Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your Jack Adams Award Finalists

NEW YORK (April 30, 2012)—Ken Hitchcock of the St. Louis Blues, Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators and John Tortorella of the New York Rangers are the three finalists for the 2011-12 Jack Adams Award, presented to the head coach who has “contributed the most to his team’s success,” the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association submitted ballots for the Jack Adams Award at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 20, during the 2012 NHL Awards from Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. The 2012 NHL Awards will be broadcast by NBC Sports Network in the United States and CBC in Canada.

Following are the finalists for the Jack Adams Award, in alphabetical order:

Ken Hitchcock, St. Louis Blues

Hitchcock made his debut behind the St. Louis bench Nov. 8 with the club at 6-7-0 and posted a 43-15-11 record the rest of the way; the 109-point season was the Blues’ best since capturing the Presidents’ Trophy in 1999-2000. The club broke or tied 13 franchise records, including a 21-game home points streak and 30 home wins overall. The Blues allowed the NHL’s fewest goals against by a wide margin (165), the fewest shots per game (26.7) and posted the most shutouts (15). Hitchcock earned his fourth career nomination as a Jack Adams finalist and the first in 13 years; he finished second in 1997 and third in 1998 and 1999, all with Dallas.

Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

MacLean made his NHL debut as head coach after spending six seasons as an assistant with the Detroit Red Wings and led the Senators (41-31-10, 92 points) to a Stanley Cup Playoff berth and an 18-point improvement over last season’s 13th-place East finish. The biggest change was on offense, where Ottawa jumped from 26th to fourth in the League in goals per game. MacLean is the third rookie head coach in the past four years to earn a Jack Adams finalist berth: Washington’s Bruce Boudreau captured the award in 2008, followed by third-place finishes by San Jose’s Todd McLellan in
2009 and Colorado’s Joe Sacco in 2010.

John Tortorella, New York Rangers

Tortorella guided the Rangers to first place in the Eastern Conference with a 51-24-7 record, their best regular-season performance since the Stanley Cup season of 1993-94. The club’s goals-against figure (187) was tops in the East, third in the NHL overall and was the fewest by a Rangers club over a full season since 1970-71. The Rangers led all clubs in hits (2,419) and ranked fourth in blocked shots (1,338). Tortorella is a Jack Adams finalist for the third time; he finished second in the voting in 2003 and captured the award in 2004, the season in which he guided the Tampa Bay Lightning to the Stanley Cup.


The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association in 1974 in honor of the late Jack Adams, longtime coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings.

Filed in: NHL Teams, | KK Hockey | Permalink


MarkK's avatar

Have to go with MacLean or Hitchcock on this one. The Rangers were built to be successful this year, while the other two “contributed more” to their teams success this year.

Obviously the Blues had more success overall than the Sens, but which coach contributed more to that success is hard to tell.

Posted by MarkK from Maryland on 04/30/12 at 02:14 PM ET

Wings_in_NYC's avatar

What!??!?! Where is Babs?????

Posted by Wings_in_NYC on 04/30/12 at 02:29 PM ET

Heaton's avatar

What!??!?! Where is Babs?????

I realize that’s sarcasm, but there’s certain criteria you need to meet.

1) Great coaches on really good teams who are expected to be good never get the Jack Adams.  Scotty didn’t win the JA until he broke the 62 game record with the Wings. 

2) If Babcock wants to win the JA, he needs to hope that the Wings start really bad and I mean bottom of the league the playoffs are a dream type of bad.  Then make their way back to the top. 

3) The other way is to take over for a team who is playing below average and go on a hot streak.

That’s about it.

Posted by Heaton on 04/30/12 at 03:44 PM ET

Luongo-is-my-hero's avatar

first of all, this list should really have tippet instead of torterella.  To see what tippets done with his ragtag group of players and excel the way he did is remarkable.  No offence to torterella, but he has a LOOOOOOOOOOOOT more talent on his team.
who does the coyotes have?
Its a travesty that tippet isnt here, as for hitchcock, I believe he should win, and mclean, i guess he is somewhat deserving.

Posted by Luongo-is-my-hero on 04/30/12 at 05:10 PM ET

Wings_in_NYC's avatar

“I realize that’s sarcasm, but here I go anyway…”

Posted by Wings_in_NYC on 04/30/12 at 06:50 PM ET

CaliforniaPuck31's avatar

Tippet should be on here, IMO.

Posted by CaliforniaPuck31 from San Luis Obispo, CA on 04/30/12 at 08:11 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com