Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Will The NHL Review This Abdelkader Hit?

No penalty was called on this hit from Abdelkader on Seabrook.

Filed in: NHL Teams, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: brent+seabrook, justin+abdelkader

Comments

Lindas1st's avatar

Blatant.

Posted by Lindas1st from New England on 04/10/11 at 09:01 PM ET

Alzy's avatar

Be nice to get another video that shows multiple angles, because this one, I think you could draws two valid conclusions:

1. Gator came in with a blatant elbow.

or B) Gator had him lined up, and just after he leans in to crunch him, Seabrook saw him coming and tried to get out of the way. Gator did bring his elbow up some, but looking at it, if Seabrook didn’t see it coming, the elbow would’ve hit his shoulder pad.

We’ll see what the wheel of justice brings this time.

Posted by Alzy from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada on 04/10/11 at 09:07 PM ET

Nate A's avatar

Not a good play by Abby. He does have a tendency to get his arms up when he hits. I’m not sure this is suspension worthy, but he needs to learn. At his salary, a fine would sting.

Posted by Nate A from Detroit-ish on 04/10/11 at 09:07 PM ET

Chris in A^2's avatar

If keith didn’t get suspended for his elbow on salei at the beginning if the season, gator shouldn’t either.  A 2 minute minor that the quality officials missed.

Posted by Chris in A^2 from Nyquist Puck Control on 04/10/11 at 09:21 PM ET

mrfluffy's avatar

Ouch.

Of course, one could point out a blatant Keith elbow to Salei earlier this season…

Posted by mrfluffy from A wide spot on I-90 in Montana on 04/10/11 at 09:22 PM ET

Incognetis's avatar

He might get a game or two, and he probably should.  I don’t think it was an intentional head shot, but it was definitely reckless.

Oh, Coly Campbell, spin your wheel o’ justice…

Posted by Incognetis from Delaware... Hi... I'm in... Delaware on 04/10/11 at 09:26 PM ET

George Malik's avatar

It’s gonna be the usual—no injury, no suspension. Possibly a fine. And I’m glad that Seabrook is OK.

Posted by George Malik from South Lyon, MI on 04/10/11 at 09:27 PM ET

Avatar

Raffi Torres says four games, Colie…It will be interesting to see what happens, though.

Curious, what happened to the new concussion rule that requires players to go to the “quiet room” when they are dazed by a head shot for 15 minutes?!?  Seabrook was back out there trying to tie the game for the Hawks.

Posted by dash_pinched on 04/10/11 at 09:31 PM ET

Paul's avatar

Curious, what happened to the new concussion rule that requires players to go to the “quiet room” when they are dazed by a head shot for 15 minutes?!? Seabrook was back out there trying to tie the game for the Hawks.

Posted by dash_pinched on 04/10/11 at 07:31 PM ET

Good point.

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 04/10/11 at 09:34 PM ET

Avatar

Blatant elbow.  In a consistently run, well-managed league this would get a 1 game playoff suspension and a fine.

Since instead this happened in the NHL, I have no idea what will happen.

Posted by HockeyinHD on 04/10/11 at 09:39 PM ET

awould's avatar

Bad hit for sure. Suspension? Or just evened out the non call on the 4 minute high stick franzen took to his face?

Posted by awould on 04/10/11 at 09:48 PM ET

Krononymous's avatar

There was no penalty when Erat elbowed Abby in the face and as far as I know that was never reviewed or even acknowledged by the Justice League.  While it doesn’t negate this play, I’d be okay with giving him a fine and a pass.

Posted by Krononymous on 04/10/11 at 09:49 PM ET

Avatar

Looks about the same as the latest Cooke hit

Posted by Bobby on 04/10/11 at 10:02 PM ET

HockeytownOverhaul's avatar

Exactly like was said before.. beginning of the season Franzen gets one directly in the chops against Dallas, not reviewed.. Keith got Salei blatantly, not reviewed.. Erat gets Abby, not reviewed…

Now first off I understand that intent doesn’t matter, hit to the head is what it is.  You can tell his elbow is tucked until about a foot from the glass then he extends it to absorb hitting a wall, which isn’t going to move.  Catches Seabrook as Seabrook tries to pull up and miss the hit.

That being said, like was said before, if it was a real hit, meaning it really got a piece of him and didn’t just graze him, he would’ve had to go back to the quiet room for his 15 minutes.. he was fine enough to be back out next shift.  He felt the elbow, he went down trying to get the call, nothing wrong with that.

