Kukla's Korner

The Malik Report

Detroit Sports Broadcasters name Gustav Nyquist their Red Wings rookie of the year

From the Red Wings' PR department:


… Skilled Swedish Forward Appeared in 22 Games for Detroit During 2012-13 Season …

Detroit, MI… Detroit Red Wings forward Gustav Nyquist has been named the 2012-13 Red Wings Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association (DSBA).  Nyquist, 23, skated in 22 games for Detroit during the shortened 2012-13 season, collecting six points (3G-3A-6P), six PIM and an ‘even’ rating.  He also appeared in all 14 postseason games for the Red Wings, notching five points (2G-3A-5P), a +3 rating and tallied his first career playoff goal in overtime of Game Two of the Western Conference Quarterfinals against the Anaheim Ducks.

“I’m really excited to be chosen as the DSBA Rookie of the Year,” said Nyquist.  “There were a lot of candidates this year because so many young guys were called up and ended up playing pretty significant roles. When you look at some of the past winners of the award like Pavel Datsyuk, Henrik Zetterberg, Marcel Dionne, Glenn Hall and Terry Sawchuk, it’s really a great honor.”

A native of Halmstad, Sweden, Nyquist was originally selected by the Red Wings in the fourth round (121st overall) of the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.  The 5’11”, 185-lb. forward led Grand Rapids in scoring this season with 60 points (23G-37A-60P) and tied for second on the team with 23 goals in just 58 games played.  In 2011-12, Nyquist set the Griffins’ rookie scoring record after registering 58 points (22G-36A-58P) in 56 games.  Prior to joining the Griffins at the end of the 2010-11 season, Nyquist played three seasons at the University of Maine (NCAA, Hockey East), amassing 144 points (50G-94A-113P) in 113 collegiate appearances.  Nyquist will be honored by the DSBA prior to a Red Wings home game during the 2013-14 season.

The DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award dates back to the 1948-49 NHL season.  Previous recipients of the award include current Red Wings Henrik Zetterberg, Pavel Datsyuk, Johan Franzen, Niklas Kronwall, Jimmy Howard, Jonathan Ericsson, Jakub Kindl and Cory Emmerton.

Previous DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2011-12 – Cory Emmerton                      1979-80 - Mike Foligno                          1963-64 - Pit Martin

2010-11 – Jakub Kindl                           1978-79 - Willie Huber                            1962-63 - Doug Barkley

2009-10 - Jimmy Howard                        1977-78 - Dale McCourt                         1961-62 - Bruce MacGregor

2008-09 - Jonathan Ericsson                  1976-77 - Jim Nahrgang                         1960-61 - Hank Bassen

2007-08 - Derek Meech                          1975-76 - Michel Bergeron                      1959-60 - Murray Oliver

2006-07 - Jiri Hudler                               1974-75 - Bill Lochead                           1958-59 - Len Lunde

2005-06 - Johan Franzen                        1973-74 - Bill Hogaboam                        1957-58 - Don Poile

2004-05 - None awarded                        1972-73 - Henry Boucha                         1956-57 - Billy Dea

2003-04 - Niklas Kronwall                       1971-72 - Marcel Dionne                        1955-56 - Glenn Hall

2002-03 - Henrik Zetterberg                    1970-71 - Tom Webster                          1954-55 - None awarded

2001-02 - Pavel Datsyuk                        1969-70 - Al Karlander                            1953-54 - Bill Dineen

2000-01 - None awarded                        1968-69 - Paul Popiel                             1952-53 - Marcel Bonin

1999-00 - Jiri Fischer                              1967-68 - Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards       1951-52 - Glen Skov

1982-98 - None awarded                        1966-67 - None awarded                        1950-51 - Terry Sawchuk

1980-81 - John Barrett                            1965-66 - Bert Marshall                          1949-50 - Steve Black

                                                            1964-65 - Roger Crozier                         1948-49 - Max McNab

Filed in: | The Malik Report | Permalink


SYF's avatar

Good call.  I’m sure 65DD is a front-runner favorite next season.

Posted by SYF from Twerkin' with Anastasia Ashley on 06/28/13 at 12:40 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Malik Report

The Malik Report is a destination for all things Red Wings-related. I offer biased, perhaps unprofessional-at-times and verbose coverage of my favorite team, their prospects and developmental affiliates. I've joined the Kukla's Korner family with five years of blogging under my belt, and I hope you'll find almost everything you need to follow your Red Wings at a place where all opinions are created equal and we're all friends, talking about hockey and the team we love to follow.