Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

The AHL Announces Alignment For The Upcoming Season

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league’s Board of Governors has approved the following division alignment for the 2014-15 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliates in parentheses): 

Eastern Conference 
Atlantic Division 
Manchester Monarchs (Los Angeles) 
Portland Pirates (Arizona) 
Providence Bruins (Boston) 
St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg) 
Worcester Sharks (San Jose) 

Northeast Division 
Albany Devils (New Jersey) 
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders) 
Hartford Wolf Pack (N.Y. Rangers) 
Springfield Falcons (Columbus) 
Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay) 

East Division 
Binghamton Senators (Ottawa) 
Hershey Bears (Washington) 
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia) 
Norfolk Admirals (Anaheim) 
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh) 

Western Conference 
North Division 
Adirondack Flames (Calgary) 
Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal) 
Rochester Americans (Buffalo) 
Toronto Marlies (Toronto) 
Utica Comets (Vancouver) 

Midwest Division 
Chicago Wolves (St. Louis) 
Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit) 
Lake Erie Monsters (Colorado) 
Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville) 
Rockford IceHogs (Chicago) 

West Division 
Charlotte Checkers (Carolina) 
Iowa Wild (Minnesota) 
Oklahoma City Barons (Edmonton) 
San Antonio Rampage (Florida) 
Texas Stars (Dallas) 

Changes from last season include: 
• Calgary’s affiliate relocating from Abbotsford, B.C., to Glens Falls, N.Y., and playing in the North Division 
• Philadelphia’s affiliate relocating from Glens Falls, N.Y. to Allentown, Pa., and playing in the East Division 
• Syracuse moving from the East Division to the Northeast Division 
• Lake Erie moving from the North Division to the Midwest Division 
• Iowa moving from the Midwest Division to the West Division 

The format for the 2015 Calder Cup Playoffs has also been approved by the Board of Governors and remains the same as 2014: Eight teams in each conference will qualify for the postseason, with the three division winners earning the top three seeds and the next five best teams in order of regular-season points seeded fourth through eighth. The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series; the conference semifinals, conference finals and Calder Cup Finals will be best-of-seven series. Teams will be re-ordered after the first round so that the highest-remaining seed plays the lowest-remaining seed. 

The playing schedule for the 2014-15 regular season, which begins Oct. 10, will be announced later this summer. 

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and for the 13th year in a row, more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America in 2013-14. 

Filed in: Non-NHL Hockey, Minor League, | KK Hockey | Permalink


redxblack's avatar

it’s hard to build and maintain rivalries when the divisions change so regularly in the AHL.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 07/09/14 at 11:45 AM ET

d ca's avatar

Charlotte Checkers (Carolina)
Iowa Wild (Minnesota)
Oklahoma City Barons (Edmonton)
San Antonio Rampage (Florida)
Texas Stars (Dallas)

that makes for some miserable bus rides in one division…what is Charlotte doing there?

Norfolk is in the East.

Posted by d ca on 07/09/14 at 03:01 PM ET

redxblack's avatar

The midwest is nice and tight geographically, but outside of Cleveland/Grand Rapids and the Chicago/Rockford pairings, there really aren’t teams who play each other too regularly in that division.

Posted by redxblack from Akron Ohio on 07/09/14 at 05:43 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com