Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Will Rinaldo Be Suspended?

via NHL.com,

Philadelphia Flyers forward Zac Rinaldo faces an afternoon hearing with the Department of Player Safety on Monday to discuss the charging minor he was assessed for hitting Detroit’s Jonathan Ericsson at the 13:32 mark of the first period in Detroit’s 4-3 victory Sunday night at Joe Louis Arena.

Watch the hit…

added 12:35pm, Added another video, one with multiple views…

Filed in: NHL Teams, Detroit Red Wings, Philadelphia Flyers, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: jonathan+ericsson, zac+rinaldo

Comments

Avatar

Suspended for what? Doesn’t appear he targeted the head, didn’t ram him into the boards…

Posted by Eric H. on 02/13/12 at 11:47 AM ET

phillyd's avatar

Only if Kronwall gets suspended for leaving his feet on Briere and then sticking his leg out on Simmonds. Rinaldo’s was a BS penalty call to begin with let alone suspension worthy.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 02/13/12 at 11:53 AM ET

Avatar

Posted by Eric H. on 02/13/12 at 08:47 AM ET

The reason they called it a charge can be seen starting at 0:21 of the video.  It’s clear Rinaldo is targeting Ericsson from way out past the faceoff circles, increasing his speed in an effort to create a massive hit behind the net.  It’s the charging, not targeting the head or boarding, that people are calling into question here.

It does seem that his only intent was to cause as much damage as possible with that hit, although I’m not quite sure if a suspension is warranted.  It’s definitely an unsafe hit, one that could have resulted in an injury had Ericsson, at 6’5”, been a much smaller player, say Jiri Hudler.  I’m not sure if Hudler would have been able to come out of that type of hit without a concussion, and I’d like to see if Ericsson actually underwent any concussion tests, too.

Posted by BuzzFledderjohn on 02/13/12 at 11:54 AM ET

christpuncher's avatar

Maybe for charging? Can A guy get supplemental for that?

Posted by christpuncher from Detroit, MI on 02/13/12 at 11:54 AM ET

Avatar

Posted by phillyd from New Jersey on 02/13/12 at 08:53 AM ET

Ah boo, ah hoo, ah hoo…

Posted by Garth on 02/13/12 at 11:57 AM ET

Primis's avatar

Only if Kronwall gets suspended for leaving his feet on Briere

He didn’t.

and then sticking his leg out on Simmonds.

He didn’t.

Rinaldo’s was a BS penalty call to begin with let alone suspension worthy.

Posted by phillyd from New Jersey on 02/13/12 at 08:53 AM ET

Aaaaaand strike three, you’re an idiot.

Posted by Primis on 02/13/12 at 12:01 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

This hit looked a lot worse last night.  It’s definitely charging and Rinaldo definitely targets him high.  But, his feet stay in contact with the ice and the contact is shoulder-to-shoulder.

I guess everybody gets a break because Ericsson is that much taller than Rinaldo.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 02/13/12 at 12:01 PM ET

Evilpens's avatar

he is the Punk that concussed Robert Bortuzzo of the Pens with a flying elbow & no Penalty or fine

Posted by Evilpens on 02/13/12 at 12:04 PM ET

phillyd's avatar

Sorry Garth, he did on both accounts, especially the Briere one. There was a hit by the Flyers on the Detroit PP for the Rinaldo penalty that was much worse then the one above and should’ve been called but wasn’t so I guess that was the Flyers break.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 02/13/12 at 12:07 PM ET

Chris in Hockey Hell's avatar

Meh, they’ll probably throw out that $2500 fine and call it a day.

Posted by Chris in Hockey Hell from Ann Arbor, MI but LIVING in Columbia, TN on 02/13/12 at 12:11 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

Sorry Garth, he did on both accounts, especially the Briere one.

The difference is leaving your feet prior to contact versus leaving your feet as a result of contact.

Kronwall did the second thing, and that is actually legal.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 02/13/12 at 12:13 PM ET

MOWingsfan19's avatar

The difference is leaving your feet prior to contact versus leaving your feet as a result of contact

Ding, ding.

