Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Kronwall Did Call ‘Net’ On This Goal

The goal tied the game up late for the Wings,  OT settled nothing and the Wings won in the shootout.

This type of play shoule be reviewable, but it is not.  Maybe next year?

 

 

added 10:12pm, Kings broadcast version below...

Filed in: NHL Teams, Detroit Red Wings, Los Angeles Kings, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: niklas+kronwall

Comments

SYF's avatar

Boss, that’s gonna be all over the sports channels tonight.  Outrageous goal and I couldn’t believe they didn’t review it.

Posted by SYF from Alana Blanchard's Bikinis and Surfboards on 01/18/14 at 10:12 PM ET

Avatar

The problem with video review is that they give it to the refs but restrict it some ways that when crap like this happens, the refs cannot fix it.

Posted by fromdowntown on 01/18/14 at 10:12 PM ET

Paul's avatar

SYF, non reviewable, what is the ref going to say, I should have blown the whistle?

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 01/18/14 at 10:15 PM ET

Avatar

Intent to blow the whistle works the other way. If the ref never blew the whistle and had no intent to….GAME ON!

Posted by fromdowntown on 01/18/14 at 10:17 PM ET

harken23's avatar

I like Mickey Redmond’s idea of just making the net in play!

Posted by harken23 on 01/18/14 at 10:24 PM ET

George Malik's avatar

Niklas told the Free Press’s Helene St. James and the media that he felt his goal shouldn’t have counted, and that it was “fishy,” but that the Red Wings need the points.

Posted by George Malik from South Lyon, MI on 01/18/14 at 10:28 PM ET

Down River Dan's avatar

Clearly it hit the net. Can’t believe 4 officials all missed this.  Unless the Stars give back the 1999 Cup won on the disputed goal, I’m guessing the Wings won’t give back this one either.

If your keeping score at home the the count now stands:

” Holmstrom disallowed goals” = 50

    “Wing goals off the netting” = 1

Posted by Down River Dan on 01/18/14 at 10:28 PM ET

Red Winger's avatar

” Holmstrom disallowed goals” = 50

  “Wing goals off the netting” = 1

Bettman says we’re now even

Posted by Red Winger from Sault Ste Marie on 01/18/14 at 10:34 PM ET

SYF's avatar

SYF, non reviewable, what is the ref going to say, I should have blown the whistle?

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 01/18/14 at 10:15 PM ET

Aaaahhh…

Posted by SYF from Alana Blanchard's Bikinis and Surfboards on 01/18/14 at 10:40 PM ET

Avatar

I recall the Sharks scoring a similar one off the netting against the Wings at Joe Louis about 4 years ago. or so. How this isn’t reviewable is beyond me.

Posted by mc keeper on 01/18/14 at 10:46 PM ET

MsRedWingFan's avatar

nope not gonna be all over Calgary and Vancouver took care of that   haha 2 seconds in an d a brawl 4 fights on the drop of the puck and Tortilla going balistic.
  Seriously though why should they change the rule after tonight when they didn’t do a danged thing when it happened to the Red Wings from San Jose a couple years ago. The Red Wings deserved a break like that !!!!!

Posted by MsRedWingFan from West Michigan hometown of Abdelkader on 01/18/14 at 11:00 PM ET

Avatar

I’m 112% sure Kronwall did that on purpose.  Via Holland’s orders.

Posted by neffernin on 01/18/14 at 11:06 PM ET

Avatar

You honestly couldn’t make this stuff up.

Posted by neffernin on 01/18/14 at 11:07 PM ET

TreKronor's avatar

SYF, non reviewable, what is the ref going to say, I should have blown the whistle?
Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 01/18/14 at 10:15 PM ET

In the NFL, If a player is running down the sideline, places a foot outside the field but proceeds to score, the ref can signal touchdown.  However, it is reviewed, and the touch down is disallowed because the player stepped out of bounds. The ball would be placed where the player stepped out of bounds.

That’s how I see it.  This is pretty clear, with no subjectivity involved.  It should be reviewed, the goal disallowed for the pick having touched the netting, and the face off location should be determined by who last touched the pick.

Posted by TreKronor on 01/18/14 at 11:45 PM ET

awould's avatar

I have Kronwall and Howard on my fantasy team. The guy I’m battling for 1st place has Quick.

I say, good goal!

Posted by awould on 01/19/14 at 01:30 AM ET

Avatar

This is pretty clear, with no subjectivity involved.  It should be reviewed, the goal disallowed for the puck having touched the netting, and the face off location should be determined by who last touched the pick.

Posted by TreKronor on 01/18/14 at 11:45 PM ET

This certainly is how it should be Tre, but replay rules do not currently allow for it to be that way.  The puck going out of play and coming back in is not a reviewable play, period.  The only thing replay could look at here was if the puck went into the net without being kicked in, gloved in, or high-sticked and that it didn’t go in through the mesh or under the goal if the net was tipped forward.

It was a bad call, and no one’s in their right mind is going to dispute that, but I don’t see any rule change coming this year.  If they decide to review puck out of play when goals are scored, how far back in the play do you review.  Sure, if the puck hits the net, goes off the goalie and straight in the net it’s easy to say no goal.  What if the puck comes back into play and a team makes a couple passes and has possession for 30 seconds then scores, should that be reviewed?  If both teams have possession after the puck comes back into play there’s no review and any goal counts?  Goals scored within 10 seconds of the puck coming back into play can be reviewed and disallowed?

There’s too many moving parts for the NHL to come up with a rule in the middle of a season for something that only seems to happen every couple years.  Sure a lot of the comments around the web decrying this goal would have you believe the rule needs to be changed immediately so this doesn’t happen in the playoffs, but any number of random officiating blunders have a much better chance of impacting a game in the playoffs than the puck coming back in play and ending up in the goal.

Posted by Valek from Chicago on 01/19/14 at 05:39 AM ET

John W.'s avatar

Obviously shouldn’t have counted, but it’s not the first time it’s happened.  Few years ago in a game against SJ they shot a puck off the netting, it fell down right in front of the net and a SJ player tapped it in and that counted too.

Posted by John W. from a bubble wrap cocoon on 01/19/14 at 01:31 PM ET

bigfrog's avatar

The San Jose goal was scored by Devin Setoguchi on Domenic Hasek . The puck hit the net and came down in front of Hasek. Both teams relaxed and Setoguchi shot it in for a goal. I was at the game and couldn’t believe it. Too bad the goal last night wasn’t against San Jose.
downer

Posted by bigfrog on 01/19/14 at 07:01 PM ET

Paul's avatar

Thanks bigfrog, I did a little search and found a story on it from Dreger.  Funny how nothing has changed in five years.

I remembered the play, just could not remember what San Jose player was involved.

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 01/19/14 at 07:11 PM ET

SYF's avatar

Finally, found the video:  Feb. 29, 2008.

Posted by SYF from Alana Blanchard's Bikinis and Surfboards on 01/19/14 at 08:14 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com