But, given the history of elbows to Wings players all season, blatantly at that.. I’d be surprised to see Abby miss time.. I’d be surprised if Bettman wasn’t who he is and Collie wasn’t who he is…

Posted by HockeytownOverhaul on 04/10/11 at 10:05 PM ET

Gabriel's avatar

Man, all you Wings apologist homers make me sick.

Posted by Gabriel from San Diego, CA on 04/10/11 at 10:24 PM ET

The Hurricane's avatar

Looks to me like Seabrook slowed up to cause Gator to carry momentum meant for a shoulder instead into the jaw. Glad he’s ok….prob no suspension. The NHL clearly ignored the rulebook for the rest of the game, why start using it afterwards.

Posted by The Hurricane on 04/10/11 at 10:28 PM ET

42jeff's avatar

I say decapitation in the towne square.

Sgt Major will be down there marching up and down as well…

Posted by 42jeff from The greater Howard City, MI metroplex on 04/10/11 at 10:55 PM ET

Chet's avatar

The NHL clearly ignored the rulebook for the rest of the game, why start using it afterwards.

agree. his elbow is down until he’s through the hit and looking out for himself against the glass. seabrook is not blindsided; he sees him coming, pulls up, and as a result his face gets grazed. how this could be suspendable is beyond me.

Posted by Chet from twitter: thegansen on 04/10/11 at 10:55 PM ET

Avatar

Man, all you Wings apologist homers make me sick.

Waaaaaaaah

Posted by Garth on 04/10/11 at 10:56 PM ET

Avatar

1 game max…Had he really connected it would be much worse.

Posted by timbits on 04/11/11 at 12:32 AM ET

goon's avatar

This is worthy of a suspension and it was a blatant chicken wing elbow…

Posted by goon from Grand Forks, ND on 04/11/11 at 12:47 AM ET

bezukov's avatar

This is worthy of a suspension and it was a blatant chicken wing elbow…

Just ask Max Pacioretty, right?

Posted by bezukov from the kids are alright. on 04/11/11 at 02:02 AM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

I can’t, with good conscience, complain about the Erat elbow and how it should have been a suspension and then say that Abdelkader shouldn’t get one.

Whatever the league does here, I just want consistency.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 04/11/11 at 04:51 AM ET

Nathan's avatar

The officiating yesterday was suspect at best, but I don’t see what any of the other calls have to do with this one being missed.

I don’t think there was an intent to pop him in the head, but it was definitely an elbow, and definitely a headshot, intentional or otherwise.

IMO, the right call would’ve been to catch this in-game, and give the 5 + 10 and get booted from the game. But in lieu of that, if the league gives him one game, it would be hard to argue that.

For whoever brought up Torres, the big difference is reputation of the player in question… though I will admit Abdelkader probably could use a sit-down for a game because he’s played a bit too close to the edge for my liking. He needs to learn he can still be physical and still be a pest, but not do things like this hit on Seabrook, and a suspension might help that click in his head.

Posted by Nathan from the scoresheet! on 04/11/11 at 10:23 AM ET

Avatar

In the regular season, maybe he gets suspended for a game, but I don’t see him being suspended for playoff games.

Posted by Garth on 04/11/11 at 11:33 AM ET

redxblack's avatar

It’s a bad hit. It’s dirty. You don’t want to see it. The league allows far dirtier hits to go unquestioned all the time. Just like the Hawks scoring with Kopecky’s ass bumping Howard’s face and the goal counts while Homer’s shadow negates a score, I just want to see consistency. If anything, maybe (as said above) this was to offset the 4 min high stick on Franzen that went uncalled. I hate the NHL sometimes.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 04/11/11 at 02:25 PM ET

Avatar

It would be relevant to bring up Keith’s hit on Salei if that hit happened late in the season (after the league started “caring” about concussions) but everyone has to admit, the league has been interpreting its own rules quite differently since one of its anointed stars missed the entire second half of the season. The way they’ve been issuing rulings and suspensions, Abdelkader will be missing at least one game, even with no penalty called. As for Seabrook getting right back on the ice afterwards, I immediately wondered why he wasn’t sent to the quiet room. So, if we can expect anything, it’s inconsistency from the league. Flip a coin. Heads, no suspension. Tails, one game.

Posted by PeekrMan on 04/11/11 at 08:30 PM ET

Avatar

...and I forgot to add this comment: Offset what? It was Franzen’s own stick. What are the refs supposed to do, penalize him for hitting himself in the face? Dunc lifted it and Franzen didn’t bother to keep it down.

Posted by PeekrMan on 04/11/11 at 08:49 PM ET

The Hurricane's avatar

It was Franzen’s own stick.

Nope. It was the blade of Keith’s stick that caused the cut, not the shaft of Franzen’s.

Posted by The Hurricane on 04/11/11 at 11:53 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image