Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Category: NHL-Officiating

Video- Another No Goal, Incidental Contact Call

The Situation Room in Toronto has no control of plays like this since the referee ruled incidental contact of the goalie.

Agree or disagree, the final say on a play like this should be made by the Situation Room where they have access to replays like this.

If the NHL wants to get as many calls right as possible, things have to change.  We are seeing these types of calls on a nightly basis.

 

Filed in: NHL Teams, New Jersey Devils, St. Louis Blues, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Time To Eliminate The ‘Intent To Blow’?

from erik Erlendsson of the Tampa Tribune,

The league did take a step in that direction during the summer when it opted to use a more liberal interpretation on pucks that are directed in by a skate with officials looking for a more defined “distinct kicking motion” when plays are reviewed in the NHL Situation Room.

Perhaps it is time to start looking at another rule that needs to go — the intent to blow the whistle.

According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed “when the referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle.”

This just seems defeatist to take a potentially legitimate goal off the board because the official was about to blow the play dead, but never actually followed through with the act.

It happened twice this week on goals that were negated on plays that would have been quick whistles, let alone quick “intent” to blow a whistle.

read on

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Forget The Coaches’ Challenge, Just Get The Call Right

from Larry Brooks of the New York Post,

So Braden Holtby trips over his own skates after attempting to move the puck against a Luke Glendenning forecheck, the puck is shot into what becomes an empty net by the Red Wings in D.C. on Wednesday, referee Mike Leggo is watching the entire sequence from the right wing circle, doesn’t have his arm in the air signifying a penalty, and as soon as the puck goes in, he begins with the washout “no goal” signal.

Why? Why, even if the absurd goaltender interference call were made initially by referee Ghislain Hebert, out by the blue line, why didn’t Leggo correct him? Why wouldn’t he have told his partner he got it wrong? What was Leggo doing?

The NHL doesn’t need a coaches’ challenge. It needs referees who are unafraid to communicate with one another in order to make the correct call. It needs referees who don’t make calls — or reinforce them — based on things they never saw.

And the NHL needs a policy in which these referees actually have the responsibility to meet with the media — in the form of a designated pool reporter — after games to explain themselves, the way major league umpires do when there’s a controversial play.

more topics include Gordie Howe and some escrow talk...

added 4:22pm, Jim Matheson agrees with Brooks via tweets,

Agree whole-heartedly with @NYP_Brooskie that NHL is totally wrong not allowing refs to talk after games to pool reporter to discuss calls.

Mind you, NHL doesn't ever want us knowing who the zebras either by taking their name bars off.

Continue Reading »

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Stopping The Embellisment

from Jeff Z. Klein of the New York Times,

Anaheim Ducks defenseman Sami Vatanen felt a stick blade jab him in the face during a game last week against the San Jose Sharks. Vatanen fell and lifted his hand to his mouth, either to draw attention to the foul or simply as a reaction to being stabbed by a stick.

The referee Tim Peel blew his whistle for a high-sticking penalty against the Sharks — but he also penalized Vatanen for embellishment. Anaheim Coach Bruce Boudreau protested, but to no avail.

Peel judged Vatanen to be exaggerating, a violation of N.H.L. Rule 64, which calls for a two-minute penalty against “any player who blatantly dives” or “embellishes a fall or a reaction” to influence a referee. The call against Vatanen was part of a crackdown on what the league sees as rampant fakery among players.

“Embellishment in the game is a real problem today,” Colin Campbell, the N.H.L.’s senior executive vice president for hockey operations, said in June. “We understand players are trying to draw penalties. We feel it’s out of control.”

Or, as the bombastic hockey traditionalist Don Cherry once observed, “We’ve got to watch that we don’t start acting like those goofy soccer guys.”

continued and below, watch the Vatanen embellishment...

Continue Reading »

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

You Can Come Out Of The Penalty Box Now

from Darren Dreger of The Dreger Report at TSN,

- As our video shows (click here to watch the video), L.A. Kings forward Jarret Stoll was tagged for tripping as Pittsburgh's Brandon Sutter went down inside the blue line. Stoll argued the call, but was swiftly directed to the penalty box by Greg Kimmerley who eventually waived Stoll out of the box after consulting with fellow referee Steve Kozari.

It's clear a mistake was made and this isn't the first time on-ice officials have rescinded a penalty. However, a similar scenario almost always includes a high-sticking infraction when a teammate has caused the foul, as recognized by one of the game's four officials.

This wasn't that case. This was a tripping call the Penguins might argue shouldn't have been called back.

As it turns out, Pittsburgh won the game and this isolated play had no impact on the outcome. However, while NHL officials shouldn't be beaten down for getting it right, some around the league worry about the precedent of this overturned call from now on. ...

