Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Video- Is This Sarich Hit Worth A Suspension?

via Steve MacFarlane of the Calgary Sun,

While even members of the Pittsburgh Penguins sitting up in the press box considered Flames defenceman Cory Sarich’s hit on Penguins pest Matt Cooke clean Saturday night during a 5-3 Calgary loss at the Saddledome, hockey operations will offer up tape for a closer look.

It’s tough to argue against the idea of making sure it was clean — even against a guy as polarizing as Cooke — but if every big hit in the league is going to be shipped to Sheriff Shanahan, he’s not going to have much time to himself.

The hit in question was a hard check from Sarich in the second period that looked like it first connected with Cooke’s sternum. Cooke’s head snapped back on the followthrough, but after shaking it off, he joined the scrum when teammates jumped to his defence.

Sarich was not penalized for the hit but did receive a double minor for roughing in the altercation that took place after the hit.

Watch the hit in question below…

Filed in: NHL Teams, Calgary Flames, Pittsburgh Penguins, | KK Hockey | Permalink
  Tags: cory+sarich, matt+cooke

Comments

Avatar

He definitely got hit in the head.  I have no idea what is legal anymore.

Posted by gretzky_to_lemieux on 10/09/11 at 10:08 AM ET

DigitalGypsy66's avatar

Nah, not suspendable. Contact to the head looked incidential.

Posted by DigitalGypsy66 on 10/09/11 at 10:12 AM ET

Pharazon's avatar

cooke was clearly milking it, but sarich is a repeat offender..

25 games shanaban

Posted by Pharazon from England on 10/09/11 at 10:20 AM ET

Evilpens's avatar

UMMM WTF are you talking about?  surprised He went off the ice after that hit for the rest of the 2nd Period I believe & came back with the team for the 3rd

As to whether it is Suspendable or not 50/50 He didn’t go for the head but definitely ended up hitting Cooke in the head

Posted by Evilpens on 10/09/11 at 10:56 AM ET

Avatar

Why are people completely ignoring the “blindside or lateral” part od the rule, now?

I dont see how that fits on either of the conditions

Posted by Zqto from Brazil on 10/09/11 at 10:57 AM ET

Pharazon's avatar

because “blindside or lateral” was taken out of the rule..

it’s any hit to the head now

Posted by Pharazon from England on 10/09/11 at 11:24 AM ET

John W.'s avatar

Why are people completely ignoring the “blindside or lateral” part od the rule, now?

Because that part of the rule was taken out over the summer.

Posted by John W. from a bubble wrap cocoon on 10/09/11 at 11:27 AM ET

J.J. from Kansas's avatar

Targeting the head can be defined as either reckless or intentional.

This one is reckless.  It fits nicely within the framework of other head shots which have brought suspensions.  Sarich did not need to make contact with the head. Contact to the head was not unavoidable, and Matt Cooke did not put his head in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or coinciding with the hit.

The only reason to say this shouldn’t be a suspension is because it’s a hit on Matt Cooke and that’s a shitty reason.

Posted by J.J. from Kansas on 10/09/11 at 11:41 AM ET

Avatar

I don’t know about this one. I was watching it live and the hit looked fairly clean, though replays show incidental contact with the head (and Cooke clearly faking an injury to draw a call. Just watch the ref, his arm doesn’t go up until he buys Cooke’s acting…). Phaneuf didn’t get anything for his open-ice forearm shiver hits other than 2 minute minors. Like GtL, I really don’t know what’s legal anymore and I’m not even a player. Growing pains with the new rules is right, just hope they pass sooner rather than later.

Posted by Iggy_Rules on 10/09/11 at 01:10 PM ET

scotts0's avatar

This is just a case of the checker being much taller than the checkee.  plus Cooke doesn’t know how to get out of the way of a hit that is obviously coming, plus Cooke is a piece of shit.  I say give Sarich a raise.

Posted by scotts0 from New York on 10/09/11 at 01:44 PM ET

Avatar

The rule also uses the term “primary point of contact” when describing contact with the head.  Sarich hit him in the sternum with his shoulder.  It’s a good, clean, hard body check.

