Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Kaspars Saulietis “Krownwalled” At The World Championships

Keep your head up Kaspars.if Niklas Kronwall is on the ice.

Filed in: Non-NHL Hockey, International Hockey, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: kaspars+saulietis, niklas+kronwall

Comments

HockeytownOverhaul's avatar

Atta boy!

Posted by HockeytownOverhaul on 05/15/12 at 08:30 PM ET

Avatar

HOLY COW !!

Huge hit, and probably one of the biggest hits i’ve seen all year.

Posted by Mike from NY on 05/15/12 at 08:48 PM ET

Ducksworth's avatar

Holy hell that was awesome! lol Hope the guy isnt too badly hurt.

Posted by Ducksworth from Brownstown, MI on 05/15/12 at 08:58 PM ET

OlderThanChelios's avatar

Best part of the video is Hank at the :18 mark looking up ice and grinning. It’s like he’s thinking, “Well, he did it agian.”

And the look on Sauleitis’ face when he looks up a half second before he gets hit and realizes there’s nothing he can do? Yah, that’s priceless.

You have to hand it to Kronwall. He took a technique that was borderline illegal (because it caused him to leave his feet and allowed his elbow to make contact) and turned it into a technique that’s both legal and devastating. That’s the mark of a true professional.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 05/15/12 at 09:14 PM ET

Avatar

Kronwall’s hits are becoming more and more awkward every time I watch them.  He is literally leading with his back at this point.

Posted by pens fan in baltimore on 05/15/12 at 09:20 PM ET

Avatar

No one went after him looking for a fight?!...must be a Canadian thing.

Posted by godblender on 05/15/12 at 09:46 PM ET

phillyd's avatar

Left his feet early again, right at the :31 mark.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 05/15/12 at 09:46 PM ET

Avatar

Pens fan, it looks that way to me also, but I think it might also have to do with the size of these larger rinks.

PhillyD got a picture at 31 seconds with impact, his skates were teeing off the ice but still on it, indicating he left his feet after the initial part of the hit.

Posted by Jasper from Tucson on 05/15/12 at 09:59 PM ET

OlderThanChelios's avatar

He is literally leading with his back at this point.

That may look “awkward,” but it’s what makes his hits legal. It keeps his elbows out of the play and his feet on the ice.

Left his feet early again, right at the :31 mark.

That’s just not true. He has already made contact with Sauleitis at that point. That’s what causes his feet to leave the ice. It’s a 100% legal hit.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 05/15/12 at 10:01 PM ET

Avatar

Hmmm, link didn’t seem to work. (Try copy and pasting then removing the spaces after http and before .com
http:// smg.photobucket .com/albums/v243/Spartan017/?action=view¤t=31Seconds.png

Posted by Jasper from Tucson on 05/15/12 at 10:03 PM ET

Avatar

My 2 cents: completely needless and worthless hit. And I say this as a swede. Yes, it was an absolutely devastating hit that sent all of Saulietis’ organs on unprecedented holidays. But here is what it resulted in: Kronwall getting stuck/tangled on top of Saulietis, meaning he took himself completely out of the play for quite some time; the play being blown dead anyway because Saulieti did not get up even after Kronwall had the courtesy to get off; Saulietis getting damage to his brain.

And lets forget about Sauletis brain damage for a moment and note that Kronwall’s big arse didn’t stop the puck; as he took himself out of the play the Latvians got a 2-on-2.

So, eh, good work there Kronwall. More of these intelligent hockey plays, please.

(And as much as I would LOVE to see Yemelin or Malkin getting Kronwalled, I would rather not have the russians getting that 2-on-2, ever.)

Posted by Mr. Fnytelhatt on 05/15/12 at 10:37 PM ET

phillyd's avatar

The he’s launching himself through the player, coming up from a crouched position which is what your picture at :31 mark shows. That’s a BS/illegal hit and it’s what he does.

Posted by phillyd from Southern New Jersey on 05/15/12 at 10:46 PM ET

mrfluffy's avatar

This coming from a Flyer’s fan?

