Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Pronger Pulls An Avery

Not much video of this play yet, but scroll to the 4:30 mark and you will see Pronger wave his glove in front of the face of Kiprusoff.  The Flyers scored on the play in OT, but goal waived off and Pronger received 2 minutes for unsportsmanlike conduct.

added 5:07pm, Now a much better video of the play in question.

 

added 4:58pm, Pronger talks about the play, watch the video below…

added 5:10pm, The Flyers broadcasting view of the play is the 2nd video below…

 

Filed in: NHL Teams, Calgary Flames, Philadelphia Flyers, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: chris+pronger

Comments

phillyd's avatar

My bigger problem is the ref is looking at it and never raises his arm or does anything until the puck is in the net. If they were going to call a penalty, it should have been called long before that shot was taken.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 11/26/10 at 08:42 PM ET

pensfan29's avatar

He did it less than a second before the puck went in. Who says the ref wasnt in the process of blowing his whistle?

Posted by pensfan29 on 11/26/10 at 09:00 PM ET

Alan's avatar

He did it less than a second before the puck went in.

I’m no Flyers fan or anything, but your unit of measurement is a bit off. Pronger threw the hand, and the refs didn’t seem to have a problem with it until the puck went in, which is at least two seconds. That’s plenty of time for the ref to blow the whistle.

Posted by Alan from Atlanta on 11/26/10 at 09:14 PM ET

phillyd's avatar

It was also plenty of time for Kipper to slash his legs.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 11/26/10 at 09:15 PM ET

Avatar

The “Sean Avery Rule” States

“An unsportsmanlike conduct minor penalty (Rule 75) will be interpreted and applied, effective immediately, to a situation when an offensive player positions himself facing the opposition goaltender and engages in actions such as waving his arms or stick in front of the goaltender’s face, for the purpose of improperly interfering with and/or distracting the goaltender as opposed to positioning himself to try to make a play.”

So what Pronger was doing wasn’t a violation of this….

Also twenty years ago, they didn’t need a rule for this, if you did this to the opposing teams goaltender some one was going to take you out…  Now we have all of these “instigating” and no clearing the benches for a fight rules…

Posted by wingsnut25 from Cheboygan, MI on 11/26/10 at 09:22 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

If that’s a penalty (and it is), then the ref needs to blow it when he sees it, not when he sees it make a difference.

I’m going to assume that Pronger was intentionally trying to distract Kiprusoff, but I’m also going to assume that the ref was going to let it slide until he saw the goal scored.  It’s a penalty or it’s not a penalty; nowhere in the rulebook does it say anything about it only being a penalty when a goal is scored.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 11/26/10 at 09:28 PM ET

Avatar

It was also plenty of time for Kipper to slash his legs.

In fact, by slashing Pronger he puts him self slightly out of position to stop the puck, by the time he resets him self its too late and the puck has already been shot.  By the time he picks up on the puck coming at him, its in the net.

Posted by wingsnut25 from Cheboygan, MI on 11/26/10 at 09:34 PM ET

Evilpens's avatar

A Douchebag & Bad Officiating !!! That pretty much is standard NHL fare  


Should have been called, The fact that an incompetent Ref didn’t call it when it happened doesn’t make it right

Posted by Evilpens on 11/26/10 at 09:39 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

shitty call on a shitty sasquatch.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 11/26/10 at 11:49 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

It’s insanely stupid that this botched call cost Philly the game. There’s no way Calgary should have gotten this extra point.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 11/27/10 at 01:27 AM ET

PaulinMiamiBeach's avatar

So what Pronger was doing wasn’t a violation of this….

he violated the “spirit of the rule.”

Posted by PaulinMiamiBeach on 11/27/10 at 02:28 AM ET

Nate A's avatar

he violated the “spirit of the rule.”

Silly PaulinMiami, that only applies when the NHL wants it to apply. Like when teams are “circumventing the cap” by following exactly what it says in the CBA.

That nonsense should’ve been called immediately. No waiting around to see what happens. This isn’t accidental contact of Homer’s shadow with the blue paint area leading to goaltender interference.

Posted by Nate A from Detroit-ish on 11/27/10 at 04:21 AM ET

perfection's avatar

if Pronger is unhappy, I am happy…

and that’s my only conclusion.

Posted by perfection from LaLaLand on 11/27/10 at 05:07 AM ET

Navarath's avatar

i know we have what campbell said at the presser when they instituted this stupid rule, but does anyone have a copy of he actual rule?  If the rule says the player must be facing the goalie, then I do have an issue with this call.

Posted by Navarath on 11/28/10 at 03:48 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image