Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- The Jamie Benn Penalty In Overtime

from Mike Heika of the Dallas Stars website,

This has been a special teams series, and the Lightning are winning hands down.

Dallas is 1-for-14 on the power play so far. Tampa Bay is 6-for-15. The Lightning scored three times with the man advantage on Friday, the Stars went 0-for-3. That's a big reason why the Lightning took a huge 3-1 lead in the best-of-seven series.

"Our power play had a chance to end the game and they didn't get it done, simple as that," Stars interim coach Rick Bowness said of a 4-on-3 power play in overtime for Dallas.

Of course, the timing of the penalty on Benn is significant because of how it changed the series. Benn appears to never touch the skates of Tyler Johnson and just wrestled him to the ground, which would mean there was no tripping.

"I saw two guys going for a loose puck, their guy hooking our guy and our guy trying to fight through the hook," Bowness said. "There were two guys going for a loose puck. That's a hockey play. That's what I saw."

Joe Pavelski, who scored two goals in the game, said the penalty came at a frustrating time.

"Jamie breathes on him and the guy falls over," Pavelski said. "Whether that's the case or not, there's a little battle going on there. Playoffs, it's overtime, we expect 5 on 5. We expect to battle it out."

more

Watch the breakdown of the tripping penalty below.

Filed in: NHL Teams, Dallas Stars, Tampa Bay Lightning, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

ilovehomers's avatar

imo, good penalty call

Posted by ilovehomers on 09/26/20 at 10:19 AM ET

NHLJeff's avatar

Definitely looks like a penalty. Maybe more holding or even interference vs. tripping but deserved 2 mins.

Posted by NHLJeff from Pens fan in Denver on 09/26/20 at 10:52 AM ET

Avatar

That stuff right there is why Benn will never win.  He could be what draisatle is turning into but he wont be.  Hell be another Joe Thornton, just not as good.

Posted by ThatGuy on 09/26/20 at 11:16 AM ET

Alan's avatar

I have to agree with the video. The violation itself that was called was wrong, but the fact a penalty was called was 100 percent correct.

Posted by Alan from Atlanta on 09/26/20 at 02:18 PM ET

OlderThanChelios's avatar

Let’s not forget that the Stars got a 4-on-4 after the ref called Point for embellishment when he actually went down because Corey “The Prick” Perry speared him in the nuts from behind. So the refs aren’t always perfect.

The only thing you can really count on is The Prick being a giant prick.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 09/26/20 at 03:30 PM ET

SYF's avatar

Let’s not forget that the Stars got a 4-on-4 after the ref called Point for embellishment when he actually went down because Corey “The Prick” Perry speared him in the nuts from behind. So the refs aren’t always perfect.

The only thing you can really count on is The Prick being a giant prick.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 09/26/20 at 03:30 PM ET

Even the announcers were in disbelief that Point was called for an embellishment.  They were all over the egregious call.

-Fresh sheet of ice (check).
-Start the OT on a PP (check).
-5-on-3 opportunity for 50 seconds (check).
-“Momentum” on their side (check).
-Scored a goal (FAIL).

Benn was in Vasi’s face for the whole two-man advantage and his team barely got the shot through for him to do any kind of damage.

Just shut up, Benn.

Posted by SYF from impossible and oddly communally possessive sluts on 09/26/20 at 04:29 PM ET

Rumbear's avatar

It was interesting to listen to them not say Perry speared him in the nards.

“Stick to the abdomen”....well, I guess if you jam it hard enough the reproductive anatomy will disperse and the blade might hit the “abdomen”....

Posted by Rumbear from Top O the Hasek, waiting for YzerMan Plan...... on 09/26/20 at 09:43 PM ET

Avatar

I was pretty furious the announcers were claiming they couldn’t see the penalty. I clearly saw Benn use his arm to grab/pull him backwards. That’s classic holding. I’m not sure why the ref called it tripping.

And yes, the refs totally screwed up the embellishment call.

Posted by evileye on 09/28/20 at 12:59 PM ET

SYF's avatar

I was pretty furious the announcers were claiming they couldn’t see the penalty. I clearly saw Benn use his arm to grab/pull him backwards. That’s classic holding. I’m not sure why the ref called it tripping.

And yes, the refs totally screwed up the embellishment call.

Posted by evileye on 09/28/20 at 12:59 PM ET

The announcers were reviewing the “tripping” call through several angles and one of them caught the referee who made the call telling Benn that he, “...kicked his skates out from under him,” or something to that effect.  So the announcers went with a replay that clearly showed he didn’t, and then proceeded to talk about the holding call that wasn’t.

Posted by SYF from impossible and oddly communally possessive sluts on 09/28/20 at 02:22 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com