Posted by mrfluffy from A wide spot on I-90 in Montana on 05/15/12 at 10:54 PM ET

Avatar

That may look “awkward,” but it’s what makes his hits legal. It keeps his elbows out of the play and his feet on the ice.

That’s the thing.  It definitely isn’t illegal, you just never see a guy lead with his back.  It’s like he’s going for a hip check and at the last second decides against it.  He’s done it numerous times this year.  Hitting a guy clean with the shoulder does the same thing as far as elbows and feet.

Posted by pens fan in baltimore on 05/15/12 at 10:56 PM ET

Avatar

Hitting a guy clean with the shoulder does the same thing as far as elbows and feet.

Yeah, but even when throwing a clean shoulder hit can result in head contact, and doing this pretty much takes out any chance of that.

People can hate that he destroys players on their team and they can pretend that he left his feet before the hit, going so far as to take a screen cap and post it even though it actually shows the opposite of the point they’re trying to make, but they can’t ever say it’s a head shot, and that’s important because the last thing you want to do is lose one of your best defenseman because of unintended contact to the head.

Posted by Garth on 05/15/12 at 11:03 PM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

The he’s launching himself through the player, coming up from a crouched position which is what your picture at :31 mark shows. That’s a BS/illegal hit and it’s what he does.

Posted by phillyd from New Jersey on 05/15/12 at 08:46 PM ET

Well the league has never made a judgment on the BS-level of a hit, but Shanahan DID say that feet coming off the ice through contact is legal.

Cry all you want about whether Kronwall’s signature move should be allowed, but you’re absolutely wrong when you try to pretend that it’s not.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 05/15/12 at 11:27 PM ET

Avatar

Kronwalled = Leaping butt check

It is a legal check but pretty much stupid.

Posted by timbits on 05/15/12 at 11:56 PM ET

topshelf14's avatar

My 2 cents: completely needless and worthless hit.

Mr. Fnytelhatt -

I have to disagree with you on this.  A hit like this instills fear into the other players on the team and others watching.  Knowing that Kronwall may be coming up for a big hit can make the opposing players play scared and be intimidated by Kronwall when on the ice.  Therefore, not allowing them to make the appropriate play. 

Not to mention, this is hockey and big hits like this are AWESOME.  grin

Posted by topshelf14 from Detroit, MI on 05/16/12 at 12:07 AM ET

socalwingnut's avatar

Also, “giving up” a 2 on 2 is not a big deal, especially considering one of the best defensive forwards in the world was one of the two players back.

Posted by socalwingnut on 05/16/12 at 01:34 AM ET

OlderThanChelios's avatar

The he’s launching himself through the player, coming up from a crouched position which is what your picture at :31 mark shows. That’s a BS/illegal hit and it’s what he does.

Look, philly guy, you can post a million times that you think it’s illegal, but the reality is that both the NHL and the IIHF consider it a legal hit. Period. End of story.

Cry all you want about whether Kronwall’s signature move should be allowed, but you’re absolutely wrong when you try to pretend that it’s not.

Exactly.

A hit like this instills fear into the other players on the team and others watching.  Knowing that Kronwall may be coming up for a big hit can make the opposing players play scared and be intimidated by Kronwall when on the ice.

You’d think opposing players would think that way, but they don’t. They keep streaking up Kronwall’s side of the ice with their heads down and they keep getting flattened. As a Wings’ fan it’s great fun to watch – until Nik seriously injures someone. Let’s hope the opposition figures that out before their career ends with a butt-check along the boards.

Posted by OlderThanChelios from Grand Rapids, MI on 05/16/12 at 01:46 AM ET

tkfergy's avatar

The Legality of it in the NHL has nothing to do with whether it is is legal to do it at Worlds….


Great hit though…

Posted by tkfergy on 05/16/12 at 01:54 AM ET

tuxedoTshirt's avatar

The penalty should be “intent to injure” and should fall under an “obligation to let up” type of rule, but it isn’t so it’s a moot point.