- We're just over four months until the NHL trade deadline, so there's plenty of time for the Washington Capitals and veteran defenceman Mike Green to work on a contract extension. However, with the offseason signings of blueliners Matt Niskanen and Brooks Orpik, many believe Green may be viewed as the odd man out given the $6.08 million cap space he takes up.  

more

Continue Reading »

Filed in: NHL Teams, Los Angeles Kings, Pittsburgh Penguins, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

All Don Van Massenhoven

from Sean Fitz-Gerald of the National Post,

Be honest: Who really got under your skin?

DVM: Claude Lemieux. [laughs] We just couldn’t get along on the ice. I gave him two 10-minute misconducts in one game, which I had never done to any player.

Did the emergence of video replay ever make you second-guess yourself?

DVM: No. Most our guys, I think, would tell you it’s been an asset to get the call right. We just knew it was there to be used to help us. You just have to react to what happens, and if the review shows it was different later, it’s not because you intended to be wrong. Mistakes happen.

18 more questions and answers...

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: don+van+massenhoven

TSN Insiders Discuss No-Goal Against The Wings, Scott Stevens May Join DoPS And More

The TSN Insiders discussed the no-goal in the Wings/Capitals game last night and also mentioned Scott Stevens may join the Department of Player Safety.

Also discussed was the cap issue with the Kings and NHL Safety meeting with NHL teams.

Watch it here...

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Get The Call Right

from Adam Proteau of The Hockey News,

The phrase “the straw that broke the camel’s back” is tossed around too often, but when it comes to expanded video review in the NHL, the goalie interference call assessed to Detroit’s Luke Glendening Wednesday night certainly qualifies. Thankfully, the spectacular botch job didn’t decide the game’s outcome, but the fact a call this bad could be agreed on between two referees should be deeply disconcerting to league officials and every team in the league....

And imagine what would happen if a similarly awful penalty/rescinded goal materialized in the final game of the regular season and the result of that game meant the difference between a team making or missing the playoffs. Imagine if a call like that went down during the playoffs – say, in Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Final – and there were no option for the officials to skate over to the penalty box area, check a video monitor for a few brief minutes and make sure they got the call right. Fans and media of the team on the wrong end of such a predicament would go apoplectic, and rightfully so; any league unwilling to utilize technology readily available to assure the integrity of its game is a league painfully out of touch with what fans demand in return for their investments of time, money and emotion.

If it ever got to that point, the NHL would need to hold an IPO to raise its stock to laughing status.

read on

Filed in: NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Why The Iginla/Phaneuf Fight Was Stopped Before It Started

from Kerry Fraser of TSN,

Given the climate within the game that has evolved over the past number of seasons there is heightened awareness and sensitivity to player safety issues. Ongoing studies conducted by both NHL and independent medical experts provide scientific evidence and newfound knowledge that is slowly changing attitudes and redefining acceptable practices and behavior. 

This is being addressed in part, with the addition of new rules relative to protective equipment. Last season visors became mandatory for any player with fewer than 25 games of NHL experience (rule 9.7). In addition, no player is allowed to remove his helmet prior to engaging in a fight. If he does so, a minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct will be assessed under rule 46.6. 

You witnessed a continuation of the player safety theme on Tuesday night when Linesmen Scott Driscoll and Greg Devorski demonstrated their good judgment and quick response to intervene in an altercation before it escalated to full-blown fisticuffs. 

more and you can watch the incident below...

Continue Reading »

Filed in: NHL Teams, Colorado Avalanche, Toronto Maple Leafs, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: dion+phaneuf, jarome+iginla

Which Rule To Follow?

from Kerry Fraser of TSN,

Assuming the on-ice officials determined O'Reilly contacted the puck above the crossbar but below his shoulders the puck is eligible to be played by any player. We know that the puck did not enter the net directly off the stick of Ryan O'Reilly but instead glanced off Bruins goalie, Niklas Svedberg and then deflected into the net off the leg and skate of Dennis Everberg.  Since there was no distinct kicking motion by Everberg, logic and common sense would indicate that this should be a good hockey goal.

Bill, this is where your question has exposed the contradiction!

Rule 80.3: When an attacking player causes the puck to enter the opponent's goal by contacting the puck above the height of the crossbar, either directly or deflected off any player or official, the goal shall not be allowed (This translates that the subsequent deflection of the puck off the leg and/or skate of Everberg should still result in no goal).

Only to be contradicted by Rule 78.4: If an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed. The player who deflected the puck shall be credited with the goal...

more and watch the play below...

Continue Reading »

Filed in: NHL Teams, Boston Bruins, Colorado Avalanche, NHL Talk, NHL Officiating, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

« Previous        < 1 2 3 4 >  Last ›      Next »

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts