Kukla's Korner

The Puck Stops Here

Hershey Bears Win The Calder Cup

Overlooked in the excitement of the Stanley Cup being won on Friday, there was another important cup victory in the AHL.  The Hershey Bears won the Calder Cup.  I will review the finals, but first links to the first, second and third rounds.

Hershey Bears defeat Manitoba Moose four games to two  Hershey is the Washington Capitals AHL affiliate and Manitoba belongs to the Vancouver Canucks.  Hershey was led by Alexandre Giroux who led the playoffs with 28 points.  Keith Aucoin and Chris Bourque were also top offensive players for Hershey.  Staffan Kronwall was the most valuable player on their defence.  Michal Neuvirth won the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as the playoff MVP.  He posted a .932 saves percentage and a 1.92 GAA throughout the playoffs. Manitoba’s top scorer in the playoffs was Jason Krog.  Jason Jaffray and Michael Grabner were also top scorers.  Maxime Fortunus led their defence.  In goal, Cory Schneider played well sporting a .922 saves percentage and a 2.15 GAA in the playoffs. 

This is the tenth Calder Cup for the Hershey Bears.  That is the most times any franchise has won the Calder Cup.  Previously they had been tied with the Cleveland Barons (who no longer exist) with nine victories.

Filed in: | The Puck Stops Here | Permalink


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Puck Stops Here

imageThe Puck Stops Here was founded during the 2004/05 lockout as a place to rant about hockey. The original site contains over 1000 posts, some of which were also published on FoxSports.com.

Who am I? A diehard hockey fan.

Why am I blogging? I want to.

Why are you reading it? ???

Email: y2kfhl@hotmail.com