Kukla's Korner

Kukla's Korner Hockey

Ted Lindsay Award Finalists

from the NHLPA,

TORONTO (May 6, 2010) – The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and Henrik Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks have been selected as finalists for the 2009-10 Ted Lindsay Award. The Ted Lindsay Award will be presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

On April 29, 2010, the Ted Lindsay Award was introduced, and it remains the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership and his role in establishing the original Players’ Association.


Filed in: NHL Teams, NHLPA, | KK Hockey | Permalink



It’s too bad that because the writers association votes for the Hart Trophy, this trophy is really an afterthought. This is the one that ‘matters’ (if you want to put it in that context). So much stock is put into the Hart, but I’ll take a vote from the players absolutely any day over beat “writer’s” (skewed) opinions.

Posted by NathanBC on 05/06/10 at 03:19 PM ET


Oh, and I think Sedin will win this one by a respectable margin.

Posted by NathanBC on 05/06/10 at 03:20 PM ET

Luongo-is-my-hero's avatar

I dont understand why they changed it from the pearson to the lindsay but whatever.  Hopefully Henrick wins it, considering the supporting cast the other teams have.  Yes I do realize that crosby plays with a bunch of jobbers and hasbeeners, but because of the tremendous depth they have down the middle, I’m pretty sure he is not ALWAYS playing against the top checking line of other teams.  Sedin put up points at a point a game pace while his brother was injured, and managed to be acknowledged as a goal scorer, as well as a playmaker.  Considering the way our dmen got banged up, and the way luongo was playing, henrik pretty much carried this team a lot of the time

Posted by Luongo-is-my-hero on 05/06/10 at 04:51 PM ET

Kate from PA now in SC-made in Detroit's avatar

I dont understand why they changed it from the pearson to the lindsay but whatever.

I’m thinking because it is an award voted on by the players and Ted Lindsay is a living example of what this trophy stands for.

Lester Pearson, not so much. I understand the fact that Mr. Pearson’s place in Canadian history is second to none but this is a hockey award voted on by the players. It’s only been around since 1971 so it’s not like renaming the Stanley Cup.

If it weren’t for Ted Lindsay there would be no Players Association. I think it is only fitting that this award be renamed after the guy that did his best for the players and gave his all to the game. 

Lets Go Red Wings!!!!!

Posted by Kate from PA now in SC-made in Detroit on 05/06/10 at 05:12 PM ET

Lindas1st's avatar

I dont understand why they changed it from the pearson to the lindsay but whatever. 

Kate’s correct. He put his career on the line for better compensation for all player’s at a time when most wouldn’t. He desrves this.

Posted by Lindas1st from New England on 05/06/10 at 06:04 PM ET

Add a Comment

Please limit embedded image or media size to 575 pixels wide.

Add your own avatar by joining Kukla's Korner, or logging in and uploading one in your member control panel.

Captchas bug you? Join KK or log in and you won't have to bother.


Notify me of follow-up comments?


Most Recent Blog Posts

About Kukla's Korner Hockey

Paul Kukla founded Kukla’s Korner in 2005 and the site has since become the must-read site on the ‘net for all the latest happenings around the NHL.

From breaking news to in-depth stories around the league, KK Hockey is updated with fresh stories all day long and will bring you the latest news as quickly as possible.

Email Paul anytime at pk@kuklaskorner.com


Recommended Sportsbook