Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Your Lady Byng Memorial Trophy Winner

Los Angeles Kings center Anze Kopitar has captured the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Kopitar polled 817 voting points, including 52 first-place tallies, to finish ahead of Aleksander Barkov of the Florida Panthers (475) and Loui Eriksson of the Boston Bruins (388).

Kopitar (25-49—74 in 81 GP) led the Kings in scoring for the ninth consecutive season, the longest active such streak in the NHL, to help the team set a franchise record for wins (48). He also ranked second in the League with a +34 rating, matching a career high established in 2013-14. Kopitar totaled only 16 penalty minutes despite pacing NHL forwards in total time on ice (1,690:12) – an average of 20:52 per game. Kopitar is the first Los Angeles player to win the Lady Byng since Wayne Gretzky captured his third with the club in 1994.

2015-2016 Lady Byng Trophy Voting, Top 20 Finishers

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Anze Kopitar, LAK 817 (52-25-17-11-4)
2. Aleksander Barkov, FLA 475 (24-21-12-7-7)
3. Loui Eriksson, BOS 388 (10-12-22-27-13)
4. Johnny Gaudreau, CGY 371 (17-19-6-10-8)
5. Ryan O’Reilly, BUF 270 (10-12-11-7-10)
6. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 248 (6-13-9-15-7)
7. Tyler Seguin, DAL 222 (1-11-19-10-10)
8. Patrick Marleau, SJS 200 (9-5-12-2-9)
9. Joe Pavelski, SJS 87 (3-0-4-10-7)
10. Jaromir Jagr, FLA 52 (3-1-2-1-2)
11. Frans Nielsen, NYI 52 (2-0-3-3-8)
12. Matt Cullen, PIT 51 (3-3-0-0-0)
13. Evgeny Kuznetsov, WSH 50 (0-2-4-4-4)
14. Sean Monahan, CGY 46 (1-1-1-6-6)
15. Jared Spurgeon, MIN 42 (3-0-1-2-1)
16. Sam Reinhart, BUF 38 (0-3-2-1-4)
17. Brandon Saad, CBJ 30 (0-2-1-2-5)
18. Patrick Kane, CHI 29 (1-0-3-0-4)
19. Alexander Wennberg, CBJ 26 (0-1-2-2-3)
20. Joe Thornton, SJS 25 (2-0-0-1-2)


Lady Byng Trophy Winners Since 1990


Year Winner Runner-up
2016 Anze Kopitar, L.A. Aleksander Barkov, Fla.
2015 Jiri Hudler, Cgy. Pavel Datsyuk, Det.
2014 Ryan O’Reilly, Col. Martin St. Louis, NYR
2013 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Patrick Kane, Chi.
2012 Brian Campbell, Fla. Jordan Eberle, Edm.
2011 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
2010 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Brad Richards, Dal.
2009 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Martin St. Louis, T.B.
2008 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Martin St. Louis, T.B.
2007 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Martin St. Louis, T.B.
2006 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Brad Richards, T.B.
2004 Brad Richards, T.B. Daniel Alfredsson, Ott.
2003 Alex. Mogilny, Tor. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
2002 Ron Francis, Car. Joe Sakic, Col.
2001 Joe Sakic, Col. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
2000 Pavol Demitra, St.L Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
1999 Wayne Gretzky, NYR Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.
1998 Ron Francis, Pit. Teemu Selanne, Ana.
1997 Paul Kariya, Ana. Teemu Selanne, Ana.
1996 Paul Kariya, Ana. Adam Oates, Bos.
1995 Ron Francis, Pit. Adam Oates, Bos.
1994 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Adam Oates, Bos.
1993 Pierre Turgeon, NYI Adam Oates, Bos.
1992 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Joe Sakic, Que.
1991 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Brett Hull, St.L
1990 Brett Hull, St.L Wayne Gretzky, L.A.

Filed in: NHL Teams, Los Angeles Kings, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: anze+kopitar


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com