Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

What A Save - Not

from Lightning Strikes,

The only rule applicable to what occurred in Thursday night’s game is 26-4, which states that a goal will be awarded when, during a penalty shot, a shot is disrupted by a deliberately thrown stick. That is what the officials had to determine. They obviously determined Lightning goaltender Mike Smith threw his stick on Milan Hejduk’s shootout attempt. That gave the Avalanche a 1-0 win in the shootout and a 2-1 win in the game.

continued and you decide by watching the video.  This call is not reviewable, so instant reply was not used in the decision process.

from Adrian Dater of All Thing Avs,

I think it was a bad call, that Smith just dropped his stick after making a kinda-sorta save on Hedgie’s initial attempt.

read on

Filed in: NHL Teams, Colorado Avalanche, Tampa Bay Lightning, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: mike+smith

Comments

Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image