Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

The Other Awards

from Scott Burnside of ESPN,
The NHL awards ceremony is always a feel-good affair. Winners smile. Hey look, there's Joe Thornton, MVP. Losers smile. Hey look, there's Jaromir Jagr, not the NHL MVP. Everyone's happy, even those who were subjected to the CBC's eye-poppingly bad jokes. But, let's be honest, wouldn't you like some awards with a little less smarminess and a little more edge, a little more bite? ESPN.com Anti-Lady Byng Sean Avery Let's be honest. No one cares about the Lady Byng. In some ways, it's like being told you're the most polite person at a rave. What about an award for players who drive opponents crazy with rage and disgust? That would seem more fitting. Sean Avery: Duh. The dictionary definition of "loose cannon," Avery was dismissed from the Kings for a multitude of sins, chief among them the innate ability to enrage everyone with whom he comes in contact both in opposing dressing rooms and his own.

Filed in: | KK Hockey | Permalink


Be the first to comment.

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com