicago Wolves 8 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 27 @ Iowa Wild 6:05 p.m.

Wed., Oct. 30 CHARLOTTE CHECKERS 7 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 1 @ Lake Erie Monsters 7:30 p.m.

Sun., Nov. 3 @ Rockford IceHogs5 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 6 ROCKFORD ICEHOGS11 a.m.

Fri., Nov. 8 @ Hamilton Bulldogs 7:30 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 13 @ Milwaukee Admirals 8 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 15 ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 7 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 16 @ Chicago Wolves 8 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 20 MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 7 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 22 @ Iowa Wild 8:05 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 23 @ Chicago Wolves 8 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 29 TEXAS STARS 7 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 30 TEXAS STARS 7 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 6 ROCHESTER AMERICANS 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 7 ROCHESTER AMERICANS 8 p.m.

Wed., Dec. 11 CHICAGO WOLVES 7 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 13 MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 14 MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 7 p.m.

Wed., Dec. 18 @ Iowa Wild 8:05 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 20 ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 21 @ Chicago Wolves 8 p.m.

Thu., Dec. 26 @ Milwaukee Admirals 8 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 27 @ Rockford IceHogs 8 p.m.

Mon., Dec. 30 TORONTO MARLIES * 5 p.m.

Tue., Dec. 31 TORONTO MARLIES 6 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 3 CHICAGO WOLVES 7 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 4 @ Rockford IceHogs 8 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 8 ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 7 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 10 IOWA WILD 7 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 11 IOWA WILD 7 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 15 CHICAGO WOLVES 7 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 17 ABBOTSFORD HEAT 7 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 18 ABBOTSFORD HEAT 7 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 24 @ Texas Stars 8:30 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 25 @ Texas Stars 8 p.m.

Sun., Jan. 26 @ San Antonio Rampage 5 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 31 CHICAGO WOLVES 7 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 1 @ Milwaukee Admirals 8 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 5 LAKE ERIE MONSTERS 7 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 7 @ Toronto Marlies 7 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 8 @ Rochester Americans # 7:05 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 14 SAN ANTONIO RAMPAGE 7 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 15 SAN ANTONIO RAMPAGE 7 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 21 OKLAHOMA CITY BARONS 7 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 22 OKLAHOMA CITY BARONS 7 p.m.

Sun., Feb. 23 MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS 5 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 26 @ Milwaukee Admirals 8 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 28 @ Abbotsford Heat 10 p.m.

Sat., March 1 @ Abbotsford Heat 10 p.m.

Wed., March 5 CHICAGO WOLVES 7 p.m.

Fri., March 7 IOWA WILD 7 p.m.

Sat., March 8 IOWA WILD 7 p.m.

Thu., March 13 @ San Antonio Rampage 8 p.m.

Fri., March 14  @ Oklahoma City Barons 8 p.m.

Sat., March 15 @ Oklahoma City Barons 8 p.m.

Fri., March 21 @ Iowa Wild 8:05 p.m.

Sat., March 22 @ Iowa Wild 2:05 p.m.

Sun., March 23 @ Chicago Wolves 4 p.m.

Fri., March 28 @ Rockford IceHogs 8 p.m.

Sat., March 29 ROCKFORD ICEHOGS 7 p.m.

Sun., March 30 @ Milwaukee Admirals 6 p.m.

Wed., April 2 IOWA WILD 7 p.m.

Fri., April 4 HAMILTON BULLDOGS 7 p.m.

Sat., April 5 HAMILTON BULLDOGS 7 p.m.

Thu., April 10 @ Charlotte Checkers 7 p.m.

Sun., April 13 @ Charlotte Checkers 1:30 p.m.

Fri., April 18 LAKE ERIE MONSTERS 7 p.m.

Sat., April 19 @ Lake Erie Monsters 7 p.m.

All Times Eastern

Dates, Opponents and Times Subject to Change

Games Broadcast on WOOD 106.9 FM/1300 AM

* Game played at Comerica Park in Detroit
# Game played at First Niagara Center in Buffalo, N.Y.

Grand Rapids Griffins 2013-14 Schedule Breakdown

Season Opener: Fri., Oct. 4 at Rochester Americans

Home Opener: Fri., Oct. 18 vs. Milwaukee Admirals

Home Finale: Fri., April 18 vs. Lake Erie Monsters

Season Finale: Sat., April 19 at Lake Erie Monsters
 

By Conference Western – 76 (38 home, 38 road), Eastern – 0

By Division Midwest – 40 (20 home, 20 road), West – 20 (10 home, 10 road), North – 16 (8 home, 8 road), Atlantic – 0, East – 0, Northeast – 0

By Opponent Chicago, Iowa, Milwaukee and Rockford – 10 games (5 home, 5 road) Abbotsford, Charlotte, Hamilton, Lake Erie, Oklahoma City, Rochester, San Antonio, Texas and Toronto – 4 games (2 home, 2 road)

By Day (Home) Friday - 16, Saturday - 10, Wednesday - 9, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday - 1

By Day (Road) Saturday - 15, Friday - 11, Sunday - 6, Wednesday and Thursday - 3

By Month (Home) December and January - 8, February - 6, November - 5, March and April - 4, October - 3

By Month (Road) March - 9, November - 7, October - 6, February - 5, December and January - 4, April - 3

Longest Homestand 7 games: Nov. 29-Dec. 14

Longest Road Trip 7 games: March 13-28

Three Games in Three Nights 6 times: Oct. 25-27, Jan. 24-26, Feb. 21-23, March 13-15, March 21-23, March 28-30

Filed in: | The Malik Report | Permalink
 

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Malik Report

The Malik Report is a destination for all things Red Wings-related. I offer biased, perhaps unprofessional-at-times and verbose coverage of my favorite team, their prospects and developmental affiliates. I've joined the Kukla's Korner family with five years of blogging under my belt, and I hope you'll find almost everything you need to follow your Red Wings at a place where all opinions are created equal and we're all friends, talking about hockey and the team we love to follow.