Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Dominic Moore With the Game Winner?

You decide…

Filed in: NHL Teams, Florida Panthers, Tampa Bay Lightning, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: dominic+moore

Comments

cephalopod's avatar

Good call…the puck never left his stick, even though Vokoun’s pad got it.

Posted by cephalopod from Chicago...nope, still not over it. on 01/22/11 at 03:26 AM ET

Nate A's avatar

Tough call, but I’m ok with it being a good goal.

Posted by Nate A from Detroit-ish on 01/22/11 at 03:50 AM ET

Itrusteddrrahmani's avatar

even though his stick is still on it, isn’t it a bit like pushing the pad into the net? I mean, after the puck contacted the pad, it looks like it would have redirected away from the goal-line, but for Moore’s stick being there and pushing it past his pad…...tough call, I dont think it should’ve been called a goal, but I can easily see why you wouldn’t want to overturn the call on the ice.

Posted by Itrusteddrrahmani from Nyc by way of A2 on 01/22/11 at 04:52 AM ET

Tuba Guy's avatar

That should not be a goal. After the puck hits Vokoun’s pad, Moore’s stick slightly swipes at the puck causing the redirection into the goal.

Posted by Tuba Guy from Royal Oak, MI on 01/22/11 at 10:50 AM ET

Avatar

The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete.

I think Vokoun stops it, if only for a millisecond. And isn’t any shot that contacts the goalie by definition a rebound?

Did Tallon beat out Murphy for the Panthers GM job?

Posted by shep on 01/22/11 at 11:37 AM ET

WingMan's avatar

Though I love goals, this should not be one.  Clearly a second propulsion of the puck after it hits Vokoun’s pad.  How did the “office” miss this one?  Perhaps watching a re-run of all the bad calls against the Kings over the past year?  lol I kid…  but seriously no goal!

Posted by WingMan from The Q C on 01/22/11 at 12:23 PM ET

Nate A's avatar

Clearly a second propulsion of the puck after it hits Vokoun’s pad.

Is there any allowance or precedent for a “double touch” on a single motion shot? kinda like in tennis a double hit is allowable if its one continuous motion.

Posted by Nate A from Detroit-ish on 01/22/11 at 03:17 PM ET

Tuba Guy's avatar

I’m torn. Not sure if in convinced that there was one or two taps.

Posted by Tuba Guy from Royal Oak, MI on 01/22/11 at 04:32 PM ET

Tuba Guy's avatar

I mean motions

Posted by Tuba Guy from Royal Oak, MI on 01/22/11 at 04:32 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image