Posted by MOWingsfan19 from I really like our team on 02/13/12 at 12:22 PM ET

phillyd's avatar

Wrong, go to the 9 second mark of this clip,
http://video.redwings.nhl.com/videocenter/console?catid=-6&id=157236

Leaves his feet before making contact.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 02/13/12 at 12:26 PM ET

42jeff's avatar

I’d like to see if Ericsson actually underwent any concussion tests, too.
Posted by BuzzFledderjohn on 02/13/12 at 08:54 AM ET

You clearly haven’t watched much of Ericsson’s play…they would come out inconclusive.

Posted by 42jeff from The greater Howard City, MI metroplex on 02/13/12 at 12:30 PM ET

Nathan's avatar

Sorry Garth, he did on both accounts, especially the Briere one. There was a hit by the Flyers on the Detroit PP for the Rinaldo penalty that was much worse then the one above and should’ve been called but wasn’t so I guess that was the Flyers break.

Posted by phillyd from New Jersey on 02/13/12 at 09:07 AM ET

Can I haz evidence?

Kronwall turned around and backed into Briere with his ass. After a borderline hit earlier in the season where he his shoulder and forearm did come up, he’s since changed his style and is hitting guys in these spots by rotating his body all the way around so his arms and stick simply aren’t facing the play.

I will admit that under the Colin Campbell Wheel of Justice, Kronwall probably skirted one or two hits that should’ve at least been fines, and maybe a game. But mistakes in the past don’t mean that clean future hits can be punished, otherwise we’d all be yelling for Rinaldo to be suspended right now. And I think most of us think that the penalty was a justified call for charging, but that anything supplemental is borderline at best.

Posted by Nathan from the scoresheet! on 02/13/12 at 12:30 PM ET

HockeytownOverhaul's avatar

Your poor fluffy cute lil’ flyers got bullied by the big bad Red Wings, huh?  Those dirty dirty Red Wings


Sure, if that’s what you’re sellin’ I’ll buy it

Posted by HockeytownOverhaul on 02/13/12 at 12:54 PM ET

bezukov's avatar

If you’re going to give Rinaldo supplemental discipline for that hit than you should probably get Kronwall in on that conference call for his hit on Briere.  The only major difference between the two hits was the location on the ice.  The location where Rinaldo chose to throw that hit was dangerous, and he was penalized for it.

I also think there is something to be said in Rinaldo’s defense, in that the force of his hit threw Ericsson mostly down and away from the boards.  There are a number of ways that he could have drilled Ericsson into next season and he didn’t.  There was charging, it was penalized, and I’m fine with that.  Otherwise the hit was clean and supplemental discipline is inappropriate.

Posted by bezukov from the kids are alright. on 02/13/12 at 01:07 PM ET

Avatar

Sorry Garth, he did on both accounts

It would be so wonderful if people realized there is a difference between leaving your feet to make a hit and leaving your feet when the momentum of a clean hit lifts you off your feet.

Posted by Garth on 02/13/12 at 01:20 PM ET

HockeytownOverhaul's avatar

Posted by Garth on 02/13/12 at 10:20 AM ET


+19

Posted by HockeytownOverhaul on 02/13/12 at 01:28 PM ET

Avatar

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 02/13/12 at 09:13 AM ET

  Might as well give up on this one J.J. I’ve been trying to point this obvious distinction out to Kronwall haters for years now. Quite simply it’s embarrassment and jealousy. Nobody likes seeing their favorite teams get owned and humiliated at the same time. Their whining is annoying but understandable. I’d still like to take baseball bat to Scott Stevens head for that hit on kozlov in 95.

Posted by From The Hockey Wastelands from Cleveland on 02/13/12 at 02:01 PM ET

Avatar


Sorry I disagree he left his feet. At 9 seconds he did, but at contact he did not.

Proof attached.

Posted by Stephen Brooks from United States on 02/13/12 at 02:08 PM ET

mrfluffy's avatar

Heaven forbid a European hits like Scott Stevens.

