Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Henrik Lundqvist Wanted A Goalie Interference Call

via Brett Cyrgalis of the New York Post,

The call came with 4:10 remaining in the third period as the Rangers (40-23-8) were holding onto a 3-2 lead and looking to back up their encouraging 2-1 win in Anaheim on Wednesday, which kicked off this three-game California swing. But the Kings (43-22-5) sent Anze Kopitar to the front of the net as they did so many times two summers ago, and that’s when Kopitar made a masterful deflection of a Milan Lucic shot, beating Lundqvist above his left shoulder to tie it 3-3.

Right there in Lundqvist’s crease was Tyler Toffoli, who didn’t exactly make an effort to move, prompting coach Alain Vigneault to use his challenge. After review, the goal was upheld, and Lundqvist still was steaming about it after another artful tip from Kopitar in front beat him 1:34 into the 3-on-3 extra frame for the win.

“I’m so frustrated right now I don’t know where to begin,” Lundqvist said. “The way we battled all game, and I think you just have to play by the rules. The rule is you can’t have a guy in the crease. I can’t come out to play the shot, and as a goalie, when you try to make a save, you have a forward motion. And he doesn’t make any effort to get out.

“And I can’t believe the ref, after watching it, not getting it right,” the King continued. “That means that you can pretty much put a guy in the crease, and as long as the goalie doesn’t get run over, it’s a good goal. That’s the way I look at this call.”

Watch the goal below...

Filed in: NHL Teams, Los Angeles Kings, New York Rangers, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: henrik+lundqvist

Comments

Paul's avatar

Kerry Fraser of TSN,

It is my opinion that there was sufficient and conclusive video evidence to overturn the initial call on the ice once Rangers coach Alain Vigneault challenged the play as a result of goalkeeper interference.

more

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 03/18/16 at 03:12 PM ET

Avatar

There might have been a bit of contact prior to the shot, but Lundqvist moved out of the way of where the puck went…. he missed the save.  He was in position when both the initial shot and deflections happened and there was no more contact for a moment before the initial shot.

Definitely have seen goals called back for less though

Posted by neffernin on 03/18/16 at 03:27 PM ET

jhpcarrier97's avatar

Hopefully the League is not stupid to the goings on…the Bully teams discuss these types of plays and design plays to run interference on the goalie.  A goalie should be free to move around in his crease, Lunquist wasn’t

Posted by jhpcarrier97 on 03/18/16 at 04:01 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com