Posted by GregK8 from USA on 10/09/11 at 02:30 PM ET

CaliforniaPuck31's avatar

Shouldn’t be a suspension.  The head was hit, but it was not the principle point of contact.

Posted by CaliforniaPuck31 from San Luis Obispo, CA on 10/09/11 at 03:23 PM ET

Lindas1st's avatar

Clearly Cooke deserves to be suspended just on the basis of being Matt Cooke. tongue wink

‘ti death!!!!!

Posted by Lindas1st from New England on 10/09/11 at 04:13 PM ET

calquake's avatar

If intent is used to judge this then I don’t think he will be suspended.  The hit to the head appeared to be a result of the follow through not the original contact point.

Posted by calquake on 10/09/11 at 04:28 PM ET

Avatar

Sarich had all day to decide where to put his shoulder and picked the jaw. This business about hitting the sternum and Cooke snapping his head back is ludicrous.

That said, this is now the third time this year I’ve seen a player radically embellish the damage on a head hit to try and draw a major. At least he’s not pulling a Sean Avery and giving righteous condemnations of Sarich to the media for something Cooke has done all the time in past years.

Posted by steviesteve on 10/09/11 at 04:40 PM ET

calquake's avatar

Sarich had all day to decide where to put his shoulder and picked the jaw.


Have you ever played hockey?  Because if you have then you know a) he didn’t have all day and b) only a marksman hits the intended target most of the time.  But you are entitled to your opinion.  Just try to be fair.

Posted by calquake on 10/09/11 at 06:27 PM ET

Avatar

Have you ever played hockey?

Yep.


Because if you have then you know a) he didn’t have all day and b) only a marksman hits the intended target most of the time.  But you are entitled to your opinion.  Just try to be fair.

Posted by calquake on 10/09/11 at 05:27 PM ET

Please.

This isn’t a hit at some weird angle at a target that’s changing directions or doing something unexpected (like the Edler/Hall or Smith/Smith things). Cooke’s skating straight ahead, not changing speeds and he’s right in front of Sarich. If Sarich wants to dropkick a particular joint on Cooke’s hand, he’s not going to miss in this situation, which should underscore just how easy it would have been for him to not get the jaw, here. If Sarich can’t make a shoulder/shoulder or shoulder/chest hit on this play, of all plays, because his spacial perception is that bad, he needs to retire.

Posted by steviesteve on 10/09/11 at 07:50 PM ET

Avatar

Cookes head changed position significantly just prior to the hit which results in the head being the major point of contact.  While Shanny will not like the hit, it will be deemed legal and no suspension will be handed out.

Posted by GenericHockeyFan from Arizona on 10/09/11 at 08:46 PM ET

calquake's avatar

If Sarich wants to dropkick a particular joint on Cooke’s hand, he’s not going to miss in this situation

I see you like to use complete exaggeration to make your point.  Funny really.  I disagree with you, I think he did hit shoulder/chest and followed through to the head.  If he did hit him only on the jaw he would have been sprawled on the ice, out cold.  But please, use your hyperbole to make your point… it’s so cute.

Posted by calquake on 10/09/11 at 10:37 PM ET

WingsFanInBeanLand's avatar

Looks like Mario is going to leave this garage league again.

Posted by WingsFanInBeanLand from where free agents no longer dare. on 10/09/11 at 10:38 PM ET

elphantasmo5000's avatar

UMMM WTF are you talking about?   He went off the ice after that hit for the rest of the 2nd Period I believe & came back with the team for the 3rd

like he said, cooke got up and joined in the scrum. thats WTF hes talking bout!!!!!!!

you dont even have to watch more than 30 seconds of the video to know that.

Posted by elphantasmo5000 on 10/09/11 at 11:14 PM ET

scotts0's avatar

Looks like Mario is going to leave this garage league again.

Posted by WingsFanInBeanLand from Lidstrom’s head telling him 1 more year on 10/09/11 at 09:38 PM ET

Nah, Pittsburgh will somehow end up with the first pick in next year’s draft, even with making the playoffs and all will be well in the land of Pittsburgh.

Posted by scotts0 from New York on 10/09/11 at 11:27 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.

Smileys

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Feed

Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com