Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Malkin Hit On Boychuk

Malkin received 2 for boarding, the NBC crew calls it a dangerous hit.

What do you think?

Filed in: NHL Teams, Boston Bruins, Pittsburgh Penguins, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: evgeni+malkin, johnny+boychuk



dangerous hit my ass… boychuk turned, not even close to a check from behind.  It would be dangerous if Boychuk was actually head on to the boards.  What a terrible reaction from olsuck and i like **** in my mouth pierre

Posted by nick from chicago on 03/11/12 at 05:49 PM ET

Paul's avatar

Nick, I did a little word editing on your comment, I don’t allow some of the language that may be ok for other blogs.

Thanks for understanding.

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 03/11/12 at 05:51 PM ET


It was a dangerous hit.  Regardless of whether or not Boychuk turned, it was a dumb play by Malkin.  He should have let up.  i doubt he will get fined, but I wouldn’t mind seeing it.

Posted by pens fan in baltimore on 03/11/12 at 06:08 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

Dumbass play by Malkin.

Dumbass announcing by Olcyzk and McGuire.  You don’t have to be able to “wrap-up” on a guy to avoid this shit, just don’t hit him in the numbers.

Maybe a fine, but ultimately I think I’d be ok with them leaving it at two minutes.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 03/11/12 at 06:12 PM ET

Evilpens's avatar

Olczyk takes his Butthurt on being fired by then Pens many yrs. ago out on the Pens, Regis is Just an incompetent fool !

Posted by Evilpens on 03/11/12 at 06:38 PM ET


this was not even close to being a bad hit on malkin’s part.  Boychuck actually turned on purpose to create the issue… most likely looking to get a powerplay.  I really hope this league does not turn into FIFA.

Posted by gretzky_to_lemieux on 03/11/12 at 07:11 PM ET

mrfluffy's avatar

The only stupid thing I see is Malkin ramming his elbow into Boychuck’s back while knowing the boards are right there. 2 minutes is good.

Posted by mrfluffy from the phone, calling Detroit, telling them it's on 03/11/12 at 07:26 PM ET

phillyd's avatar

Stupid hit. Regardless of if Malkin was going to hit him in the back or not, it was going to be a board, Boychuck isn’t against the boards. I also think he would’ve hit him in the back regardless of whether he turned but I might’ve given 5 in this instance instead of 2, but that’s all I’d give.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 03/11/12 at 09:26 PM ET

Paul's avatar

via Dave Molinari of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

, An NHL official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said tonight there is no indication the league office plans to look into Evgeni Malkin’s hit on Boston defenseman Johnny Boychuk late in the Penguins’ 5-2 victory over the Bruins this afternoon.

Malkin hit Boychuk in the back and knocked him face-first into the glass, although Boychuk turned shortly before contact was made.

If Brendan Shanahan, who handles supplemental discipline for the league, concludes that Malkin’s hit is worthy of punishment, the only requirement is that it be handed down before the Penguins’ next game, which is Thursday night at Madison Square Garden.

Posted by Paul from Motown Area on 03/12/12 at 12:36 AM ET


Boychuk was reaching for the puck and Malkin came in back first (a-la-kronwall) and face planted Boychuk into the boards/glass .... totally legal hit.

Anyone that thinks thats a bad hit doesn’t deserve to WATCH hockey let alone be associated with it or be an announcer, etc.

Malkin dirty player ?  NO

Boychuk stupid player ?  YES

Posted by Hockeytown Wax from W.B. on 03/12/12 at 08:44 AM ET

WingsFanInBeanLand's avatar

Should have been 5 and a game with no supplemental discipline.

Will Mario threaten to take his puck and go home again after this dirty hit?

Posted by WingsFanInBeanLand from where free agents no longer dare. on 03/12/12 at 10:29 AM ET

Evilpens's avatar

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ in other words WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Posted by Evilpens on 03/12/12 at 10:37 AM ET

phillyd's avatar

Posted by Hockeytown Wax from W.B. on 03/12/12 at 06:44 AM ET

What? Seriously, last time I looked, checking from behind is illegal. That was a text-book check from behind/board. To say it was a perfectly fine hit is to ignore the rules and want nothing but blood on every check. Again, I agree with a penalty, I probably would’ve called a 5 and game, no supplemental discipline is correct.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 03/12/12 at 11:24 AM ET


On-ice official made the right call, boarding (read the rule book if you don’t know why). Take everything else into account and I don’t see a need for anything further.

Posted by hockey1919 from mid-atlantic on 03/12/12 at 01:13 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

It was a bad hit in that it was a stupid/dirty play. 2 mins and that’s it. This isn’t the invasion of Poland. Malkin also isn’t as pure as the driven snow. If this wasn’t the Penguins, there would be MAYBE 3 comments on this blog. Ignore the crests on the sweaters and watch the hit. It’s a check from behind into the boards. That’s all. No injury, no intent to injure, no big deal.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 03/12/12 at 01:53 PM ET


I don’t even see why this hit is being debated.  Malkin committed to a shoulder to shoulder hit and Boychuck turned his back to the hit.  2 Minutes was a fair call and should be no review by Shannaban.  The only supplemental discipline for this should be by NBC by firing their “experts” who call every game like a bunch of high school homers.

Posted by Matt G from Arizona on 03/12/12 at 04:13 PM ET


boychuck is faking trying muscle past him and last minutes does the little backpass.  Malkin had every reason to think he was going to try to muscle up the boards as that’s the point in faking it on Boychucks end.  If Malkin doesn’t commit Boychuck can skate right on past him.

Boycheck turned his numbers to him to make the pass, good hit, but I’m just a fan not an analyst.

Posted by HockeytownOverhaul on 03/11/12 at 04:11 PM ET

Really, that’s about all there is to say about this.

Posted by larry from pitt on 03/12/12 at 05:15 PM ET


2 min boarding call and that’s it. Boychuk put himself in the postion, but it’s equally on Malkin to not deck a guy between the numbers. A check from behind is still a penalty last I checked.

Posted by Realmk from Boston on 03/13/12 at 11:07 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


haberistanbul evden eve nakliyat affenspiele.net mimispiele.comgebze evden eve nakliyat solitaire oyna
turkce.yurtdisi-fx.com agario.surf agario paper.io