Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Ducks Goaltender Takes Shot To The Mask, Sedin Goal Follows

Correct call?

via Eric Stephens of the OC Register,

McElhinney suffered a cut on his forehead and flew with the team home to Anaheim. But Carlyle was incensed that the whistle wasn’t blown when his goalie, who was bleeding profusely, went to the ice.

“What’s the call when a goalie gets hit in the mask with a slapshot?” Carlyle asked aloud. “If it’s happening to the Canucks, what would you be saying? You’d be saying they should have blown the whistle.”

Filed in: NHL Teams, Anaheim Ducks, Vancouver Canucks, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: curtis+mcelhinney, daniel+sedin


mmuskrat's avatar


Posted by mmuskrat on 12/09/10 at 11:10 AM ET

Primis's avatar

Stephens is correct.  There *is* precedent for this sort of thing.

Goal should not have been allowed.

Posted by Primis on 12/09/10 at 12:22 PM ET


Using the timer on the video, 2 seconds elapses from the time the shot is taken, to the time rebound goes in. (the second angle shown it takes 3 seconds)  A referee wouldn’t be blowing the play dead because of an injury that quickly.

The only precedent I know of, is if the goaltenders mask comes off, the referee is supposed to blow the play dead immediately. 

McElhinney, has not even fully hit the ground by the time the puck is in the net.

Posted by wingsnut25 on 12/09/10 at 12:51 PM ET

Primis's avatar

Posted by wingsnut25 on 12/09/10 at 09:51 AM ET

Goalies have gone down from a shot to the mask and play has been immediately blown dead, numerous times over the past few years.  Even if the whistle wouldn’t have gone off in time then, there’s of course the dreaded “intent to blow” rule that would disallow the goal.

Honestly, regardless of how quickly it happened the “intent to blow” rule should wash out that goal.

Posted by Primis on 12/09/10 at 01:03 PM ET

Flashtastick56's avatar

Posted by Primis on 12/09/10 at 10:03 AM ET

Completely agree.

With both you and Carlyle.  I’m pretty sure I’ve seen goalies get hit in the mask and play be blown dead immediately afterwards at least once before, also.  And even if they didn’t blow it dead at the time, there’s always the “intent to blow” rule.

Certainly couldn’t have said it better myself.

Posted by Flashtastick56 from Meriden, CT on 12/09/10 at 01:15 PM ET


The referee shouldn’t immediately blow the whistle because a goalie got hit in the mask,  99% of shots to the mask the goalie is fine, so the referee would not necessarily be suspecting that he was hurt…

I realize when we start talking intent to blow, it all becomes hypothetical,  (which is why the intent to blow rule needs to go)  But, did the ref have intent to blow the whistle? Did the ref even know that McElhinney was hurt?  If the ref doesn’t know that he is hurt until after the goal went in, their is no intent to blow…  The ref shouldn’t assume that McElhinney was hurt just because the puck hit his mask.  ..

Posted by wingsnut25 on 12/09/10 at 01:41 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

This year, quick whistles are more the rule. I’m surprised this play went on.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 12/09/10 at 01:46 PM ET

Osrt's avatar

The ref shouldn’t assume that McElhinney was hurt just because the puck hit his mask.  ..

Posted by wingsnut25

That’s exactly what they should assume.

Should not have been a goal. Hope McElhinney is ok.

Posted by Osrt on 12/09/10 at 02:17 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

The call wasn’t good, but that CHI-DAL game was called much worse. Check out the Mark Crawford mini-melt down. I feel for that guy. He’s right.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 12/09/10 at 03:14 PM ET

MarkK's avatar

Not sure how I feel about an immediate whistle after a puck to the mask.  Made the mistake of reading Carlyle’s comments before watching the video; in my head McElhinney lies bleeding to death while the canucks play keepaway for a minute before burying the puck on an empty net.  In reality, the puck was in the net before the goalie was even horizontal.

Did the refs know he was hurt? Probably not.  I would say they might not even know it hit him in the mask.  Intent to blow should rule the day if there was an intent, but I’m not convinced one way or the other that there should be one that quickly.

Posted by MarkK from Maryland on 12/09/10 at 03:47 PM ET

blammo's avatar

Why speculate? Here the rules:

Rule 8.1: When a player is injured so that he cannot continue play or go to his bench, the play shall not be stopped until the injured player’s team has secured possession of the puck. If the player’s team is in possession of the puck at the time of injury, play shall be stopped immediately unless his team is in a scoring position. In the case where it is obvious that a player has sustained a serious injury, the Referee and/or Linesman may stop the play immediately.

Rule 22: When a goalkeeper has lost his helmet and/or face mask and his Team has possession of the puck, the play shall be stopped immediately to allow the goalkeeper the opportunity to regain his helmet and/or face mask. When the opposing Team has possession of the puck, play shall only be stopped if there is no immediate and impending scoring opportunity. This stoppage of play must be made by the Referee. When play is stopped in the defending zone because the goalkeeper has lost his helmet and/or face mask, the ensuing face-off shall take place at one of the defending Team’s end zone faceoff spots.

Good call. Goal stands

Posted by blammo from Vancouver, BC on 12/09/10 at 04:47 PM ET

SYF's avatar

Goal stands, as it should.  Unfortunate for McIhenny (and I truly wish him good health and a speedy return) that he got hurt.

Posted by SYF from impossible and oddly communally possessive sluts on 12/09/10 at 05:21 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

You have the rulebook, then you have precedence. If the league routinely calls one way, regardless of what’s in the books, that becomes the expectation. Based on how they have called this same thing, Crylyle has a legit beef with the officials. The goal should count, but if there were consistency, the whistle would have gone immediately after the puck hit his head.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 12/09/10 at 06:00 PM ET


The goal should count, but if there were consistency, the whistle would have gone immediately after the puck hit his head.

Only if the referee was aware that he was hurt…  Again its not uncommon for a goalie to get hit in the mask, and we cant have play being stopped just because the puck hit his mask…

Posted by wingsnut25 on 12/09/10 at 06:54 PM ET


Bang bang play.  To say the ref’s should have done this or that is ridiculous.  Move on.

Posted by CallMeJerry on 12/10/10 at 01:41 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com