Kukla's Korner

The Puck Stops Here

Hall Of Fame Media Honorees

Yesterday the Hall of Fame media honorees were announced.  Winning the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for hockey journalism was Kevin Allen and winning the Forster Hewitt Memorial Award for broadcasting was Pat Foley.  Both are deserving honorees.

Kevin Allen first broke in with the Port Huron (Michigan) Times Herald and in 1986 became the USA Today hockey reporter.  He is one of the most well-connected reporters in hockey today.  In December he won the Lester Patrick award for outstanding service to hockey in the US.

Pat Foley broke in calling games for the Grand Rapids Owls of the IHL.  In 1981, he became the voice of the Chicago Blackhawks.  He has held that position ever since, except for a two year period from 2006-2008 when the Hawks let him go and he worked for the AHL Chicago Wolves.  When he was brought back, this was acknowledged as a mistake by the penny-pinching Bill Wirtz Blackhawks.  He also called games on Fox during the NHL's run on that station from 1995 to 1998.

Congratulations to both deserving Hall of Fame additions.

Filed in: | The Puck Stops Here | Permalink


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Puck Stops Here

imageThe Puck Stops Here was founded during the 2004/05 lockout as a place to rant about hockey. The original site contains over 1000 posts, some of which were also published on FoxSports.com.

Who am I? A diehard hockey fan.

Why am I blogging? I want to.

Why are you reading it? ???

Email: y2kfhl@hotmail.com