Posted by mrfluffy from A wide spot on I-90 in Montana on 02/13/12 at 02:18 PM ET

mrfluffy's avatar

Posted by Stephen Brooks from United States on 02/13/12 at 11:08 AM ET

Whoa an image!

Of blur!

What the heck is that supposed to be?

Posted by mrfluffy from A wide spot on I-90 in Montana on 02/13/12 at 02:19 PM ET

Avatar

Feet on ground. HIm hitting the opposition.

I was going to try harder but it was a bang bang hit.

Posted by Stephen Brooks from United States on 02/13/12 at 02:20 PM ET

Flashtastick56's avatar

he is the Punk that concussed Robert Bortuzzo of the Pens with a flying elbow & no Penalty or fine

Posted by Evilpens on 02/13/12 at 09:04 AM ET

I thought it was Read who hit Bortuzzo?

Posted by Flashtastick56 from Meriden, CT on 02/13/12 at 02:34 PM ET

Avatar

Doesn’t appear he targeted the head

He did target it, it was just to high for him to reach. smile

I don’t know why its so difficult to explain the difference between a hit like Rinaldo’s and Kronwall’s.

Rinaldo is clearly driving upward and trying to deliver a high hit on Ericsson, well after the puck is gone, while the player is obviously vulnerable, and when he had the opportunity to avoid the hit. 

Kronwall is clearly delivering a hit square on the Brier’s body while the puck is there.

I don’t care if Kronwalls skate comes off the ice.  He is not trying to drive the hit to the upper body of the opponent like Rinaldo clearly is. That is what makes it Charging.

I think Kronwall takes a little hop as he’s bracing for impact.  But this one, and the hit in Vancouver a couple weeks ago, hes not elevating at or through the point of contact.  If anything, hes coming back down as he hits them.

Posted by jwad on 02/13/12 at 02:43 PM ET

DrewBehr's avatar

It was a charge, he was penalized in the game, and that should be it. I’d be incredibly surprised if a suspension came from this.

Posted by DrewBehr from The Mitten on 02/13/12 at 03:40 PM ET

Da lil Guy's avatar

Questionable penalty; let alone suspension.

Posted by Da lil Guy from Guelph, Ontario on 02/13/12 at 04:00 PM ET

Avatar

I assume this is a “quit showing up on videotapes that get sent to my office” hearing. If Rinaldo needed to sit for anything he did this year, it aint this.

Posted by larry from pitt on 02/13/12 at 04:15 PM ET

Avatar

The Rinaldo hit was if anything a little late. Nothing more. He did his time.

The Kronwall hit was, well just that, a Kronwall hit. Only one - on Kesler - may have been deemed illegal, but even Kesler said it was clean. All of these Kronwall haters cry fuching wolf anytime he throws one of these down, but you never hear a word from the opposing players.

Posted by Jesters Dead on 02/13/12 at 06:34 PM ET

tuxedoTshirt's avatar

It would be so wonderful if people realized there is a difference between leaving your feet to make a hit and leaving your feet when the momentum of a clean hit lifts you off your feet.

Posted by Garth on 02/13/12 at 10:20 AM ET

Your guys’ homer goggles are completely over the top.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with the Rinaldo hit - other than the fact that Ericsson should keep his head up.  I don’t have a clip of the wind-up, but he comes in gliding at a reasonable speed. 
And Kronwall left his feet like he always does.  The idea that Briere popped him up in the air on impact, is pathetic.  That blurry photo is a joke compared to the actual video, where you can see exactly when he leaps.  Absolute patheticness.  You cry over every hook in every game, and you just can’t admit that your big hitter walks the dirty line.  Outrageous.  I’m on your side and it embarasses me when i read this shit.  Laughable.  That Rinaldo hit is about as soft as they come.  And you got a PP on it. 
Funny no one’s talking about the penalty shot that Simmonds should have been awarded in the last 2 minutes.
Just admit that Kronner deserves a lot more charging calls than he gets, and stop crying every time there’s a little pick out there, and your credibility will vastly improve.  The only legit gripe you have are Homer’s reputation calls - 90% of them are unfair.

