Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Nashville’s No Goal Call

The ruling was Phoenix goaltender Mike Smith was pushed into the net, so no goal.

But I am not so sure if Smith even had the puck under him when he was pushed, what do you think?

Filed in: NHL Teams, d, Nashville Predators, | KK Hockey | Permalink
 

Comments

HockeyFanOhio's avatar

Didn’t that happen last game too?  No goal because of pushing the goalie into the net.

Posted by HockeyFanOhio from Central Ohio on 05/05/12 at 12:04 PM ET

Avatar

That one looks like it coulda went either way.

Posted by T on 05/05/12 at 12:19 PM ET

John W.'s avatar

On replay you could certainly argue he never had it, but live the ref can’t see the puck all the time when it’s in a mass of humanity like that, and it sure looked for all the world that Smith got pushed back into the net with the puck.  Either way I don’t think that goal can count, when you’re shoving the goalie’s entire body into the net you’ve got to expect that call.

Posted by John W. from a bubble wrap cocoon on 05/05/12 at 12:29 PM ET

George Malik's avatar

Dan O’Halloran waving off a potential goal due to poor positioning? Nah, never happens.

Posted by George Malik from South Lyon, MI on 05/05/12 at 12:32 PM ET

OlderThanChelios's avatar

Watch Fisher on the replay. He pushes Smith’s leg into the goal with his stick just as the puck comes in from the side. If Smith’s leg wasn’t pushed into the goal, he would have stopped the shot. As play was about to resume after the decision, Hornqvist even skated by one of the refs and made a gesture as if he was indicating he agreed with the call.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 05/05/12 at 12:38 PM ET

awould's avatar

There were 2 or 3 times Nasville crashed the net hard and it looked to me like goalie interference. Especially the one where the player kept wacking at Smith with his stick even though the puck had squirted out already.

The refs let the Predators get away with a lot of contact on Smith. I have no problem with this call.

Posted by awould on 05/05/12 at 01:06 PM ET

RWBill's avatar

It’s noteworthy that when the refs were skating back from the scorer’s table that Hornqvist went out of his way to say “Thank You” to the refs for double checking the video replay.  Pretty commendable considering he just had a goal waved off and the series may be on the brink on that call.  You could read his lips saying Thank You twice to the ref.  Pretty classy considering the circumstances.

Posted by RWBill from cruising Brush Street with creepy Rob Lowe. on 05/05/12 at 01:54 PM ET

Rumbear's avatar

Posted by OlderThanChelios on 05/05/12 at 10:38 AM ET

I agree with the wasted beagle.  Besides, Nashville lost. 

Yotes - King semi’s…who’d thunk it?

Posted by Rumbear from Top O the Hasek, hanging with Dan Cleary.... on 05/05/12 at 02:27 PM ET

Ducksworth's avatar

Very tough call to make

Posted by Ducksworth from Brownstown, MI on 05/05/12 at 03:03 PM ET

Avatar

Close call, but clearly called no goal at the time. He lost sight and called it off. Whether it should have counted is another matter.

Posted by timbits on 05/05/12 at 04:01 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

It doesn’t matter if Smith had the puck when he was pushed into the net. The fact remains that you can’t just push a goalie out of position and then put the puck past him.

It was the right call, and the fact that Hornqvist didn’t earn himself a penalty for constantly running over and interfering with Smith for the remainder of the game was ridiculous.  That felt to me like the refs trying to make up for making the right call in the first place.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 05/05/12 at 04:08 PM ET

Avatar

Whether it should have counted is another matter.

Is it?  The goalie was interfered with.  He was prevented from making a save.  There’s no way in hell that goal should’ve counted.

Posted by Garth on 05/05/12 at 05:26 PM ET

Avatar

Is it?  The goalie was interfered with.  He was prevented from making a save.  There’s no way in hell that goal should’ve counted.

Posted by Garth on 05/05/12 at 03:26 PM ET

Yeah, he called it off, so it dosen’t really matter. No goal!

Posted by timbits on 05/05/12 at 05:59 PM ET

mrfluffy's avatar

Posted by OlderThanChelios on 05/05/12 at 10:38 AM ET

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 05/05/12 at 02:08 PM ET

Not that I don’t mind the Preds getting screwed because they were running the goaltender…

Cleary did the same thing to Hiller in 2009.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvOO0snnQOY

Posted by mrfluffy from A wide spot on I-90 in Montana on 05/05/12 at 07:34 PM ET

Avatar

Yeah, he called it off, so it dosen’t really matter.

Yet you think it should’ve counted, apparently.  I’m curious what your rationale is for counting a goal in which the goalie is physically pushed out of the way in order for the puck to be put in.

Posted by Garth on 05/05/12 at 08:31 PM ET

Avatar

Yet you think it should’ve counted, apparently

Your imagination runs wild. I think no such thing!

Posted by timbits on 05/06/12 at 02:57 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image