Kukla's Korner

The Puck Stops Here

Hall Of Fame Media Inductees

The 2010 Hall of Fame season has began.  The media honorees have been announced.  The Foster Hewitt Memorial Award is given to a hockey commentator annually.  It was awarded to Ron Weber.  He was the first voice of the Washington Capitals.  He commentated their games from the team’s entry into the NHL in 1974 until his retirement in 1997.

The Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award is given to a hockey journalist annually.  It was awarded to Marc de Foy.  He is a French language reporter in the Montreal market.  He originally broke into sports reporting with the now defunct Montreal Matin.  Initially he was a football reporter with the CFL’s Montreal Alouettes.  He branched into hockey when he moved to the Journal de Montreal in 1982.  The recent dropoff in print media has moved him into blogging with ruefrontenac.com for the last year or so.  This is a commentary on the state of print media - a Hall of Fame worthy reporter can no longer find employment in traditional print media.

Congratulations to Ron Weber and Marc de Foy

Filed in: | The Puck Stops Here | Permalink



Actually, a little clarification on Marc de Foy’s employment situation:

His writing for ruefrontenac.com isn’t about him being unable to find employment in traditional print media. It has to do with the fact that his print media employer, Le Journal de Montreal, has locked out 250 union employees over a labour dispute.  This has been going on since early 2009.  Le Journal is still published, written by “scabs”, and the locked out journalists and editors have been writing for ruefrontenac.com in protest.

Posted by Melly on 06/03/10 at 02:22 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Puck Stops Here

imageThe Puck Stops Here was founded during the 2004/05 lockout as a place to rant about hockey. The original site contains over 1000 posts, some of which were also published on FoxSports.com.

Who am I? A diehard hockey fan.

Why am I blogging? I want to.

Why are you reading it? ???

Email: y2kfhl@hotmail.com