Kukla's Korner

The Puck Stops Here

AHL All Star Game

The AHL All Star Game takes place on January 28th in Providence, Rhode Island.  The league was put in a tough place in naming their rosters because of the start of the NHL season.  The best players in the first half of the AHL season are called up to their NHL teams and unavailable for an All Star Game.  For example, the top scoring forward so far this season Jordan Eberle and the top scoring defenceman Justin Schultz find themselves playing significant roles with the Edmonton Oilers and not in the AHL with the Oklahoma City Barons.  The AHL All Star Game will be the best players so far this season who were not good enough to get called up to the NHL.  In fact, I think a few more players on the initial roster won't make next week's game because of early season injuries from NHL players who are not in shape and as a result suffer injury.  These players would be called up to fill in as injury replacements.

The AHL All Star Game this season will be West Conference against East Conference.  Unlike the NHL, they have expanded the rosters to have 24 players per team.  This allows one extra goalie, two extra defencemen and one extra forward per team.  This better allows each team to be represented, while still allowing room for multiple all-stars from teams with several worthy players.

Here are the AHL All Star Game rosters:

West Conference

Barry Brust Abbotsford Heat
Petr Mrazek Grand Rapids Griffins
Justin Peters Charlotte Checkers

Victor Bartley Milwaukee Admirals
Chad Billins Grand Rapids Griffins
Adam Clendening Rockford IceHogs
Mark Cundari Peoria Rivermen
Michal Jordan Charlotte Checkers
Mike Kostkas Toronto Marlies
Brayden McNabb Rochester Americans
Jamie Oleksiak Texas Stars

Andrew Agozzino Lake Erie Monsters
Mark Arcobello Oklahoma City Barons
Matt Fraser Texas Stars
Brendan Gallagher Hamilton Bulldogs
Ryan Hamilton Toronto Marlies
Quintin Laing Abbotsford Heat
Gustav Nyquist Grand Rapids Griffins
Kevin Porter Rochester Americans
Martin St Pierre Rockford IceHogs
Mike Sgarbossa Lake Erie Monsters
Drew Shore San Antonio Rampage
Brett Sterling Chicago Wolves
Jason Zucker Houston Aeros

East Conference

Robin Lehner Binghamton Senators
Curtis McElhinney Springfield Falcons
Niklas Svedberg Providence Bruins

Mark Barberio Syracuse Crunch
Andre Benoit Binghamton Senators
Matt Donovan Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Tim Erixon Springfield Falcons
Erik Gustafsson Adirondack Phantoms
Tomas Kundratek Hershey Bears
Zach Redmond St John’s IceCaps
David Rundblad Portland Pirates

Jonathan Audy-Marchessault Springfield Falcons
Beau Bennett Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Alexandre Bolduc Portland Pirates
Chris Bourque Providence Bruins
Bobby Butler Albany Devils
Peter Holland Norfolk Admirals
Tyler Johnson Syracuse Crunch
Tim Kennedy Worcester Sharks
Chad Kolarik Connecticut Whale
Nino Niederreiter Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Richard Panik Syracuse Crunch
Tyler Toffoli Manchester Monarchs
Trent Whitfield Providence Bruins

Filed in: | The Puck Stops Here | Permalink


EDJ's avatar

You wrote Grand Rapids Checkers twice, just giving you a heads up.

Posted by EDJ on 01/20/13 at 01:42 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About The Puck Stops Here

imageThe Puck Stops Here was founded during the 2004/05 lockout as a place to rant about hockey. The original site contains over 1000 posts, some of which were also published on FoxSports.com.

Who am I? A diehard hockey fan.

Why am I blogging? I want to.

Why are you reading it? ???

Email: y2kfhl@hotmail.com