(Though he gets away with it even when the timing is off and he is full-on leaping…see Kesler)

Posted by tuxedoTshirt from the Home of the 1937 World Champions on 05/16/12 at 02:02 AM ET

Avatar

Bunch of sissies all of you. Yeah hockey can lead to career ending injuries. Is that something new to you guys? So can most contact sports. So stop with all this crap about that this hit should be outlawed. Man, one would think hockey fans wouldn’t be this weak.

Posted by Daniel from Sweden on 05/16/12 at 09:20 AM ET

HockeyTownTodd's avatar

It is only a good check if Kroner’s team winds up with the puck.  Legal/Illegal….highlight reel or not…it is a failed effort if you don’t wind up with the puck.

Posted by HockeyTownTodd on 05/16/12 at 10:06 AM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

he Legality of it in the NHL has nothing to do with whether it is is legal to do it at Worlds….

Guess the official scorekeeper must have just forgotten to put those minutes up for Kronner then, huh pedant?

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 05/16/12 at 10:09 AM ET

Vladimir16's avatar

The he’s launching himself through the player, coming up from a crouched position which is what your picture at :31 mark shows. That’s a BS/illegal hit and it’s what he does.
Posted by phillyd from New Jersey on 05/15/12 at 08:46 PM ET

What a completely idiotic statement!

Posted by Vladimir16 from Grand River Valley on 05/16/12 at 10:12 AM ET

Avatar

It is only a good check if Kroner’s team winds up with the puck.  Legal/Illegal….highlight reel or not…it is a failed effort if you don’t wind up with the puck.

You clearly don’t appreciate the intimidation factor of hockey hits.

Posted by xploddan from Stockholm, Sweden on 05/16/12 at 10:18 AM ET

Norskirama's avatar

I think this is the first “Kronwall” of the tourney and while it may have been unnecessary in this game, it was a chance to Nik to get his timing and positioning correct for the next round.  Question-was he doing this same check before his sacrum was injured a few years back?

Posted by Norskirama from Lincoln, Nebraska on 05/16/12 at 11:01 AM ET

HockeyTownTodd's avatar

You clearly don’t appreciate the intimidation factor of hockey hits.
Posted by xploddan from Stockholm

Real hockey players will not be intimidated, only inspired.

Posted by HockeyTownTodd on 05/16/12 at 11:29 AM ET

tkfergy's avatar

Guess the official scorekeeper must have just forgotten to put those minutes up for Kronner then, huh pedant?

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 05/16/12 at 08:09 AM ET

No I was say it is stupid to argue over what Shanahan says/would do, when this is an IIHF game… I also think it it a legal hit. Who’s the condescending one using obscure words here?

Posted by tkfergy on 05/16/12 at 12:50 PM ET

Avatar

Looks like 97.1 FM the ticket played the hit but didn’t give you credit at around 11:20 am today. 

Cowards to give credit . . . .

Posted by bobbo from Romeo, Michigan on 05/16/12 at 01:30 PM ET

Avatar

The penalty should be “intent to injure” and should fall under an “obligation to let up” type of rule, but it isn’t so it’s a moot point.

Sure it should, because he was clearly intending to injure the other guy.  That’s why he led with his back instead of his elbow or shoulder or stick..

Douche.

Posted by Garth on 05/16/12 at 05:07 PM ET

Vladimir16's avatar

Sure it should, because he was clearly intending to injure the other guy.  That’s why he led with his back instead of his elbow or shoulder or stick..
Douche.
Posted by Garth on 05/16/12 at 03:07 PM ET

The interwebs are full of toughguys. Sad.

Posted by Vladimir16 from Grand River Valley on 05/16/12 at 05:10 PM ET

Avatar

The interwebs are full of toughguys.

I’m honestly curious who you think was trying to be a “tough guy”.

Posted by Garth on 05/17/12 at 11:18 AM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com

 

image

image

image