Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- You Make The Call Boston/Toronto

Call on th ice stands, good goal.

The Leafs just won 2-1 and lead the series 3-2.

added 10:18pm, Below, read the NHL explanation.

 

Filed in: NHL Teams, Boston Bruins, Toronto Maple Leafs, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

w2j2's avatar

Interference.  No goal.  Homer officials made a bad call, giving the game to the Laughs.

Posted by w2j2 on 04/19/19 at 09:56 PM ET

Paul's avatar

Many hockey types and those on HNIC agree with you w2j2.

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 04/19/19 at 10:04 PM ET

Avatar

This was a terrible miss by the “Situation Room”. Hyman doesn’t bump Rask, Rask makes it in time to stop the shot.

Posted by Iggy_Rules_JR on 04/19/19 at 10:40 PM ET

HaHasek's avatar

If video replay means anything, this and the call in the Flames games should be the same call. But, they’re different calls and the NHL should just get rid of reviews.

Posted by HaHasek on 04/20/19 at 12:23 AM ET

Avatar

Can someone remind me - is it still interference if forward was pushed into goalie? I see forward getting crosschecked into ice and then when he stood up again pushed backwards by defender (with his but). Could he have stood his ground? Impossible to judge based on the replay.

Posted by Davor on 04/20/19 at 05:04 AM ET

Gary A$$ SUCK !!'s avatar

clearly a goaltender interference.. Just give the lord stanley Cup to the laughs and get it over with.

Posted by Gary A$$ SUCK !! from Fort Myers, Florida on 04/20/19 at 07:00 AM ET

Hootinani's avatar

Toronto Situation Room makes call that gives Toronto team a goal and the lead.

Seems legit.

Posted by Hootinani from the parade following Babs out of town on 04/20/19 at 09:50 AM ET

ilovehomers's avatar

Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact. The rule will be enforced exclusively in accordance with the on-ice judgement of the Referee(s), but may be subject to a Coach’s Challenge (see Rule 78.7).

If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the
attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.

 

Posted by ilovehomers on 04/20/19 at 10:35 AM ET

Red Winger's avatar

If this wasn’t goalie interference then I don’t know what goalie interference is.

For the league’s sake I hope the Toronto natives who work in the Situation Room didn’t have their Leafs apparel on.

Posted by Red Winger from Sault Ste Marie, MI on 04/20/19 at 12:59 PM ET

damndog revenge   From the bowels of Detroit's avatar

I didn’t see where Hyman got pushed into the goalie (there’s a bad pun in that somewhere).

Bad call for sure.

Posted by damndog revenge From the bowels of Detroit on 04/20/19 at 01:04 PM ET

damndog revenge   From the bowels of Detroit's avatar

then when he stood up again pushed backwards by defender (with his but). Could he have stood his ground? Impossible to judge based on the replay.

Posted by Davor on 04/20/19 at 05:04 AM

Sorry Davor I do not see the defender using his ass to push Hyman into Raask. Maybe you should turn a different Leaf with your conviction. wink

Posted by damndog revenge From the bowels of Detroit on 04/20/19 at 01:22 PM ET

Avatar

Huh, nobody whined when the refs gave Game 2 to th Bruins, but suddenly all pissy-pants come out when one call goes the Leafs’ way.

Posted by CharDeeMacDennis on 04/20/19 at 02:41 PM ET

Red Winger's avatar

Posted by CharDeeMacDennis on 04/20/19 at 02:41 PM ET

That’s because the refs never gave the game to the Bruins.

Your hero Babs needs all the help he can get. Sorry, Char Dee wink

Posted by Red Winger from Sault Ste Marie, MI on 04/20/19 at 06:06 PM ET

bigfrog's avatar

For the league’s sake I hope the Toronto natives who work in the Situation Room didn’t have their Leafs apparel on.

They did. confused

Posted by bigfrog on 04/20/19 at 07:50 PM ET

Avatar

Sorry Davor I do not see the defender using his ass to push Hyman into Raask. Maybe you should turn a different Leaf with your conviction. wink

Posted by damndog revenge From the bowels of Detroit on 04/20/19 at 01:22 PM ET

Actually, I’m not Leafs fan. In the video above at 0.20 you can see that Hyman is getting on his feet after crosscheck by 33 and 73 backs into him. Is it enough to push him into goalie? For fully dug in NHL player it shouldn’t be, but Hyman didn’t have his balance yet. I would say it’s ref’s call and review can’t reverse it whatever the call is.

 

Posted by Davor on 04/21/19 at 03:12 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com