Kukla's Korner Hockey
by Paul on 11/06/11 at 01:34 PM ET
from Larry Brooks of the NY Post,
The same way the puck either does or does not cross the goal line, and thus either does or does not enter the net and count as a goal, a puck either does or does not hit the glass on its way into the stands.
It’s not a matter of judgment, but rather a matter of being in position to see.
So there is no reason at all the delay-of-game penalty assessed when a puck is shot or batted directly into the stands out of the defensive zone should not be added immediately to those situations qualifying for video review.
For as the four sets of eyes belonging to the two referees and two linesmen working last Saturday’s Sharks-Islanders match at the Coliseum somehow all failed to see Travis Hamonic’s attempted clear 29 seconds into overtime deflect off the glass before going into the stands, everyone and anyone with access to a replay could see—and hear—it.
Add a Comment
Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.
Most Recent Blog Posts
About Kukla's Korner Hockey
Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.
From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.
Email Paul anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org