Posted by tuxedoTshirt from the Home of the 1937 World Champions on 02/13/12 at 08:36 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

And Kronwall left his feet like he always does.

I’m going to go with the fact that Kronwall has never been disciplined on a hit like this to show that the homer goggles comment is dumb.

Take off your away-er goggles and realize that Kronwall hits clean, you whiners.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 02/13/12 at 09:07 PM ET

NIVO's avatar

doesnt matter now. Tic-Tac-Toe wins the game

Posted by NIVO from underpants gnome village on 02/13/12 at 09:08 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

I’d like the league to look at this if only to clearly say what is clean, what isn’t clean and what can be disciplined appropriately with 2 mins in the box.


And Jeff - I ROFL’d at your Ericsson comment. Inconclusive indeed!

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 02/13/12 at 09:18 PM ET

Alzy's avatar

And Kronwall left his feet like he always does.  The idea that Briere popped him up in the air on impact, is pathetic.  That blurry photo is a joke compared to the actual video, where you can see exactly when he leaps.  Absolute patheticness. 

Kronwall leaped into Briere? Really? Really? Steve Downie leaped into Dean McCammond. Kronwall’s skates, if they come off the ice at all, are maybe half a foot off the ground. That’s not “leaping.” And yes, it is definitely possible for the impact to make Kronwall come off the ice just a bit, because he’s turning his body completely around and hitting with his back/butt. The impact for Kronwall is like getting you’re legs taken out from under you, but because he knows it’s coming, he can maintain his balance most of the time.

You cry over every hook in every game, and you just can’t admit that your big hitter walks the dirty line.  Outrageous.

We “cry,” because hooking is, you know, A PENALTY! And yes, it’s a penalty when a Red Wing does it too. I personally would prefer the game to be officiated by the rules that are currently in place, for the entire 60 minutes of every game, every season. Not for the first month of the season and then forgotten about.

That Rinaldo hit is about as soft as they come.  And you got a PP on it.

I personally don’t think a suspension is warranted for the Rinaldo hit, but to argue that it’s not charging is laughable. He comes from the high slot to hit Ericsson, who is behind the net.
 
Funny no one’s talking about the penalty shot that Simmonds should have been awarded in the last 2 minutes.

Since when is muscling someone off the puck when they’re on a breakaway a penalty shot? Ericsson didn’t hook Simmonds, didn’t hold him, didn’t trip him. He just skated right into Simmonds and pretty much shoved him aside. Simmonds should feel embarrassed for being muscled off the puck by Jonathan fuching Ericsson.

Just admit that Kronner deserves a lot more charging calls than he gets, and stop crying every time there’s a little pick out there, and your credibility will vastly improve.  The only legit gripe you have are Homer’s reputation calls - 90% of them are unfair.

We will admit Kronwall deserves a charging call when he actually commits charging. And I won’t stop “crying” over a little pick, because it’s INTERFERENCE. And yes, it is when the Wings do it too.

Posted by Alzy from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada on 02/13/12 at 09:55 PM ET

Alzy's avatar

To add about the Rinaldo hit: you can also see him bend his knees slightly before jumping into Ericsson. So it’s also charging in that regard.

Posted by Alzy from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada on 02/13/12 at 09:58 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

Rinaldo suspended two games.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 02/13/12 at 10:20 PM ET

Avatar

Funny no one’s talking about the penalty shot that Simmonds should have been awarded in the last 2 minutes.

Posted by tuxedoTshirt from Victoria on 02/13/12 at 05:36 PM ET

  The ref did not call a penalty because Simmonds was three feet offsides and the linesman blew the call. Watch Simmonds and the ref talking immediately after the play. You can clearly see Simmonds say “I thought it was off sides too”  to the ref. Oh and it’s you who loses credibility when you let anger or hatred blind you to reality.

Posted by From The Hockey Wastelands from Cleveland on 02/13/12 at 10:54 PM ET

Evilpens's avatar

@Flashtastick56 I think it was Rinaldo

Posted by Evilpens on 02/13/12 at 11:40 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image