Kukla's Korner

The Puck Stops Here

AHL All Star Rosters

Over the last two days, the AHL has named their All Star Game rosters.  The game will be played January 26th in Worchester, Massachusetts.  It pits the AHL all stars from Canada (Team Canada) against those from the rest of the world (Planet USA).  All Star Teams have 24 players each with 13 forwards, 8 defencemen and 3 goalies on each.  It is an interesting game because it is a chance to see many future NHL players in one place.

Here are the rosters:

Team Canada


Mike Brodeur Rochester
Barry Brust Houston
Brian Elliott Binghamton (starter)


Johnny Boychuk Providence (starter)
Kyle Cumisky Lake Erie
Cody Franson Milwaukee
Bryan Helmer Hershey (captain)
Derek Joslin Worcester (starter)
Andrew MacDonald Bridgeport
Brett Palin Quad City
Danny Syvret Philadelphia


Steve Downie Norfolk
Alexandre Giroux Hershey (starter)
Claude Giroux Philadelphia (starter)
Mike Iggulden Bridgeport
Jason Krog Manitoba
Corey Locke Houston
Brett MacLean San Antonio
Mark Mancari Portland
Chris Minard Wilkes-Barre/Scranton (starter)
Cal O’Reilly Milwaukee
Teddy Purcell Manchester
Martin St Pierre Providence
Mike Santorelli Milwaukee

Planet USA


Jeff Frazee Lowell
Daniel Larsson Grand Rapids
Cory Schneider Manitoba (starter)


Rory Fitzpatrick Rochester (captain)
Jonas Junland Peoria
Mattias Karlsson Binghamton
Jakub Kindl Grand Rapids (starter)
Ben Lovejoy Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Bobby Sanguinetti Hartford
Jaime Sifers Toronto
Yannick Weber Hamilton (starter)


Keith Aucoin Hershey
Chris Bourque Hershey (starter)
Nikita Filatov Syracuse (starter)
Nathan Gerbe Portland (starter)
Martins Karsums Providence
Tim Kennedy Portland
Petri Kontiola Rockford
Drew Miller Iowa
Joe Motzko Chicago
Michael Ryan Albany
Ryan Potulny Springfield
Jeff Taffe Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Ryan Vesce Worcester

One of the interesting stories is that Rory Fitzpatrick, famous for a failed 2007 write-in campaign to be an NHL All Star starter is the Planet USA captain.

To get an idea what becomes of AHL All Stars, here is last year’s roster.  It included current NHLers like Derick Brassard, Nigel Dawes and Bobby Ryan (among others).

Filed in: | The Puck Stops Here | Permalink


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Puck Stops Here

imageThe Puck Stops Here was founded during the 2004/05 lockout as a place to rant about hockey. The original site contains over 1000 posts, some of which were also published on FoxSports.com.

Who am I? A diehard hockey fan.

Why am I blogging? I want to.

Why are you reading it? ???

Email: y2kfhl@hotmail.com