Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

The NHL Will Have Two NHL Awards Shows

NEW YORK (May 24, 2013) – The National Hockey League and National Hockey League Players’ Association, in collaboration with national television partners NBC Sports Group, CBC’s Hockey Night In Canada and NHL Network, and NHL.com, will celebrate and honor the accomplishments of the top players, coaches and executives of the 2012-13 NHL® season during two television specials at the 2013 Stanley Cup® Final.

At 7 p.m. ET as a lead-in to Game 2 of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final, NBC and CBC will co-produce and co-host a program announcing the winners of the Calder Memorial Trophy, Hart Memorial Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Vezina Trophy.

Originating from the location of Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final, the hour-long program will be televised on NBC Sports Network in the U.S. and in Canada by CBC’s Hockey Night In Canada and will feature the hosts and hockey analysts from both networks. The program also will be streamed live online at cbcsports.ca.

At 5 p.m. ET the previous evening, the day prior to Game 2 of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final, NHL Network™ in the U.S. and Canada will televise and NHL.com will stream live the announcement of the winners of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, Frank J. Selke Trophy, Jack Adams Award, King Clancy Memorial Trophy, Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone, NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award. The program will be hosted by NHL Network personalities and produced from the NHL Network set on location at the Stanley Cup Final.

NHL.com will continue to provide full coverage of the NHL Awards™ including live updates of each award, an interactive chat with fans during both television specials, video features and reaction from the winners.

Among the most popular events on the NHL calendar, the NHL Awards will return to Las Vegas in 2014, one of the most popular travel and recreation destinations on the planet. Since 2008, the NHL’s biggest names have joined with celebrities from music, stage and screen in Las Vegas to celebrate the best hockey players in the world in a star-studded spectacular.

Following are the 2013 NHL Awards finalists, in alphabetical order:

BILL MASTERTON MEMORIAL TROPHY (Perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild
Adam McQuaid, Boston Bruins

Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens
Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers
Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (Top defensive forward)
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

HART MEMORIAL TROPHY (Most valuable player to his team)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
John Tavares, New York Islanders

JACK ADAMS AWARD (Top head coach)
Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks
Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators
Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins
P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens
Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (Best sportsmanship, gentlemanly conduct and ability)
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Matt Moulson, New York Islanders
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens
Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks
Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins

TED LINDSAY AWARD (Most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHLPA)
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

VEZINA TROPHY (Top goaltender)
Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks

Filed in: NHL Teams, NHL Talk, | KK Hockey | Permalink



How to muck something up 101

Posted by bobbo on 05/24/13 at 11:26 AM ET

Vladimir16's avatar

NHL: How to muck everything up 101
Posted by bobbo on 05/24/13 at 11:26 AM ET

Fixed that for ya

Posted by Vladimir16 from Grand River Valley on 05/24/13 at 11:46 AM ET

Guilherme's avatar

Which one will have Chaka Khan?

Posted by Guilherme from Brazsil on 05/24/13 at 11:54 AM ET

SYF's avatar

Which one will have Chaka Khan?

Posted by Guilherme from Brazsil on 05/24/13 at 11:54 AM ET

Posted by SYF from A tall cool pint of Guinness on 05/24/13 at 11:58 AM ET

Down River Dan's avatar

Of course two awards shows. One for the actual deserving players, and one where Sydney wins everything.

Posted by Down River Dan on 05/24/13 at 01:09 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

It looks like Netflix’s failed Qwikster venture.


Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 05/24/13 at 02:05 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com